We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Birdlake(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
416
31
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
31
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjasmine roomthe sri lankan currytuk tukshepherds pieoverlooking the lagoonenglish ownerluxury roomposter bedcurriesarrange transportfruit platterpeaceful locationoff the beaten trackbird lakeriver safarilittle toucheshotel is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a week after voluntering at Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage. After working hard for a week this place was just what we needed. Situated on Hikkadawu Lagoon away from the main roads, it was so peaceful. The hotel was clean, the food was amazing and the staff were so friendly! Tanya and Dale were fantastic hosts! They accommodate your every need, help you organise any excursions, pass on their knowledge of the country... Just amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel in October for five days and wished we could have stayed longer.

The hotel is the perfect place to totally unwind and relax.

AJBH is a small boutique hotel located by a lake with a serene and tranquil atmosphere as it is away from the centre of Hikkaduwa but only a ten minute tuk-tuk ride away from the beach. It is wonderful for bird watching. It has a gorgeous pool surrounded by trees to relax under and beautifully decorated rooms with power shower bathrooms and private balconies - the hotel catered to our every need.

The food was absolutely superb and was by far and away the highlight of our trip. Since returning to Melbourne we have been dreaming of eating beautiful curries like the many ones we had at AJBH. The Prawn curry was divine.

The inclusive breakfast was also delicious and fresh. I highly recommend the string hoppers and curry with an apple juice (or Strongbow cider) to start the day !

If you want to explore Galle or Hikkaduwa itself, Dale and Tanya (the friendly owners) can arrange everything you need - we made use of the transfer service and found it was well worth. They organised trusted, reliable drivers for us to Colombo and the airport.
We highly recommend this hotel and hope that we are blessed enough to return one day.

Thank you Dale and Tanya !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robocopms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is an absolutely lovely hotel. So much care has been given to decorating the rooms, that they are a joy to look at. The hotel's situation is on a quiet lagoon, wonderful for bird watching. It is away from the busyness of Hikkaduwa, yet only minutes by tuk tuk from the beach. Dale and Tanya are the best hosts, and could not have done more to make us feel at home. The food is excellent, and the outside eating area by the pool is lovely. This is a great place to stay, and we're hoping to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScottishTraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed for 3 days as part of a short trip to Sri Lanka, and in that short time were really made to feel at home by Dale, Tanya and all the staff. The level of personal service was outstanding, and all the advice they gave on various topics was spot on. We hope to go back again for a relaxing and rewarding holiday with good food and a good vibe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, pretty much in the middle of jungle. You need to get a tuk tuk for ten minutes up rocky and often muddy 'roads' to get there, but that all adds to the experience and authenticity of staying in a hotel in the jungle. The hotel is privately run by a British couple and they have built it themselves. They have done a superb job - it is a gorgeous hotel with a beautiful pool with outside eating areas overlooking the pool and the large lagoon that is visible form the terrace. Tanya and Dale who run it are great hosts, they couldn't have done more to help us and make us feel welcome and looked after. They advised us on currency issues, food, how to barter, best places to eat or to party - they have lived there for seven years so know the place very well. Tanya is also really great with 'the gays' and she was hugely welcoming and respectful to me and my boyfriend. It's nice to have that security and comfort when visiting a country where homosexuality is still technically illegal. We were allowed to use the pool day and night, even at 2am when we fancied a swim after having gone out drinking in town - fabulous to be able to grab a beer from the mini bar and wander down to the pool, which is set at the perfect temperature. The only 'negative' is the fact that there is no telephone in the room and therefore no way of calling down to reception - so if you need room service you need to go and find a member of staff. It's not a big issue, but it did strike me as unusual, particularly when the hotel has such a great attention to detail in every other respect.

Room Tip: This hotel only has five rooms - it's a boutique hotel. So book well in advance, especially during peak season from November through to March. I don't know about the other rooms but ours had an amazing wet room shower, which makes a huge difference when you get in from a sticky day wandering around.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews