We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Federal Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$177
US$154
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
104
121
48
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
121
48
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge groundssea facing roomvictoria islandolympic size swimming poolwould highly recommend this hotelbusiness lunchbreakfast buffetfood and beverage managerroom servicebusiness triptennis courtsup to datehotel guestsvisiting lagosother hotelsrooms are comfortablef b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed in this hotel several nights and overall, as the title says, the stay was just "okay." While the hotel tries to compete with other high end hotels, it needs to step up its game in several areas. First, when the hotel does decide to do a renovation, something it is currently in need of, the guest room bathrooms should be first on the list (see photos). The bathrooms have one of the mid-90's design elements - a half door on the shower with no shower curtain or full enclosure. This is a huge mistake. To take a shower means spraying the bathroom with water to the point of near flood. I used every last towel trying to mop it up before leaving my room for the day. Second, the breakfast buffet. Every morning when I went down to breakfast, it was hit and miss as to whether or not I would be able to get a cappucino in the breakfast room. There is a machine, but I'm under the impression that not everyone knows how to work it because on at least 2 occassions, the server went up to the bar to get the cappucino/espresso, but alas, that I finally got it toward the end of my dining experience. The other issue is that almost everything on the hot buffet was tepid - at best. The bacon was cold and tough, sausages were, too. The only thing that was warm was the omelet that was made-to-order, but that was only if someone was there to make the omelet. The main restaurant was just okay, but not something to write home about. The hamburger was covered in a spicy sauce with cucumbers (not pickles) lettuce and tomato. The internet, when it worked, was pretty good, except for the fact that my connection kept cutting out every 1-5 minutes. It would briefly cut out, then I'd have to re-establish the connection, continue, and then repeat the process 5 minutes later. Then there was the elevator situation. One elevator was out of order for our entire stay which often caused quite a wait depending on the time of day. Finally, attention to detail and service needs to be stepped up. One night we ordered room service, when they brought the bottle of wine we ordered, they didn't bring a cork screw, by the time they brought it back, dinner was finished. Another day, housekeeping didn't leave us any towels, when we called for towels, they brought one. The saving grace is the bed, which is comfortable, but beyond that, I think I can find better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KateDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I stayed here with my family for 5 nights before moving to another hotel for 2 nights for logistical reasons and I wished I did not have to move.

The hotel is a modern well maintained luxury hotel in lagos and provides the same level of service you would expect at all the larger luxury brands.

They offer a great breakfast buffet with plenty of choice both continental and nigerian and have what looks like a really nice pool, my kids didn't use it because the weather was awful during our stay but they really wanted to.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, the hotel has plenty of parking which is free for short stays/pickups i.e. less than 20 minutes and they charge for anything longer than that. It is in a decent part of lagos but there was always a lot of traffic on the road it is located on.

The rooms are modern and clean ( a must) and they provided all the room amenities you would expect in a luxury hotel with ample supply of tea/coffee and water including bottled water in the bathrooms for teeth brushing (mundane point but important).

Only disappointment during my stay was that I booked a seaview room but because I got a room on a lower floor I ended up with a view of the air conditioning. I would however also say that they did allow me a very early checkin because my flight got in pretty early in the morning and they also offered to move my room but due to the short 5 day stay I declined so kudos to the hotel for that. I have stayed in many hotels that would not allow me a early checkin unless i have status with them, Federal palace did it no questions asked.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for seaview rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aasalako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Sun International Casino & Hotel. Old building, in need of some TLC. Comfortable rooms, warmly decorated. Food is very tasty. Service is friendly, but not always efficient. Rates are fair, compared to competitors. Olympic size swimming pool AND Supertube! Nice views of the harbour.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank nicov633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear nicov633
Thank you for your review of the Sun Federal Palace Hotel and Casino following your recent stay. We are pleased that you found the food tasty and staff friendly and note your comment on their efficiency. The pool and water slides are unique on Victoria Island and to the Sun Federal Palace Hotel, providing great fun to all our guests. Our best daily rate in relation to the quality of our facilities on offer makes staying at the Sun Federal Palace Hotel a great business decision. Kind regards, David Kliegl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Breakfast is ok..rooms are ok..BUT you are not allowed to take photos of the threes outside in the garden...we were reported to the management you are also not allowed to fall asleep in the lobby waiting your shuttle..we were warned and one hotel staff kept an eye on us so that we don't sleep

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Eda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Eda I
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Sun Federal Palace Hotel. We are delighted when photos are taken by our hotel guests of the beautiful Federal Palace gardens and grounds, and many are taken. The gardens and the magnificent backdrop of Lagos port provide a great location for wedding photos and fashion shoots. As such, a location fee is charged for these types of large professional photo shoots. Kind regards. Kind regards David Kliegl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel to be, good rooms and environment, you can also decide to take a room with the water view. The only annoying part is having to request for parking fee always before you are allowed to drive out even when you are on a visit

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ayodeji D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Ayodeji
Thank you for your review of the Sun Federal Palace Hotel & Casino following your recent stay. We are please that you liked the rooms and the general facilities of the Hotel. Your point regarding the parking is noted, it is however a control and security mechanism not uncommon to most hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Federal Palace Hotel & Casino when next you are in town. Kind regards David Kliegl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews