We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
42
42
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
42
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had an excellent time at this guest house, owner Sameera was charming as we're his staff, not to mention an excellent cook. He studied as a chef in Paris for 5 years. We found this place via recommendation of a took took driver. Best find we've had. Reasonable rate, great spacious place with hammocks off the beaten track with clean spacious and secure rooms.

Best bit was the chilled out service and friendly attitude of Sameera and all his staff. Would highly recommend. We stayed in sigiriya a few extra days as we found it the perfect place to relax after a few big days doing the sights around sigirya.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were completely delighted by the Travel House. The hotel is located in the jungle, really surrounded by the forest. The owner, Sameera, is extremely gentle and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable, with a clean bathroom, air conditioned and hot water. The typical dinner prepared by Sameera was delicious, one of the best we had in Sri Lanka. With a price so low, the Travel House is an excellent and unforgettable choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni_Benassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We where only here for 1 night to see sigirya rock. We arrived at 11 am, and the staff quickly finished cleaning the room and allowed us to check in.
When we where in town after climbing the rock, we ran into the Owner, and he gave us a lift back (on the back of his ute). The dinner was AMAZING!! possible one of the best we have had in sri lanka!
The location is very quite, and you can sit outside in hammocks that are in the courtyard, and listen to the birds around and watch the evening sun disappear.
We would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys the quiet and the breakfast are very good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshnivyas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the simple guest house. Good value for about 45 per night for two people. The rooms were big and clean and had a mosquito net which is a.must. the ac was very new and even had a night setting so the lights on the machine dimmed when you wanted to sleep. There was the mandatory frog in the bathroom, the shower head holder was broken showering was a logistical nightmare. The food was ok, but I suspect they use coconut oil which leaves the food with a terrible smell. The guys who run the place are really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyjim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The guest house is located in the leafy village of Sigiriya on a wind- swept dry plain. It feels a little in the middle of nowhere, but with a tuk tuk you easily get to the famous rock, the village (we had an amazing home- cooked dinner in a small shop on the main road which looked like nothing special at all), Dambula, or the elephant safaris. Pick- up to from the nearest train station (Palugaswewa from the West, Habarana from the East) can be arranged by the friendly owner who speaks excellent English and French and will do his utmost to organise things according to your needs.
A pleasant stay in the centre of the cultural triangle. Temples, palace ruins, pretty nature and wild elephants all within 2 or 3 days!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews