We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
US$77
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
A-Prima(Kalutara)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$46
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$275
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,907 results
Traveller rating
927
635
213
89
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
635
213
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lobsterbeach boyssri lankatuk tuklagoon viewsuperior roomour honeymoonhalf boardday tripindian oceanroom boycurriesturtle hatcheryevery eveningtwo weeksrelaxing hotelpool attendant
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,907 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed here at the end of a 12 day trip of Sri Lanka and was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, Sandi on reception took control and looked after us exceptionally well. Our room was a suite so we were very impressed, Roomy, clean, amazing bathroom and a fridge with complimentary soft drinks which were replaced each day. Our room attendant, Cooray, was a very friendly man who did his job exceptionally well. He even decorated the bed each day with leaves, flowers or made swans and elephants from the towels. Loved it.
The hotel is in a quiet area and next door to their sister hotel, Anantara. The gym at Avani is small but the staff were very accommodating and allowed me to use the Anantara gym where the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was a good choice of food in the restaurant. We did not venture out but enjoyed a short walk along the beach before dinner. The sea is not for swimming in due to the strong under currents and a deep shelf and the waves are very rough.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. Good if you just want to chill round the pool.

Room Tip: High room with a sea or lagoon view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Yorksue,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We were three in the group. One an 85 yr old. We checked into a lagoon view ground floor room which opens on to a beautifully kept lawn with hammocks placed for relaxation. According to villagers This hotel was badly affected by the tsunami and I think it has done well to rise up since.
I think the lagoon view rooms are so much better than the beach view which only opens to a cluttered space. Rooms were nice with a mini refrigerator that had 6 complimentary soft drinks. The rooms open to a small private space with 2 chairs and a coffee table and then to the lawn. Nice place to settle down with a book. Beyond the lawn is a walking path if you want to burn some calories.
The dinner was good but breakfast was not impressive. The fruit drinks were just cordial. Since we stayed on half board I cannot comment on lunch.
They have a decent swimming pool and a small fitness centre (treadmill and bicycle with some weights). The sea is not suitable for swimming at any time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear shifa_ja,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Dirty beach with RED Flags and no life guard on duty. If you are planning to spend your day on the beach this is not the place. NO changing rooms in the swimming pool area.

Considerably small, old rooms where wear and tear is visible. Average food with limited selection in buffet.

However, staff was very supportive and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pethum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Pathum,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you did not feel that the resort offered required services value for money. Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations at all times and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to do so. We have taken up your valuable comments for our future improvements.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Lovely friendly and helpful staff, in particular Duminda who kept our room spotless and always greeted us with a smile and the pool attendant who kindly lent us goggles. The food was average for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Chris408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Chris408,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We traveled with two small kids. From our arrival to departure the service by staff was excellent. Appreciate the special service given by Mr. Jayantha (Front Office Manager) and Mr. Thuwan (F&B Manager) who attended us around the clock to make our stay more comfortable. Also appreciate the service of all staff members who work there more actively and efficiently. Thanks Avani Hotel....!
-Gayani & Vishva-

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Gayani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Gayani,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews