We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
US$114
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$106
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel(Aguas Calientes)
US$40
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adelas's Hostel(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rupa Wasi Lodge(Aguas Calientes)
US$125
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Supertramp Eco Hostel(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$22
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$654
US$548
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
44
109
78
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
109
78
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverone nightthe busmachu picchuoverseas adventure travelnice hotelperuvian hotelcompared to other hotelsopened the doorplenty of hot watertown centrenext morninggood nights sleepminute walkhot teaeggs cooked to orderserved early
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This hotel is right on the street next to the river with easy access to town but the rooms are very basic with poor lighting, internet and bathrooms. The breakfast is basic as well and the staff, while very nice, haven't been trained on hospitality much. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We found the hotel very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. It was a cool night and they had a heater in the room to use which felt great! The river is across the street and you hear it rushing by. I liked its sound, my husband wasn’t so fond of it ( to each his own). Breakfast in the morning was good. They offered to fry or scramble eggs for us and we enjoyed the ability to special order. You do have to check out by 9am. Finally they offered an employee to carry out bags to the train as a complimentary service. We did tip him of course. We liked our stay, and would stay there again. The picture is from our window of the river.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jani6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a package with Peregrine tours.

The location itself is on the main road and away from the town centre. It probably only takes five minutes to walk to the centre of town anyway.

The view from our room, 202, was incredible. We got Urubamba River and the mountains behind Machu Picchu.

The roaring river at night may be noisy for some but it was relaxing for us.

We travelled as husband and wife and they gave us two small (king single?) beds. It was a let down as we asked for a different room with just one bed but they rejected our request quick fast. Not sure who to point that finger at (Peregrine tours) but seeing it’s very non peak season, I would’ve thought they could’ve done something.

Breakfast was simple. Eggs are made to order. On offer at the ready was cold offerings, tea and coffee.

There is no kettle in the room so we had to buy bottles of water. There is a kettle in the lobby to make coca tea though.

The safe inside the room is half the size of a regular one. Just a note incase you had something larger to put in it.

You can barely swing a cat in the bathroom. As usual, don’t flush paper in the toilet.

Plenty of hot water and great pressure available in the shower.

Overall, the room was clean and tidy.

I’ve also attached a photo of the room door as the sensor light would shine through at night when sleeping if someone came down the hallway late. Not a massive issue but I did notice it. Also voices do echo so please be aware of that as both a guest and the person walking to their room. Don’t be that guy.

Wifi is slow in the rooms and so was the voltage to charge anything. Not sure why since voltage in Peru should be 220-240? Wifi does work faster in the lobby.

Also, as someone mentioned earlier in June or July, they were in progress of making a lift. This lift is still not operable in late December 2017 and it was not being worked on during our time there so maybe check if you wish to stay here and you can’t climb stairs.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Santuario hotel is a 4 story hotel on the main street of Aguas Calientes within a 5 minute walk from the train station and the bus stop to Machu Picchu. We stayed in a quad room with a balcony facing the mountains and the river flowing below. It has a nice lobby, restaurant/breakfast area and the bar.

We did not eat dinner at the restaurant so cannot speak to the quality, service or value. Breakfast was typical of the Peruvian restaurant with eggs cooked to order, plentiful bread, butter, jelly and preserves, coffee, tea and freshly made juice. We had papaya juice the day we stayed.

The main disadvantage of the hotel was lack of elevator. It is hard with people with mobility issues to go up and down 4 flights of stairs. In June 2017, there was an elevator being built.

The bathroom was exceptionally small with barely any space to stand. It was okay for one night's stay, conveniently close to the bus and train stations and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kids O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

This hotel was part of our tour package. It wasok. I had no running water in the first room so they moved me, which was a hassle as we were to get up very early the next day to go to the sacred city. I didn't find the hotel that quiet compared to other hotels but it was OK. Would I go back, probably no. But it was ok if you are a back packer and looking for good but cheap accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews