We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
411
182
117
58
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
182
117
58
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bargolden templesunrise toursri lankawalking distanceplace to staydambulla caveshot waterpidurangala rockcultural trianglerooms are cleanbreakfast and dinnertuk tukenjoyed my staylion rockvisit sigiriyaspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights here and had a really good time. All the staff are really friendly and accommodating.
Especially the bar staff who were happy to keep the bar open as long as we wanted and stayed to have a drink with us.
Overall a great experience and would definitely return

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Daniel,

hank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience at Sundaras Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear that you had amazing and relaxing time during your stay at our hotel, especially in the pool bar area where you enjoyed a company of our bar staff.

I am truly happy to receive such positive feedback for my team and it will be a delight to welcome you at our hotel again.

Sharron Anderson
Guest Relations Manager
Sundaras Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Me and a friend went for the weekend and we had a great time. This resort is so accomodating and the staff is so friendly. They organised transport for everything which made the whole experience less stressful. Great pool and food, will definitely come again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Tara,

thank you very much for taking time to share your amazing experience at Sundaras Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you appreciate the outstanding help from our staff, which is one of the most important part of our concept. All our staff is well trained and always ready to meet any requirements of our guests. We were happy to help you with your transportation as well, since we do have many experienced drivers and they know the best spots, which you should definitely visit during your holidays in Sri lanka.

I am truly happy to receive such positive feedback for our Sundaras team.

It will be a delight to have you at our hotel again.

Sharron Anderson
Guest Relations Manager
Sundaras Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We are a family of five from the UK and called in having spent a hectic five days previously. Checking in was smooth and was offered a cool towel and refreshing drink on arrival. Front desk staff Lorena and Sindu were great and arranged for bags to be carried rooms. The rooms we had were faultless and had the first good night's sleep in ages. Pool area went down well with both parents and kids and we were all able to rejuvenate. Bar man Isah made the best cocktails and milkshakes. Within walking distance of caves. It was all very positive and would recommend.
For the price and location with these amenities it's hard to beat.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Ben,

thank you very much for taking time to share your amazing experience at Sundaras Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere at our hotel and your stay was relaxing and unforgettable.

I am truly happy to receive such positive feedback, since it's very encouraging for me and my team.

It will be a delight to have you at our hotel again.

Sharron Anderson
Guest Relations Manager
Sundaras Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

I have to agree with Martin W’s review of this hotel.
Whilst I understand the soil of the area is quite hard and dusty, it doesn’t seem like much care is taken to reduce the effect of this in the rooms and public areas. It was everywhere!

The cabanas by the pool look like they hadn’t been cleaned in weeks, the pool itself was full of sand and grime. The seats of the spa were slippery with oil or grease (I don’t really know or want to know what it was). The grass around the pool area was fairly dead so we were walking in dirt.

I would suggest finding new maintenance staff as the current ones cannot keep the room looking nice, paint was on the wooden bed heads, and on tiles in the bathroom. It looked sloppy and careless.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and that is a bonus.

We stayed for 2 nights and really wish now I had looked harder for a better place to stay, but there were so many positive reviews and the pool looked like a great place for my kids to play and enjoy themselves that I thought I was on a winner.

But alas. This is not somewhere I would recommend to stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank CJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share the feedback of your visit to Sundaras Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you had a positive experience with our hotel staff and found them helpful.

Your observations about the hotel has been well noted and will be reviewed. It is our constant and sincere endeavor to provide the best of services to our guests at all times and feedbacks from our valued guests will help us to improve to the excellence.

We have taken your constructive criticism on the hotel areas and the design of the hotel very positively and we will take our measures to enhance at all times. We have conducted an investigation on the points mentioned.

We are pleased to mention that we maintain fair prices for the accommodation, food and services when compared with the other hotels in the region, which was also why you made a booking for our place. Please note that there are lots of value additions and quality with regard to transportation and other services we offer to satisfy our guests.

Please visit us again so we can assure you that you will experience the best possible services throughout your stay.

Sharron Anderson
Guest Relations Manager
Sundaras Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Firstly, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a handy position to town and attractions.

Secondly, the photos on the website do not depict the property accurately at all.

On first impressions we were shocked at the condition of the property. The gardens are disgracefully neglected and very untidy. Maintenance of the hotel is obviously a low priority and many things were in need of repair.

Generally, the overall property is dirty and unclean. The toilets near the restaurant looked very unhygienic with dirt on the floor and ants crawling everywhere. Plants in the hand washing area were all dead. It doesn’t take much effort to water pot plants. Our bathroom was mouldy and shower head was broken. Furniture is very cheap quality. Construction workers were continually walking past our room.

The pool area garden is also in need of maintenance and simply tidying up after the day would improve things. The ‘ duff duff’ music played by the euro bartender was really annoying.

The food was nice and well presented but due to the overall condition of the property I was very suspicious of the hygiene in the food preparation area. Food and drinks are expensive. Walk across the road and you can get great fruit and food at fraction of the cost.

I can not understand why there has been many good reviews for this hotel because nothing here is quite completed and construction is ongoing. Unfortunately I would not recommend to stay here at this time.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaras_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Martin,

Thank you for the time taken to share the feedback of your visit to Sundaras Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you had a good experience with our hotel staff and found them helpful. Also, we do really appreciate your positive feedback about the location of our hotel, which is extremely convenient for every guest visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya area.

We have taken your constructive criticism on the hotel area and the design of the hotel very positively and we will take our measures to enhance at all times.

We have conducted an investigation on the points mentioned; however, we can assure you that all our procedures meets the standards and are under the regular strict hygienic controls.

We are pleased to inform you that all of our European bartenders are always happy to play any type of music according to the wishes and mood of our guests.

Thank you for the recommendation given once again and we will be delighted to welcome you and your friends back in our hotel in the future.

Sharron Anderson
Guest Relations Manager
Sundaras Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews