We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dale D
Melbourne, Australia

A diamond in the rough

Review of Pelangi Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2019
Just came back from two nights at this wonderful hotel. It may be a little rough around the edges, and the facilities could certainly do with a bit of a face lift however, what it lacks in glitz and glamour it more than makes up for in customer service and friendliness. We are just an average family, but the staff there made us feel like royalty.Nothing was too much trouble and no requests were turned down. Our lack of fluent Bahasa wasn't too much of a problem as some of the staff could speak English. One of the most relaxing places we've ever stayed at. Rooms are comfortable with air-con, tv, kettle, tea and coffee, and a bar fridge (with 2 bottles of water provided each day.. The rooms have a wet bathroom, which means no partition between the shower and the rest of the room. Toilet sippers are provided, so no soggy feet! The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was absolutely immaculate! Restaurant and room service are both 24 hours, and the food was wonderful. Breakfast is included and, although there was not a huge range in the buffet, in the interest of not having too much food wasted, think the amount was just right. Mostly Indonesian food but some western food offered as well. There is a shuttle bus which can take you to and from the ferry terminal, as well as to Rimba Jaya, the big food court and night market, which was a lot of fun. Both of these buses are free. As there is no real public transport to speak of, you will need to hire the car and driver to go to some locations, but the price was very good. We did this a couple of times and the drivers were very happy to go wherever we asked them too. The driver who brought us back from Rimba Jaya even stopped for us so that we could buy some fruit on the way home! We will definitely be going back to enjoy the lovely Indonesian hospitality, and the beautiful smiles of all the staff. Such humble but lovely people. They even gave us gifts when we left! Forget the high-end resorts, this hotel wins hands down!
Date of stay: August 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    S$51
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$67
  • Expedia.com
    S$68
3.4 km from Pelangi Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Clean and comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff :)
S$15
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Pelangi Hotel
Fitness centre
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$40
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$29
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room and the spa area
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
3.1 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$20
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
27.0 km from Pelangi Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
CAR-RENTAL
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Pelangi Hotel
Restaurant
View more hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
19
32
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
32
19
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019

Worth for Money. Cheap & Best. So Kind & Humble Staffs. Pls keep up the service. Excellent thing is restaurant 24 hours and it is very affordable. Very spacious rooms. Shower Cap to be changed. We have taken 4 rooms but every room had the same issue.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaluVenkatesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019

Welcomed by a very smiley Junaidi and later Zainuddin at the Ferry Terminal. Do note that they provide transport services anywhere in town area so that was a BIG bonus for us! Brilliant idea as it was not actually central. The room itself, to be honest, it took me an hour to sink in, that I had to use that toilet for the next 3 days! The bed was like a hammock, making us literally sank in! Nonetheless, everything else were great, there's kettle, cable TV, warm shower, etc. Breakfast was 3/5, like a vegan brekky BUT I would really recommend Pelangi Restaurant. We had our Anniversary dinner there after reading 5 STAR ratings at Google and true enough it was scrumptious. Best thing about Pelangi Hotel, is its staff, very warm, welcoming and SO SMILEY! Kudoz to Paulina, who approached us so casually for updates of our stay! TIP: Ask for a room facing the sunrise, it was truly breathtaking standing at the balcony with unblocked view of the sunrise. :)

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the sunrise, it was truly breathtaking standing at the balcony with unblocked view of the sunrise. :)
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CuppyCakes1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

Was recommended by a friend and was a bit dubious about it as the front of hotel looks like a school with that blue color.
Great hotel if you are not fussy. Old but clean. For the price if you complain you are being funny. Provides free pickup n dropoff anywhere in the city. All staff were really friendly and casual where they are like your own family.

Would recommend to family and friends.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 84yansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2019

My parents room was disappointing. Firstly the bedsheet was really dirty, got alot of yellow stain on it. We did ask the housekeeping to change the bedsheet. Refrigerator was spoiled, the housekeeping repaired it for us. The refrigerator was put on top of the cabinet, my father lifted it up, and there was a hole with rat bitten shape on it, and the rat's dropping was there as well! And for all the rooms, alot of mosquitoes outside, we would need to open and close the room door as fast as possible to avoid the mosquitoes to enter the rooms. On the last day of breakfast, the buffet line is almost empty with not much food, and it was only 9am. Breakfast is supposed to be from 7am to 10am. Really disappointing trip, will not stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Stephanietsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Strongly recommended by my friend Selvi & my parent to stay in this hotel. At first I was not keen as we used to stay at other hotel and couldn't except the colour of this hotel in blue. Long story short.

Booked two deluxe room for 5 night and was automatically upgraded to executive deluxe room.Price reasonable & affordable. Breakfast was good & tasty. Strong Wifi and only 2 occasion power trip compared to the previous hotel.Free shuttle service. Every touch point staff was very warm, friendly and pleasant....Hotel staff also very honest, we left our handphone at the hotel and they make a special trip to send the handphone to us at the ferry terminal.

Special thanks to lady bos Ceati, Gren ,Eva ,Paulina and Junaidi housekeeping, bell boy, front desk,driver and security.

Lady bos never fail to greet her guest with her lovely smile and always ask for feedback for them to improve their service. Her belief in "delivering excellence service begin with me"and this action must be embraced from top mgmt in order for her staff to follow the example. Great service & thumb up!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Yaty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews