We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably one of the best resorts in Tioman for cleanliness, service and relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minang Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minang Cove Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best resorts in Tioman for cleanliness, service and relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having stayed in many other resorts in Tioman (Berjaya, Genting, Salang, Panuba & Paya), I would rate Minang Cove at the very top of the list. The place was clean, the grounds beautifully landscaped, and the service warm and efficient.

Unlike many other Tioman resorts, there was no stench of refuse or sight of litter anywhere on the resort grounds. In place of these, there's the fresh forest scent, lovely flowers in shades of red with the accompanying butterflies and dragonflies, and the sounds of kingfishers and the resident Tupai Kerawak Hitam or Malayan Giant Squirrel.

The Seaview Chalet that I stayed in was clean, comfortable and had a gorgeous view of the jetty and the sea. The dining room was bright, airy and very clean (no footwear please). The lounging deck facing the sea was immaculately clean.

The dive operation was efficient and friendly, although I think it may be time to change the air-compressor filter as the air had a faint odour. Best of all, we were the only divers in the southern dive sites. The southern dive sites of Bahara Rocks, Batu Jahat, and Sepoi Reef are rarely dived by the other dive operations in Tioman.

There are two niggling details that if addressed would make this resort perfect for me:

1. The cost of the food and boat transfers to/from Minang Cove from Genting are high (RM30 for a plate of Pineapple Rice; RM100/person for boat transfer to/from resort);

2. The BBQ food which was largely burnt.

Despite the two points above, my overall experience was positive and I will certainly return to Minang Cove on my next Tioman trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spooky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    65
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
132
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was really a gem tucked away in the quieter part of Tioman. Having stayed in Tioman at least a dozen times, we welcomed this little hideaway that gave us clean rooms, attentive service and a relaxing time. We booked the cheapest seaview chalet and although this was older than the other rooms, it was still one of the best places we've stayed in - a comfortable bed, decent toilet, fridge, kettle and safe. Only the toilet door could do with an upgrade. Tony, the owner, made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and chatted quite a bit with us during our stay. The local staff was also friendly and saw to our needs and requests. We enjoyed our dives in the area as we usually dive on the other crowded side of Tioman, but this is not a hardcore diving place. We wish we had another day to spend just chilling in the inviting lounge chairs and sitting at the jetty at night.

What could be improved: the food was mediocre and the meats tended to be overcooked. Lunch was a little pricy (RM30 per dish). The speedboat transfers were also pricier than the ferry ride (we paid RM125 per person for a 15-minute ride).

But all in all, we had a delightful stay and will definitely consider coming back again - this time with more time squeezed in to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spookybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at Minang Cove and enjoyed it. The weather was not great which was a shame but that was not their fault. The good bits:
- we staying in the beach house which was great. Secluded and spacious for a family of 5 and lovely to have the sea lapping the terrace
- jumping off the pier
- good snorkelling from the pier
- friendly and relaxed service
- Sofia the owner's daughter is charming and great company for our kids

The other bits:
- food was good one night but overall pretty mediocre and the lunches expensive for what you get. At this price point you should get choice and it should be a lot better.
- they don't understand how to feed Western children. I don't think that mine are unique in struggling with spicy food; very fishy dishes etc. And for dinner there is no choice.
- breakfast was not great. Milk was off; limited choice
- the beach is tiny.

Ultimately this resort is aimed at people who either want to do nothing all day or go diving and then do nothing. It is not geared towards families although the staff were very friendly and welcoming to us all. For us as a family it was probably average but it gets the very good rating as I don't think the hotel is aimed at us and for indolent divers it probably fits the bill very well!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MetalPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arrived into Tioman from Singapore using Berjaya Air. Good flight which took off and arrived early. Tony, our resort proprietor, was already at the airport waiting to transfer us by boat to his hotel. A beautiful ride along the shoreline to Minang Cove and help was at hand on our arrival to deal with our luggage. (I don't travel light, as I take my own scuba gear on holiday). Sarah, the Manager, could not have been more helpful, and dealt with all our minor requests (eg extra towels, soap, coffees for in room coffee maker) very efficiently and speedily. Nothing was forgotten or requested a second time.

Minang Cove is a beautiful resort which Tony has very carefully developed. The rooms are much nicer than the website photos show them. We had an oceanfront room with veranda over the sea. (I had my best sleep ever out on this veranda on one of the great wicker loungers with the waves lapping beneath). This is a no shoes, no time watching resort. A little bell is sounded at mealtimes and afternoon tea and this was a great way of meeting up with other guests either in the dining room or out on the beachfront terrace. On occasions the monkeys would try to help themselves to whatever food they could lay their hands on much to the amusement of all the guests. It was possible to walk tthrough the jungle to the next village but other than this, and the resort organised activities there was not a lot to do - which was exactly perfect for us. My husband enjoyed snorkelling from the beach and house jetty - he was very excited to see the monitor lizard and later during our stay we saw a juvenile on a rock); and I had some really great diving during this trip. Ollie, an English dive instructor, took me on some brilliant dives and I have to say he is the best dive guide I have ever met. He took really good care of all the divers - not that there were ever more than 4 of us and was brilliant at pointing out all the iinteresting stuff. There was a small wreck sitting just off the beach. Dives were not too far from the resort and the boat was really easy to get on and off. Sarah organised snorkelling boat trips, round the island boat trips, night fishing trips and Ollie took us on a guided snorkel along the coast. We were happy to play cards, scrabble, etc in the evenings. There was no internet - great because we came to relax and that is exactly what we did. Tonly very kindly arranged for all the guests to attend a local wedding on another part of the island and organised the boat transfers to and from at his own expense. That was a particularly interesting and memorable experience. We were very happy each day just watching boats go past the resort and looked forward every evening to seeing the sharks being fed with food waste, from the resort's jetty.

The food was delicious and plentiful and the chef was only too pleased to share his recipes with guests. Different choices every day for dinner. Breakfast and lunch choices were from a menu. Afternoon tea varied every day.

All the staff were delightful and helpful. Tony's two children were around during part of our stay as it was their school holidays however they were not intrusive and when his son joined us on one of our snorkels he was really good at pointing out things we had missed.

At one point we were the only guests at the resort because numbers rose and fell as guests came and went - however, guest numbers were never high - it's only a small resort and this gave a lovely intimate feel to the place.

We really hope that we will be able to return one day as this resort certainly offered a huge "wow" factor. I should also mention the resort's booking agent who did an excellent job in arranging our accommodation. She was always very prompt to answer any questions I had prior to our visit.

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room if you can - taking a siesta with the waves lapping beneath you is an extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hazel-bockleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just beautiful, the speedboat pick up was waiting on our arrival and transferred us to the cove...about 30 mins and from there we were welcomed with a juice drink before being shown to our rooms. We had the sea view villa which has a stunning view, right on the beach and our friend had the standard sea view chalet. The rooms were clean and functional, if a little worn, but to be honest they just pale in comparison to the location anyway...the place is amazing. Snorkelling at the resort is good...the fish are plentiful and we saw turtles and sharks, though can also thoroughly recommend the trip to Renngis island...it is well worth it as the water is just crystal clear. Food was brilliant and the service was also great. The fact this place also has no tv, no Internet and no mobile reception ( or very limited...you can sometimes get it at the end of the jetty) makes it a perfect escape...can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FiTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
1.3 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.1 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
8.0 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
10.4 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.4 km away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#6 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minang Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minang Cove Resort

Property: Minang Cove Resort
Address: P.O. Box 74, Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price range (per night): $119 - $241
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minang Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minang Cove Resort & Spa, a tropical island paradise. Located in the south of the beautiful island of Tioman, a truly stunning location. Off our private beach you will enjoy the warm crystal clear waters, of the South China Sea. Where you can snorkel or scuba dive with the abundant marine life, living in and around our live reef. Including Turtles. Those who are looking for small friendly resort, surrounded by nature, with glimpses of local wild life and unspoilt rainforest. Look no further !! To access the resort, you can take a ferry from the Mersing ferry terminal. Then getting off at the 1st stop, at Genting Village. There our resort speedboat will transfer you to the resort. The second way is to fly, on Berjaya Air from Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. Again our speedboat will transfer you to the resort. One of the resort representatives will meet you on your arrival at the airport. ( For flight and ferry transfers you need to inform us in advance to arrange this transfer.)We have 18 rooms at the resort, which are perfectly clean, well maintained and all with incredible views. We serve authentic local food for evening dinner, changing its theme every night. Lunches are ala-carte and a mix of local and western.You will also enjoy a variety of cool beverages served at our restaurant and beach Bar. Watch the sunset with a tasty cocktail or have a glass of wine over dinner. Our room rates included half board, which is breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner.Some of the activities offered at the resort are, snorkelling, scuba diving, jungle tracking, fish feeding, fishing and island tours.The facilities which are available are, The Minang Spa, private jetty & beach, sun deck with loungers, sun shades, a library, fully equipped dive centre (with resident instructor) , laundry service and baby sitting. Room as well as beach towels provided.The overall atmosphere is very chilled and relaxed. Helpful, friendly staff providing an unforgettable experience, in your Island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Minang Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minang Cove Hotel Pulau Tioman
Minang Cove Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing