We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tourmaline Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
US$216
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
US$32
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$23
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
141
170
61
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
170
61
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandle lightingshuttle buson arrivalsri lankaother hotelsswimming poolgreat viewpleasant stayset menulovely hotelhotel is situatedour honeymoonkandy townstayed for one nightnice poolbreakfast and dinnerhill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whole experience in the hotel was magical. Very friendly staff. It was a very unique experience from other hotels we stayed before. Rooms are very clean. I visited with my kids. Their two and four years old. It’s a kids friendly place. And I should also mention about the spectacular views from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for city view
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Badri-Atheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us in this forum.
Yes, our strength is our staff, Super friendly!
Awaiting to welcome you back with your loved ones !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The hotel is dated, with smaller rooms, as other reviewers state and so some of the party were a little disappointed on arrival. However, I agree with the comments that the staff tried hard to deliver service. As we travelled close to Christmas, the staff had arranged a carol service for guests and served drinks and nibbles and were very accomodating of requests. The hotel is a little way out of Kandy at the top of a hill so the Reception has good views of the surrounding area. You can see the swimming pool from the reception. Towels are provided and its a 'refreshing dip'. The food on the first night was a little disappointing: I think we were late to the dinner serving and had followed a large party. However, the food and service on the second night was very acceptable, with the usual range of buffet options, and a range of puddings that seemed to include a lot of jelly!. The breakfast chef made a very good spicy omelette.
The hotel was noisy in the early evening over Christmas as there were a number of dinner parties and merry guests revelled along the hallways. There was also a fair degree of noise from outside - the wind was blowing debris or loose items and there seemed to be a pack of dogs chasing each other around.
All-in-all it was an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maud180291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the generous comments followed with your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that our welcoming arrangements, varied cuisine & the spectacular views were up to your satisfaction and at the same time we have noted some highlighted points for us to consider.
Regarding your comment on noise, we regret for the inconvenience caused, although we were in the intention to offer a celebrative experience to our guests as the Christmas mode was on.
Moreover, natural circumstances such as wind might been a disturbance to you, due to December weather and as the Hotel rises on a top of a hill to offer it’s magnificent views.
Hoping to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Only stayed one night at this truly outstanding hotel with beautiful view over the area being at the top of a hill in the area of Kandy. Our room was very large with lounge/bedroom area and good size bathroom - excellent breakfast - very much 5 star service. Yes it is not in centre of the city (if that what you want) and you do have to get transport if you want to go there, but views from hotel make up for the more remote location. We were fortunate as had a driver to take us around. Nice swimming pool area and very polite and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the kind compliments which recommend us to other travelers.
With pleasure we have noted that, our overall team contribution has succeeded in their efforts in crating you a Home away from Home !
Waiting to be back of your service once again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This is the worst hotel i have stayed in. We stayed there for one night, went out for dinner and no one could even give us directions to the hotel, took a taxi and the guy was charging us more that the regular rate. We asked the staff to help us speak and they couldnt be bothered, in the end we paid the taxi guy. Next morning at breakfast the hotel staff pass an insensitive remark. They were clearing the buffet and the manager said to my friend 'you want to take the food mam if not you will complain again' (this is in reference to the taxi incident). We asked our driver to pick us up at 11am so we didnt have to stay a second longer there. When our driver came he was upset over the drivers dorm. I can say more but whatever i have said is enough for you to stay at a better place where respect is given.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Merlinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We treat all our guests with due respect.
We regret very much for the staff comment at breakfast and you can be rest assured that proper action will be taken immediately.
However I regret to inform you the Taxi charges, should have been discussed before you got in to the taxi/tuk tuk. There is no regular rate as such as the taxi’s are not with a meter. Hotel staff is prohibited to negotiate with outside divers.
The drivers quarters is in a very good condition but the drivers have to pay Rs.1,500.00 for their Breakfast and Dinner.
Whilst thanking for bringing this matter to my notice, hoping to welcome you once again !


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. The room was lovely, very clean and large with a good ensuite, and the views are stunning. This hotel is on the top of a big rocky outcrop, very high up and with amazing 360 degree unimpeded views of the surrounding area with the city of Kandy lying a couple of kms away, by a lake.
The staff are welcoming and delightful. The food , for both breakfast and evening dinner has extensive choices of well cooked interesting dishes, complete with all salads and relishes etc. Excellent. The deserts are beautiful to look at and even better to taste! Wine is expensive. We would certainly recommend this hotel for an oasis of calm.
The only slight problem [which the hotel can do little about] is the local barking of dogs echoing around - not nice! I do wish they would try to do something about this.

Room Tip: Higher have the best views!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theresalwaysone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the kind compliments which recommend us to other travelers.
We are truly glad to learn that, you have found the hotel view to be attractive and the cuisine offered at Hotel Tourmaline was outstanding!
Regarding your comment on the noise created by the dogs will be discussed with relevant authorities and soon a solution would be found.
Hoping to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews