We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Desert Shade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitspe Ramon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Shade
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms, despite being basic, are very comfortable, whilst the entire place has a very nice desert atmosphere. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Lastly, the views of the crater are simply phenomenal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Yaakov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Yaakov, thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we'll be happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We came for a weekend with a group of friends ( all under 10) for the meteor weekend which meant it was full of activities. The accommodation was not cheap ( included dinner and breakfast ) but we had a lovely time. I will note the food is good but you can also cook and bring your own stuff/ takeaway. We came in the hottest month but it was cool at night . I did bring our own blessings - and that was good as for me the provided beddings were not something I would sleep on.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Michisichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.
Our beddings are pretty basic but we are constantly improving our amenities so we you will fell more comfortable next time.

Regards from the crater's rim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Desert Shade at Mitzpe Ramon is an amazing option for a real desert experience, with an amazing view of the desert, calm and quite, amazing stars view at night.
Ziv and Maya great hosts, they help us with all what we needed an, we enjoy very much our stay and we highly recommend this place, if you want to have a true desert experience :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yaelb784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you Yael, it was a pleasure to have you with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Nicely located, almost at the crater edge camping like place.
Not far from the city centre. Very nice and helpful staff. All huts windows are directed in the point where the Sun rises, but you might get out to see this spectacle fully.There is a great spot to do that in the front of the lodge.
The huts are in the size of moderate hotel room, with fan and heater (might be a bit cold from the windows but you get a blanket).
The drawback is there is no lock for the hut - you better take all valuables with you.
Showers are ok, but flippers might be required.
Kitchen is well equipped, however the utensils are a bit run-down.
Wifi does not rather reach the huts - you might need to stay in the common area which is nice too, and there is a free tea ;)
No place to park the car next to the hut, so you have to brag your stuff with you to the hut.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ojejkujejku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for the review!
We were happy to have you with us and glad you enjoyed your stay.
It is true that the parking is not right next to the accommodation area but at least it is only 100 meters and you get complete quiet :)

Warm regards from the crater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I was travelling with my 20 something year old son. He had been highly recommended to Desert Shade. I saw no reason to research it. Big mistake!! The crater was awesome! The hiking great ! I enjoyed the primitive little huts that we slept in. The staff were warm and friendly. However, the bathroom and showers were not clean enough nor equipped for comfortable usage. You need flipflops! I can rough it, but, certain levels have to be maintained. I was aware of the common bathroom area being away from the huts, but not great navigating at night. The shared kitchen area has a gas stove with but pots are burnt pots! The crockery is chipped! I take exception to that, even if I am camping.We had not realized that only breakfast was served at an extra cost, so we had no food to prepare, luckily! The linen is well used, but clean. A little attention to amenities would go very far!

Room Tip: It is camping in a mud hut. All have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippa643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niv S, Public Relations Manager at Desert Shade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you Philippa for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We are well aware to the problems you raised here with our amenities and working hard to change it.
Hoping to improve ourselves and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
1.3 km away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
399 reviews
0.7 km away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,256 reviews
2 km away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
346 reviews
1.4 km away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 17 in Mitspe Ramon
115 reviews
0.6 km away
Meever
Meever
#6 of 17 in Mitspe Ramon
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Shade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Shade

Address: P.O Box 613, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: S$28 - S$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Shade Eco-Tent Camp located on the rim of the Ramon Crater and invites you to enjoy the tranquil beauty of the Negev Mountain's scenery. On the edge of the Ramon Crater nature reserve, Desert Shade is your perfect gateway to explore the desert trails. Hidden between the hills north to Mitzpe Ramon, you can enjoy the silence that you want with the proximity to the services that you need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing