We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam”

New Ranweli Spice Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.85*
and up
Private Kandy Tour
Ranked #23 of 57 things to do in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Ranweli Spice Garden is located near Peradeniya Royal Botanical Garden. Send us an email for a pick up from Kandy town to the spice garden.
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Attention all travellers Please avoid this place ! It is scam ! Outrageous prices for all products We only realised after we converted the cost of a packet of black pepper. This was about 20 x normal cost After we realised the ridiculous inflated price of that product I question the validity of all their products
I will be writing to the government to complain as these places give the good Sri Lankan businesses a bad name

Thank nimsterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello

What is the name of the spice garden you visited. There is no specific price mentioned in your review. We strongly believe you are one of our competitors who wants to tarnish our online reputation. We encourage travellers to read our previous reviews and get an idea as to what kind of a place is our spice garden. We shall be reporting this review.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herbal tea"
in 10 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 8 reviews
"medicinal properties"
in 4 reviews
"natural state"
in 4 reviews
"aloe vera"
in 6 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 5 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 5 reviews
"answered all our questions"
in 3 reviews
"for sale"
in 5 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 11 reviews
"great visit"
in 3 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 6 reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 4 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 15 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"kandy town"
in 3 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018

Wealth of information.
Spices and their medicinal and edible purposes
Had the best neck and facial massage ever,
I got to cook a curry, Quite tasty,

Thank Janinamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear madam
Thank you for your wonderful review and anyone can send us an email and get a pick up from the town. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped here and had a tour just for ourselves of about 30 min. They explained the different plants (about 15) and its use. They also showed us the different oils and lotions. The tour is free and they show us the shop. We bought 1000 rupees worth of spices (3 packs) as a fair price for the tour also.

It is a pleasant experience.

Thank Sofia Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear madam
Thank you for your wonderful review and anyone can send us an email and get a pick up from the town. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Had a great free tour by a girl who’s first say it was and really interesting if your in the botanical gardens

Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

GREAT tour, very informative - I'd really RECCOMEND it if you want to know something more about spices. It looks like it is run by a family - NOT "commercialised", NOT 'touristy'. Nice atmosphere, nice people. There is no admission fee so buying something from their shop is a good idea to pay the people for their hard work

Thank Anula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear madam
Thank you for your wonderful review and anyone can send us an email and get a pick up from the town. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Ranweli Spice Garden also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to New Ranweli Spice Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing