We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$11
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/11/21
Booking.comUS$30
PricelineUS$15
eDreamsUS$30
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
19
31
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
31
19
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel offers 5-star service to guests! The price is cheap and the quality of their service is excellent! The receptionists are really nice! I felt their warmth and sincerity. I never expected that kind of service! We went around Bintan in a car. I thought we had to pay for that extra service they have. It was for free. It was really amazing! When we were about to leave, they gave us food to eat in the jetty.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catethee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2011

From the moment we stepped into Pelangi - we felt so at home.

The front desk staff, the transport crew, the guides ie Willy and Maki (hope I got their names right) - and the housekeeping crews, were excellent hosts in this hotel.

Due to the tremendous amount of visitors they received during our weekend stay, we thought they were unable to arrange a driver for our day trip but they did. It was a pleasant surprise as we knew for a fact that their vehicles are fully booked and we advised them that we can postpone our trip but they being excellent host and not to disappoint us they managed to find someone who is willing to take us to the mountain and the Bintan coastline - The guide and the driver (I think his name is Fabrie) made our trip wonderful and memorable because it was our Wedding Anniversary. Also I must not forget the kind and nice restaurants staff who served us too, but their daily breakfasts were quite boring. After staying 4 nights, we felt that they can be a bit more creative with their menus. Maybe some sandwiches,kueh kuehs, sausages etc.

It is the small details they did for us like arranging a picnic pack for us to bring along in our ferry trip home was a 5 star treat. When we checked-out, they all bid us farewell at the entrance and it made us tearful - (never thought we can feel sad going home...crazy but true).

The staff, I think his name is Senggeran, he was attentive to every details to our check-in and departure at the ferry terminal.

All in all we had a perfect vacation. The hotel may be a bit run down but the service is excellent. Wish the owner of the hotel could upgrade the mattresses and shower fixtures. Or spruce up the decor and surroundings. Other then that, we are happy with our stay.

Congratulations for doing a fine job PELANGI ...! we love you.

The Anthony family (Stayed there from 29 May to 3 May 2011)

Room tip: Go early for breakfast - or else nothing left.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SYBIL-YISHUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We were met at the ferry terminal by the hotel driver - the hotel would be hard to find without this service. On arrival at the hotel, the staff were efficient and courteous and provided a welcome drink. The restaurant is open all the time, which is useful when torrential rain upsets your plans for the day. The hotel staff supplied vital information for sightseeing and supplied a driver and guide to take us around. Willy, with his big smile, organised a comprehensive and flexible itinerary for a couple of days, as well as providing useful advice. The management and the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2011

A friend and I stayed in the Palangi for three nights, with the intention of taking a look around Bintan Island.

From the moment you arrive in the hotel you'll be amazed by the kindhearted verve of every member of staff. (especially for those who have arrived via the emotionally detached expedition and objective efficiency of Singapore).
This is not the plastic smile deal that you get in the 5 star lego-kits of the world, this is a genuine devotion to "guest tenderness".
Hotel staff didn't simple say good morning; they stopped and had 5 minute conversations with you about your morning.
When we were ordering food in the restaurant, the waiting staff were considerate and encouraging in their suggestions ... always going the extra adjective to describe some of the more ambiguously named Indonesian dishes.

Rooms were basic but very clean and spacious with a decent sized balcony for enjoying. afternoon tea.

The extra services proffered by the hotel include free shuttle service into town, free pick-up from town (where and when you want), shopping trips, harbour pick up / drop-off etc.
The trips which carried a charge (i.e. the whole day Island tour / the beach tours) were exceptionally good value for your Rupiahs. The tour guides offered a slice of fluidity to the day to suit our needs and special requests.

Would definitely recommend Tanjung Pinang as a 2-3 day quick Indonesia fix from Singapore. (it's only 1.5 hours away by ferry).

Best Hotel I've stayed in for many years on account of service and overall "good feel factor"

Pool was big, clean and well maintained.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlyonematclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2011

After reading a couple reviews on Trip Advisor and Asiarooms.com, a buddy and I decided to leave Singapore for a couple days and do a little exploration.

And, as the reviews said, the service at Pelangi put any international 5-star hotel to shame. I have traveled significantly in Asia, China especially, and have yet to find a place that matches the genuine sincerity and caring of the people at Pelangi. It was humbling.

Free welcome drink, free breakfast, free shuttle service in and out of town, free wifi. I don't want to focus just on freebees, but it just shows how much a budget place in a town on an Indonesia island offers their guest and the care they take to make you feel welcome. Restaurant food was fantastic, room service was great as well. Overall you just felt like they really cared about their hotel AND you.

The facilities are dated with Asian decor but spotless and well-maintained. Standard Asian hotel room with a small TV and that control hub thing by the bed but roomy and with a nice balcony and furniture. Pool was nice and clean as well and good water temperature.

Buyong and Villy were our guides to the beach and the island hopping tour and were second-to-none. Both were funny, entertaining and made sure you were satisfied. If we mentioned shopping or coffee or anything, they were on the phone making a call and whisking us away to where we wanted to go.

You really can't say enough about the way the Pelangi staff treat you when you are there, money aside. If you need a getaway and want to explore the more adventure-y Tanjung Pinang town of Bintan, rather than pay the high prices up at Bintan resort, or if you're traveling through Asia on budget and need a great value, Pelangi is the place.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews