We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magically Quiet Resort at the base of Volcan Maderas”
Review of Finca Mystica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Mystica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The food at Finca Mystica exceeded our expectations! The fresh baked bread, French pressed coffee and fresh ingredients made breakfasts and dinners something to look forward to each day. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the island and can arrange for a variety of activities. Be prepared for a strenuous and muddy hike to the the misty top of Volcan Maderas. Don't attempt without a guide as the trail is very easy to lose toward the top. One can also take horse rides, or rent scooters or dirt bikes (recommend the dirt bikes as the roads are quite rough) to explore the charming villages around the island. There are also beaches for a swim a short ride away. The sunsets from the resort are very scenic and the large veranda of the main building efforts a wonderful vantage point to kick back and enjoy it. There is a family or two of howler monkeys on the property that are fun to watch. The cabins are hand made with "bottle" windows and hand formed walls made with local materials. Rustic charm. It is a bit out of the way from port, but worth the drive.

Room Tip: For couples, the smaller rooms are nice. There is a larger dorm room for a larger group on a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2016

If you like to stay in a place that is set a little apart from the main tourist centres, Finca Mystica is for you. And while not being in the main tourist areas, it was very easy to arrange to go horseriding to see petroglyphs one day and climb the Maderas Volcano the next - both starting right there at the Finca.

I don't usually do shared accommodation, but I chose to stay in the communal cob cabin at the Finca Mystica based on another review I'd red. It's a very large space - not cramped at all - and the large and very, very clean bathrooms are just outside. If you are travelling solo, even if you don't normally share, I would highly recommend it.

The activities I did were great and the guides absolutely fabulous, all the staff are incredible and the food is truly amazing (I highly recommend their pineapple and passionfruit smoothie!)

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We spent a week here and had a blast. The rooms are cool. I rented a private villa and was quite comfortable. The weather was perfect as long as my fan was on. Also, beware of scorpions in bed, shoes and clothes. That isn't a bad thing, just part of being in Nicaragua. There is a bar doe the road you can check out, or get a driver to take you to ojo del aqua and go rejuvenate. Or just lounge around the farm and enjoy the campfire at night and great company. Definitely try the volcano hike. It's challenging, but well worth it.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Puravidamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We spent 3 nights at Finca Mystica while visiting Ometepe. Our cabana was clean and comfortable. No need to bring an alarm clock - the birds and monkeys will take care of that ! We enjoyed relaxing, eating our meals and chatting with the other guests in the communal area. The food is great - fresh and reasonably priced. Ryan, Angela (and 2 year old Jasmine) are great hosts and more than willing to provide ideas how to spend your time on Ometepe. They clearly care about their adopted community. They've done a lot to help their neighbors - but the need is great - if you stay with them, I'd encourage you to contact Ryan before your travel and ask if there's anything you can to help. We did and it was a great learning experience for our 10 year old son. While at FM, we took a great horse back ride, hiked to the San Ramon Waterfall and walked to Lake Nicaragua to swim a couple of times. We didn't tackle Volcan Maderas because we had a 10 year old with us but many other guests did and loved it (you can depart right from the property). We also used FM as a base to explore other parts of Ometepe but could have easily filled our 3 days without ever getting in our vehicle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MSP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The Finca is far away from touristy places. It is located in the heart of the forest at the bottom of Maderas, the smaller of the two volcanoes. You can start the hike up Maderas right from the Finca (the hike is definitely worth it and if you are fit, it is totally feasible).
Several private huts and even a dorm belongs to the Finca. Every hut is unique and made out of cob. The huts are lovely furnished. The hosts are very caring and help with arranging trips.
They grow a lot of their food on their own, coffee, rice, plantain...the food is delicious. You can sign up for dinner and every day different 3-4 choices are offered.

Because this place is secluded, it is hard to get there and also a bit more complicated to explore the island, but the setting of Finca Mystica totally compensates that.

We felt very welcome and were so glad to stay at FM!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mone2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Ometepe hotels
7.5 km away
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
Xalli Ometepe Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Santo Domingo
381 reviews
1.4 km away
Hacienda Merida
Hacienda Merida
#3 of 71 in Isla de Ometepe
259 reviews
5.9 km away
El Zopilote
El Zopilote
#1 of 8 in Santa Cruz
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Omaja Hotel and Restaurant
11.2 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 8 in Altagracia
328 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Finca del Sol
Hotel Finca del Sol
#1 of 4 in Santa Cruz
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range: $32 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Mystica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing