We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ecopackers Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
US$27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal Chaska(Aguas Calientes)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panorama B&B(Aguas Calientes)
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Supertramp Eco Hostel(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
US$22
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$466
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveller rating
1,448
363
91
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,448
363
91
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffcourse dinnerbreakfast and dinneri highly recommend this hotelbeautiful roomincluded dinnerroom ratesacred valley
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Machu Picchu was spectacular but exhausting which resulted in us pretty much crashing at the hotel. Sumaq is a very nice and elegant hotel placed right next to the Machu Picchu river which was going at a fast pace. At the back of the hotel is the railway line and our room whilst really spacious and elegantly furnished was only a few meters from the tracks. The several trains going past at night gave us a feeling of camping on the tracks.....it truly felt like the train was going through your room, in particular running heavy Diesel engines.
Dinner and breakfast was spot on and an early start to catch the bus up to the actual Machu Picchu site (30 Minute ride). As a tip try to get a room facing the river which will keep the train out of your room

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank IngoReisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ingo,
We thank you for choosing Sumaq as your hotel during your trip to Machu Picchu. We are sorry that your Sumaq experience has not met your expectations. We take your comments very seriously because only then can we continue to improve and create a cultural experience for everyone. We will carefully ensure that none of our guests have the same concern again.
We hope that you come back very soon and experience the improvements that we have implemented. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight here in order to arrive to Machu Picchu early. Otherwise, the town is very small and not much to see. The hotel is nice, and the stay was comfortable. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant which was ok. Given the other options, I’d say this is the best in town, but don’t forget this is Peru. Also be prepared for long bus lines, to the ruins, even at 5:30 AM!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 29Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 29Ice, Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Machu Picchu. Our hotel is located in a privileged location so that our guests have easy access to the mountains as well as to the nearby ruins and bus and train stations.We will continue to work to live up to your expectations. We hope that you will be back very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

This was a really good stay. It's in a great location right next to the Urubamba River which was in full spate and was roaring past. Rooms are very comfortable, food is excellent and staff were great. They will collect and drop off your luggage at the station and its within walking distance within 10 to 15mins from the station. Personally I'd go for River view. It's noisy but its just an amazing sight.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Terry, greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Machu Picchu.
Our hotel is located in a privileged location so that our guests have easy access to the mountains as well as to the nearby ruins and bus and train stations.
We will continue to work to live up to your expectations. We hope that you will be back very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We stayed here as part of a group tour to Machu Picchu. Our luggage was collected at the station (and delivered to the station when we left), the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We had both dinner and breakfast and the food was excellent. After our afternoon visit to Machu Picchu, we decided to visit the hot springs. The hotel staff were excellent - gave us direction, towels, a bag to carry them. Definitely the plan to stay when in Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Zannagirl,
The Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family appreciates your preference.
We are pleased to know that our services have met your expectations.
All of our guests who arrive at the train station receive immediate assistance with their luggage. At the hotel, they receive a welcome drink and an aperitif. We do all of this in order to offer our guests maximum comfort.
 We hope you enjoyed your visit to Machu Picchu and look forward to your return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Simply outstanding! We arrived one afternoon and stayed overnight to take the bus to Machu Picchu early in the morning. We got a HUGE room in the lower level of the hotel with 3 huge beds and a very spacious bathroom. The food in the restaurant was really good. I strongly recommend the chicha morada. The front desk people were very accommodating.

LOVED IT and would for sure come back to this hotel if I go back to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cdl0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Mr.
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family.
We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu.
Your comment motivates us to continue working passionately. Our mission is to be part of the wonderful experience that all our guests experience in the sanctuary. We hope that you will return very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews