We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
TM Resort(Bukit Fraser)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tumike Hotel(Bentong)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel(Genting Highlands)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
104
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature lovershis wifenight walkwildlife photographerlocal wildlifenatural historyan amazing placeson adamwealth of knowledgeloop roadfraser's hillguest househome madehome away from homeother guestsour room was spacioushome grown
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Our second visit to Stephens Place for birdwatching and bird photography.
We booked the room Barbet 1 as it has a balcony which is great for armchair bird watching in the afternoon. The seperate, private bathroom is accessible via the hall, right next to the room. Once again we were massively impressed with the standard of accomodation, home cooked food and of course the brilliant local wildlife knowledge. It is a pleasure to stay with the Hobb family and the two lovely boys add extra entertainment. Stephen, Selmia and Adam were super helpful when we had a small medical issue. We cannot recommend the hospitality and knowledge of Stephen’s Place enough and needless to say the birdwatching is superb too!!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gypsytwitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephensplace, Manager at Stephen's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hi Guys, you are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I was at Stephen's place in December, my visit there was purely to go bird watching and capture some nice images. But the beauty of this place is that the birds come to you, I just had to wait in the garden and we were able to have many good pictures! Stephen is a great host too, he takes ultra care of our needs, his family is very supportive, such a homely place, great food, great relaxation spot and most importantly, great birding!

Room Tip: If you are a birder, then this is the place!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SunnysideLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

If you’re heading to Frasier Hill and wildlife is your passion, then look no further!

Stephen has a beautiful house at the top of the hill, with a lush garden and easy access to hiking trails and the town centre. While it’s world-renowned for bird watching, Frasier Hill sports a diversity of animal species. Stephen is a retired wildlife cameraman and photographer, with a vast knowledge of the area. We had many lovely conversations with him about Frasier Hill and about his travels elsewhere.

If you need transfer from KL, Stephen’s driver Dave is great. Super friendly, helpful, and a very safe driver. Frasier Hill has an interesting history and Dave knows it well. He also has excellent restaurants tips in Malaysia.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We had a great stay at Stephen’s Place. The setting is spectacular. There’s an abundance of animal and plant species around, and his garden is a beautiful spot to hang out in-between walks. The living room is cozy with plenty of nature books to read. Stephen is very hospitable, and his wife cooks a wide variety of food and also caters to vegetarians and vegans. I suggest eating your meals there since food options are limited down in the town center. I also recommend booking pick-up and drop-off with his friend Dave, who is a lot of fun and can tell you all about Fraser Hill’s interesting history along the way.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NomadaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Stayed at Stephen's Place for a four nights in January. As a nature lover and birdwatcher, Stephen's Place is pretty much at the most perfect location possible, as Telecom Loop during early morning is a hotspot for birds and other wildlife. The moth trap at night is a highlight for all insect lovers, as it attracts all sorts of beautiful moths and insects. The guest house was spotlessly clean, Stephen and his wife were friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were very comfortable, I stayed in one of the upstairs room with balcony, overlooking the garden. Would definitely return for my next visit to Fraser's Hill!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank matthew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews