We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
234
296
142
39
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
296
142
39
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free cocktail long beach construction site ground floor fish welcome drink construction work back packers kota bharu cocktail hour shark point turtle bay per person white sand other places crystal clear water sea view
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The hotel is beautifully located on a gorgeous white beach. We came from the mainland on the hotel speedboat, but transferred to a smaller boat with our luggage to come ashore, which was quite an adventure in itself.

We were greeted by the manager, who took the time to tell us all about the resort and what was happening. What we thought was an expansion happening for the hotel was actually a new hotel being built next door - this did cause some noise, and some interesting moments with a tractor on the beach, but was not an overall distraction.

The accommodation is clean but very basic - which s fine when you want t spend your time on beach activities, We organised massages and an island hopping snorkelling trip with the hotel, and they were all good. The swimming right from the beach at the hotel was also good with a sandy bottom and crystal clear water. There are also some rock and coral formations close by looking at different kinds of fish.

The hotel has a pretty good breakfast, and there are also many places along the beach to explore for food and bars etc. There is quite a good night life, and any places where you can book water taxis and/or diving trips.

good place for a short beach holiday. I would probably not go there for a long stay, but we were happy to spend a few days there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Absolutely amazing place to eat. Tasty, fresh food, especially seafood. Wonderful staff - Italian Managers - thank you for making each time a wonderful experience!
Definitely the best place to eat and you shouldnt miss it.
We didnt stay in the hotel but came everyday to eat <3

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoroPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel has the potential to be amazing. We turned up on the day without a booking and the man who I am assuming is the manager was extremely helpful they only had 1 night but managed to get us 2 nights staying in a room which was meant for 6 people but charged us regular price for a double room. The rooms to start are basic and for the price you pay I would expect a lot more. They are similar standard to rooms which I have paid less than half the price for so they definitely need improving. As already mentioned the manager was amazingly helpful always asked how we were and if we needed anything aswell as the girl working at the reception desk. The restaurant is amazing, we have been travelling around Asia and one of our favourite restaurants is still the Bubu! There are comfortable sun loungers on the sand and every day between 5 and 6 each person gets 2 drinks which is a great touch. There is construction going on next door and we had read about this before we came which doubted us a little but it is no fault of the hotel and you get used to the noise. We also decided to go on one of the snorkelling trips, which we definitely weren't thrilled about. You are basically dropped to another beach across to the island and left for 4 hours. No place to buy food or drink and snorkelling isn't great. Quite disappointed!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dannih98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Bubu Longbeach for two of our three nights on Perhentian Kecil. We arrived at the hotel at about 1045am, having spent the previous night in a quirky campsite on the other side of the island. Upon our arrival, we were met on the beach by a member of hotel staff, who carried our bags to the hotel reception, where the manager was waiting for us. We were given welcome drinks, and the manager enthusiastically informed us of what the hotel had to offer. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room ready for us, despite arriving three hours early! As other reviews have mentioned, there is currently building work in progress next door to the hotel. The manager immediately informed us that guests would be provided with a twice daily free boat taxi to an empty beach, with much more to see by the way of snorkelling, on the other island, less than ten minutes away. We got opted to do this in the afternoon of our first day, but got the time of the boat wrong! Linda, the receptionist, was horrified that we'd missed it, and swiftly arranged our own free private lift to the other beach! Other excursions we took part in were a snorkelling trip to three Baby Islands, and a snorkelling trip to see turtles and sharks. The guide was knowledgable and friendly, and we saw plenty of sea life, including a huge parrot fish! We were told it might be difficult to find the sharks, but the guide successfully found some baby black tip reef sharks, and we also saw a green sea turtle. The guide clearly cared about the welfare of the animals, as I saw him stop a member of a different excursion from chasing and frightening the shark.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant both nights we stayed. The food was slightly above average in price for Malaysia, but worth every penny. We ate fresh fish from the barbecue, and it was absolutely delicious. The room was nice, but nothing more than it should be. However, what set this hotel apart was the exceptional service we received at all times during our stay. The staff, particularly Linda the receptionist and the manager, were attentive, friendly, enthusiastic, and clearly cared very much about the guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Perhentian Islands. We had a great time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Explore726211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Unfortunately there is construction work 7 days a week building a new hotel at the same end of the beach. It doesn't spoil everything but it is not what you want to experience on holiday when you are expecting paradise. You are able to use the beach at the Bubu Villas location further away and the hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to small undeveloped beach across on Big Island but we chose not to do so for convenience of being close to the hotel. The rooms are modest but the restaurants and bar area is well arranged. Prices, quality and service is good. Manager attentive and staff friendly. The cocktails at 5 pm is a really great idea. We took the snorkelling excursion to Baby Islands which was excellent if a little pricey (adult charge for a 12 year old!?). There is also excellent snorkelling close to the beach: water crystal clear and loads of fish. Sand is clean and child safe. Good vibe along the beach at night, but not so you are disturbed at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelman020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews