We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
US$78
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$42
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$72
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Birdlake(Hikkaduwa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
416
31
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
31
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjasmine roomthe sri lankan currytuk tukshepherds pieoverlooking the lagoonenglish ownerluxury roomposter bedcurriesarrange transportfruit platterpeaceful locationoff the beaten trackbird lakeriver safarilittle toucheshotel is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed for 10 days at the Asian Jewel in March 2012. The location is truly peaceful but within a tuk tuk ride to Hikkaduwa, the beaches and the hustle and bustle of Galle.This small 5 bed hotel is a place you just don't want to leave. The food is consistantly excellent - a great breakfast and an extensive lunch and dinner menu at reasonable prices. The service given by the staff is second to none and always a friendly smile and conversation. Any sort of travel or trips are professionally arranged by your hosts Dale and Tanya, who have created this wonderful hide-away. A place to visit year after year.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherBill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is an awesome place to stay, with impeccable standards of hospitality and the most delicious food.

I must say, I was a little wary before reaching the place, since the website doesn't do it justice. Its a 2 1/2 to 3 hr drive from the Colombo airport, tucked away a couple of km inside from the coastline (don't worry, a tuk-tuk pick up can be arranged at 10 min notice and is reasonably priced).

Dale and Tanya, the owners, are extremely professional and guide you well on exploring Hikkaduwa and nearby areas. They will be happy to organize tours as well. The staff is most attentive, polite, friendly and willing to go out of their way to tend to your needs.

The place itself has a 2 floor cottage with around 5 rooms and a small but adequate pool. A lot of wood and tiles have been used in the structure, which makes it very classy. There's a small but green garden around the pool for sun-bathing. There's a pool table. There is a neat collection of books and VCD/ DVDs, which you can borrow (some rooms do not have cable connection, which you are unlikely to miss anyway). Maybe adding another indoor game or two could help.

The rooms are comfortable, again with a lot of wood and with a verandah/ balcony. Don't expect couches etc.

The food was just scrumptious! Perhaps the best part of the stay, we just could not get over the Sri Lankan curry, which was the highlight of the menu, and just overshadowed everything else, even though the rest of the stuff was also delectable. Perhaps the breakfast could have done with a muffin or such add-on.

The prices are quite reasonable - whether for stay, or food or alcohol. Its very good value for money. I definitely plan to stay here again whenever I visit Hikkaduwa next.

Room Tip: I stayed in the suite facing the front side, forget the name. Loved it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanmayamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Asian Jewel for 18 days and it was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
Dale and Tanya invite you into their home and treat you as friends, but friends who are waited on 24/7. The staff are wonderful, they cannot do enough for you and always done with a smile, from the gardener, the cleaners, to Cyril and the rest of the staff. The location overlooking the Lagoon is stunning, the rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate,the garden is picturesque and so pretty, while the pool is spotless and refreshing on a hot day. Dale and Tanya take great pride in making sure that you enjoy Sri Lanka to the fullest and are a mine of information, whether to prices, shops, beaches etc, they help in every little way possible.
We only encountered one problem and that was which one of the amazing meals from the menu we chose to eat each night, and in 18 days we tried more than a few! They all were first rate, and the little flowers served with every meal is such a sweet touch.You will also find fresh flowers in your bed and bath room every day, and they were so pretty, it seemed rude to move them! We will definately return to Sri Lanka to see more of such a diverse and wonderful country but only if the Asian Jewel has vacancies.

Room Tip: they are all stunning
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Asian Jewel is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. We've stayed in more expensive hotels, so called “luxury” hotels, but the Asian Jewel rates as the best due to an award winning mixture of attentive service, excellent facilities and the fact that Dale and Tanya passionately care about you getting the most from your experience of Sri Lanka. We will be returning, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forest_Fire1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

All the reviews aren't wrong - this really is an exceptional place to stay. From the moment we arrived Tanya, Dale and all the staff couldn't do more for us, always so welcoming, smiling and helpful. After six days touring round Sri Lanka we were very pleased to arrive at the Asian Jewel for a two week stay in peace and tranquillity away from the hub-bub of the beach strip at Hikkaduwa but near enough by tuk-tuk to pop down at any time. Our son and his girl-friend were volunteering locally and were made to feel just as welcome as we were - Tanya even made a cake for his birthday dinner! With just five rooms guests tend to chat with each other; more like a friendly house party atmosphere than a hotel. Other reviewers have highlighted the fact that the rooms are spotless, the food first rate and the gardens and pool area exquisite but it's the little things too that make such a difference here - the thoughtfulness of the staff as they bring a dry towel to you after a swim, the fresh flowers in the room - so many special touches. We stayed in Jasmine overlooking the lake and woke every morning to see many kinds of birds just outside our window - Tanya of course immediately lent us her bird books so we could identify them! Thank you Tanya, Dale and all your wonderful staff - our stay at the Asian Jewel was a very special experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine which overlooks the lake and has a large balcony with comfy chairs - ideal for birdwatching!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews