We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone had a good time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the X30 Asia Cup Kart Race as the official hotel.
Just a really nice place to relax around the pool and enjoy.
Do check out some of the other food options close by as well, like Red Lobster

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank aerocorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Aerocorse,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed here at the end of a 12 day trip of Sri Lanka and was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, Sandi on reception took control and looked after us exceptionally well. Our room was a suite so we were very impressed, Roomy, clean, amazing bathroom and a fridge with complimentary soft drinks which were replaced each day. Our room attendant, Cooray, was a very friendly man who did his job exceptionally well. He even decorated the bed each day with leaves, flowers or made swans and elephants from the towels. Loved it.
The hotel is in a quiet area and next door to their sister hotel, Anantara. The gym at Avani is small but the staff were very accommodating and allowed me to use the Anantara gym where the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was a good choice of food in the restaurant. We did not venture out but enjoyed a short walk along the beach before dinner. The sea is not for swimming in due to the strong under currents and a deep shelf and the waves are very rough.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. Good if you just want to chill round the pool.

Room Tip: High room with a sea or lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Yorksue,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We were three in the group. One an 85 yr old. We checked into a lagoon view ground floor room which opens on to a beautifully kept lawn with hammocks placed for relaxation. According to villagers This hotel was badly affected by the tsunami and I think it has done well to rise up since.
I think the lagoon view rooms are so much better than the beach view which only opens to a cluttered space. Rooms were nice with a mini refrigerator that had 6 complimentary soft drinks. The rooms open to a small private space with 2 chairs and a coffee table and then to the lawn. Nice place to settle down with a book. Beyond the lawn is a walking path if you want to burn some calories.
The dinner was good but breakfast was not impressive. The fruit drinks were just cordial. Since we stayed on half board I cannot comment on lunch.
They have a decent swimming pool and a small fitness centre (treadmill and bicycle with some weights). The sea is not suitable for swimming at any time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear shifa_ja,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Dirty beach with RED Flags and no life guard on duty. If you are planning to spend your day on the beach this is not the place. NO changing rooms in the swimming pool area.

Considerably small, old rooms where wear and tear is visible. Average food with limited selection in buffet.

However, staff was very supportive and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pethum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Pathum,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you did not feel that the resort offered required services value for money. Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations at all times and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to do so. We have taken up your valuable comments for our future improvements.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Lovely friendly and helpful staff, in particular Duminda who kept our room spotless and always greeted us with a smile and the pool attendant who kindly lent us goggles. The food was average for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Chris408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Chris408,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
4.6 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,265 reviews
4.8 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,347 reviews
16.7 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
881 reviews
15.8 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
29.7 km away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Kalutara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range: $129 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing