We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Puncak Inn Bungalows(Bukit Fraser)
US$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TM Resort(Bukit Fraser)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
104
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature lovershis wifenight walkwildlife photographerlocal wildlifenatural historyan amazing placeson adamwealth of knowledgeloop roadfraser's hillguest househome madehome away from homeother guestsour room was spacioushome grown
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We spent four nights at Stephen's Place, with optional dinner (ordered in advance) each night. This is a family home, run in the style of a western B&B. Guests become in many ways part of the family for the duration of the stay. Our room, with ensuite shower and toilet, was spacious and comfortable in this renovated 1930s art deco style house.

The food, cooked by Stephen's wife Saimia and served at a communal table with other guests in the main dining room/lounge, was copious and excellent - a mixture of Asian and western elements, sometimes within the same meal (eg pumpkin soup, black pepper beef and kailan with garlic in oyster sauce, and rice, followed by trifle, and all of it excellent). Soups, bread and other items are home-made. From our experience breakfasts alternated between Asian one day (delicious roti kanai) and western the next (home-made chicken sausages with hash browns and baked beans).

Stephen is an absolute mine of information, and also generously shares his library with guests. Adam, the older of the two boys, is quite a birder in his own right.

The house is right on the Girdle loop road, which is about four km around, although much birdlife can be seen in and from the garden, sometimes feeding on Stephen's moth traps. Other sites on Fraser's Hill, whilst still walkable, are a bit spread out, so we were glad we had hired a car to get there - however if you prefer Stephen can arrange transport from KL or elsewhere.
A word of warning - some of the more popular sites for target birds can be over-run with photographers who talk loudly, play the bird's call loudly and constantly, and show little interest other than getting 'the shot' (often having managed the site with perches and bait) and posting it on Facebook in a race to get the most 'likes'. But those occasional encounters do not detract too much from the overall Fraser's Hill experience of upland tropical forest wildlife, for which Stephen's Place is pretty much the ideal place for anyone with in interest in birds, moths and other aspects of nature in the tropics.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If you really like moths, birds, wild animals and nature this is the place to go.
Rooms are very clean and spacious. The total surroundig is very clean and well kept.

The whole family is hospitable and very nice and helpful.

Breakfast and dinner is very well taken care of and very tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

My wife and I stayed at Stephen’s Place for 4 days to photograph the famous moths of Fraser’s Hill. Our room was spacious, as is the rest of their grand house. The grounds of the house is teeming with nature. Stephen arranged for us to have a ground floor room with a patio, which made it easy to visit the outside moth sheets throughout the night.

Stephen has deep knowledge of the local fauna: birds, snakes, moths, spiders, etc. as well as all things photographic. Salmia is a wonderful cook, and her breakfasts and suppers were as tasty as they were varied. We enjoyed taking our meals with the other guests, who happened to be birders.

Stephen also arrange car transport to and from KLIA2. Given the distance - over 2h drive each way - I was happy not to have to practice driving on the left side of the road.

So, if you want an authentic nature experience, comfortable surroundings in the midst of a largely unspoiled rainforest, and the chance to meet knowledgeable nature-minded people, then add Stephen’s Place to your bucket list.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I had a very pleasant stay at Stephen's place. Safe and secure (I was traveling solo) & a wealth of information can be gleaned from Stephen as well as other visiting naturalists. I learned about Moths and that was a very educational experience for me. From birding perspective, this was a very ideal place to spot life birds! Stephen's library was great to identify new birds seen in Malaysia. Salmiah & Stephen were good hosts. Salmiah is a wonderful cook making both western & Malay food. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meena v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Our second visit to Stephens Place for birdwatching and bird photography.
We booked the room Barbet 1 as it has a balcony which is great for armchair bird watching in the afternoon. The seperate, private bathroom is accessible via the hall, right next to the room. Once again we were massively impressed with the standard of accomodation, home cooked food and of course the brilliant local wildlife knowledge. It is a pleasure to stay with the Hobb family and the two lovely boys add extra entertainment. Stephen, Selmia and Adam were super helpful when we had a small medical issue. We cannot recommend the hospitality and knowledge of Stephen’s Place enough and needless to say the birdwatching is superb too!!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gypsytwitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephensplace, Manager at Stephen's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hi Guys, you are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews