We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, cheap, local food”

The Kandy Garden Cafe
Ranked #16 of 227 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Recommend by our driver for local, cheap and more importantly clean food. Our bill for two people came to around £5 for food which was plenty. My recommendation- try the Kottu.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Popped down on the recommendation of our hotel, great prices and food was equally delicious. Would recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This is a busy little place offering some great local food at local prices.
We had - potato curry with vegetable rotti and vegetable Kottu. The food is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NLee1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Fortunately we are staying 5 minutes walk away. Unfortunately we live 25 hours flight away! If not I would eat here every day. It’s perfect for a nice satisfying, cheap meal. We ordered ‘whatever,’ and could not have been happier. Variety is the spice of life! 3 of us needed to really try good Sri Lankan food and it met our expectations. This is not fine dining but is certainly fine food. Great service and we appreciate it. Wish to come back one day soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

If you are looking to get a flavor of local street food go for this place. Small place very crowded but you get all the local favorites here. This has the vibe of a local eating joint. Highly recommend the kottu roti....

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Sayantansarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing