We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
106
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature loversnight walkhis wifewildlife photographeran amazing placewealth of knowledgelocal wildlifeloop roadnatural historyson adamfraser's hillother gueststhree nightsour room was spacioushome grownhome cookedfamily home
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stephen is an accomplished nature photographer / cinematographer - staying at his family home where everything is set up for exploring and photographing the unique flora and fauna of Frasers Hill is the way to go.

His wife cooks a super breakfast and dinner - good job as there are very limited options up the hill.

Adam and Daniel - the boys are great fun, very polite and not to mention very knowledgable of their surroundings.

If you are into nature and close to KL Stephens Place is simply the best

Oh and you are staying in a lovely restored 1930s Art Deco lodge - whats not to like

Room Tip: For birders ask for a patio room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funsan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

So glad we stayed at Stephen's Place for two nights towards the end of our Malaysian holiday! Fantastic hospitality, amazing homemade food and great birds! If only the weather had been a bit kinder, it would have been perfect. So perhaps we'll have to return some day! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We booked flights to Malaysia the beginning of this month for our honeymoon so we could spend some time in KL, birding and snorkeling. We contacted Stephen right after booking our flights to make staying in Frasier's Hill the priority of our trip as birding is our favorite pastime and we like to travel around the world doing it. To our pleasant surprise, he responded very quickly and we booked two nights with one dinner. He asked us if we were hiring a car and we said we were going to finalize that out now that we had these dates with him booked. So we hired a car and planned the rest of our trip (other flights and hotels around Malaysia) around our trip to Stephen's.

He just contacted us last night and said that he gave our room away as we hadn't finalized it. I am not sure what else he needed, but we had flights to Malaysia and we're waiting to find out that he had availability for us before booking anything else. Especially since we had also booked a dinner, I was not aware that we needed to do anything else.

Now, we need to find somewhere else with the same birding experience and availability during the dates we now don't have anything.

I am very disappointed after reading all of the reviews that we were not contacted again prior to Stephen giving away our room if he didn't think we were finalized. We travel all over central America and have make many bookings like this by email, without any issues.

So much for our once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brognak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephensplace, Owner at Stephen's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Hi and Thanks for your review, once again we offer our apologies for this situation.
However please, once again let me explain.
I understand that this situation has made you very unhappy and we feel for you, however we would like you to also understand things from our perspective.
Normally people make an initial request for dates to stay with us and we will respond with availability and costs, this we also did with you, offering you 2 nights for the dates you had requested.
After that we will then wait for confirmation from the inquirer to see if they will take the pricing and room. You did respond, stating a comment about the evening meal, however you closed your email with a statement that you were still finalising your plans, you did not mention travel/transport plans because if I had seen that I would have offered you our pickup service.
We appreciate that guests have other arrangements to make so the bookings are not confirmed until an email arrives stating I/we now confirm this booking. Hence all of our other guests have in the past given written confirmation to which I will answer, repeating the booking details to avoid confusion. In your case you finished your email not with any words of confirmation but with a statement you were still finalising your plans. We then took this as you were not sure and for your information we have had people do this before and we have kept the rooms for them only to find they did not turn up because it was they have actually not confirmed. This is why we do the confirmation exchange email making it very clear we have accepted and confirmed the booking.
After this, we heard no more and in the mean time another booking came in for those dates and was immediately confirmed. As a result the room was subsequently taken.
We then took it upon ourselves to inform you of this and offered you alternative dates but this was not acceptable to you.
We can understand your situation and that you are upset and we are sorry for this. If we could help to resolve this we would try our very best however I am not sure how to do this. If you do come to Frasers Hill during that time please come to see us so we can try to make some sort of amends.
We are quite a small B&B so we do not have the luxury of many rooms, as well as we only take naturalists so rooms need to be confirmed at the booking time to ensure that rooms are taken.
I hope that this explains things to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Thank you,Stephen and Sumial for being such good hosts and making our stay on Fraser's Hill a special one. The food was wonderful and plentiful and our Mesia room was very comfortable and opened onto an area of the garden where we could sit and watch birds and wildlife from the comfort of our room! Stephen's Place is located in a great spot for wildlife watching and we were able to enjoy short, medium and longer walks and see a wide range of wildlife each time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kjmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Thank you Stephen & Salmiah for your hospitality and for sharing your home with us. There is a wealth of knowledge and experience on nature that many can learn just by listening to you. We thoroughly enjoyed the homemade sumptuous breakfast!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 388kw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews