We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports centre with excellent facilities and experienced friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Mermaid Hotel and club from 26th December 17 to 5th January 2018.I cannot recommend this place enough the facilities were excellent.I enjoyed massages at the spa and daily water aerobics plus yoga,I even had a go at croquet for the first time in my life. The hotel,Spa and Sports centre staff really do make an effort to ensure you have the perfect holiday and I did that! I will definitely be returning to Sri Lanka and there's only one place I'll be staying and that's here! Thank-you to everyone at Mermaid.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Mermaid Hotel & Club.

We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities and feedback on the service, which we will be sure to pass on to our team.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was amazing. Honestly, what doesn't this hotel have? Cafe? Bar? Sports Center? Pool? Access to the sea? The Hotel has got everything. The rooms were very clean and also really matching to the environment of Sri Lanka. I had really fun in the sports center and I would really to thank all the members that were really helpful and that taught me cricket. It was a wonderful experience that I will never forget.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for having chosen Sri Lanka as your destination and the Mermaid hotel and club as your place of residence.

It is with great pleasure to read that you were so delighted with the experience you had here. We are glad to note that all facilities and service provided were to your satisfaction, and that is appreciated!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a few days whilst finishing off our travels in Sri Lanka.

The staff were helpful and efficient at check-in
The room was large, clean and had a very comfortable bed.
The bathroom was spacious, and modern.

We found that the food was delicious and there was a good selection. Plenty of vegetarian options and, at least, one different curry every night. There was also a good selection of salads available. Although as in all these type of resorts, I suspect it could get a little bit 'same-y' after a while.

There was a variety of different entertainment on at night and through the day. It was nice that the staff weren't pushy or over-eager to get people to join in.

The sports facilities are good. There is a separate pool for water polo and aerobics so the noise is kept to a minimum. They also have badminton, croquet, table tennis and squash; there was no booking, you could just walk over and play when you wanted.

Only negative we really had, is that we had to go out and get more mosquito repellent. There seemed to be a lot more mosquitos in the evening than other places we had been. I wonder whether that is to do with the abundant pools of still water?

Overall, a good place to stay and relax. We would definitely recommend and return for another visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with pool access was good for nipping in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are truly impressed to see that you have given many positive endorsements especially on the standards maintained. We really appreciate your keenness in placing an insightful review on TripAdvisor.

While mosquito repellents are lit in guest rooms, lobby and bar areas. We currently do not provide it in the room balconies as guest have not raised any concerns in the past. We have now introduced a system where guests are able to request mosquito repellent when using the balconies/ verandas.

Also wish to bring to your attention that large ponds located near the lounge are chlorinated and filtered frequently which refrain from mosquito breading

We wish you will return and look forward to welcoming you to Mermaid Hotel & Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Please review your emails and refund me what you overcharged me for. Pool team excellent. Room perfect. Food could have more variety. Clean. Perfect spot.

Sri lanka in general can be a bit daunting for a solo female traveller as men can be over friendly.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank annah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith W, General Manager at Hotel Mermaid & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Sri Lanka as your destination and for staying at Mermaid Hotel and Club during your vacation.

We are pleased to hear you were delighted with our services and we are glad to note that all facilities provided were to your satisfaction.

We would also like to bring to your attention that we have not overcharged USD 250 as your review states. The reason is you have calculated the amount as USD 518.58 (without adding mandatory Government taxes of 30.10%).
As such the final payment should be USD 674.67 (after including the Government tax component), which you have not noticed while making the reservation via booking.com. It is always advisable to read the fine print carefully when booking through third party sites such as booking.com.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Ajith Weerasinghe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We have been to Sri Lanka a few times now and have always stayed in bentota. We enjoyed staying at another beautiful part of Sri Lanka and such a lovely hotel. The staff were so welcoming and accomdating, the chef stayed back one night to cook us a meal as we arrived late from one our trips, very kind and appreciated. The pool and the grounds were regularly maintained and cleaned. Overall we had a lovely stay at the Mermaid and one we will have to return to.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheDixons16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
1.1 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,265 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,347 reviews
1.3 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 9 in Wadduwa
1,470 reviews
21.4 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.9 km away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $144 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing