We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
42
42
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
42
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Great stay at Travel House. Nice room with little veranda, beautiful surroundings (in the forest, so quite cool). Owner, and his brother who was running the place, are nice guys. Meals are good, one of the better curries we had in Sri Lanka and a full breakfast.
We arranged a trip to Minneriya through Travel House (10.000rps) and some bikes.
There is internet, but don't expect speed.

A general remark: in the main street of Sigiriya you can ride an elephant. Please don't. There is no sense in putting an elephant in chains so that tourists can be paraded through the street. It's downright animal abuse.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SvenBS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Would happily recommend this place accommodation!
Small place, maybe 6 rooms only. Well cared for grounds, the owners take a lot of pride in the place. Very friendly young Sri Lankan couple run this place, their new baby is very cute!
We stayed for 3 nights, LOVED the food from their kitchen, made by a local who lives next door. The meals were cheap, plentiful, varied and served with a smile.
The hammocks were a great touch. Rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jHopoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This property is a little gem and in a fabulous location being very close to the Sigiriya Rock. Our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable with fabulous meals. The gardens are just alive with birds and wildlife. Didn't take us long to make friends with the family dogs who are so well looked after. We loved the fact that it was off the main road and so beautiful and peaceful. Great hospitality received from the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndiaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This hotel was recommended to us by our driver, and it was where we stayed our first night in Sri Lanka. We arrived in the evening in the midst of a torrential rainstorm, so we did not explore the grounds much, but it is quite secluded in the jungle, lots of trees. Reasonable prices for dinner, I believe we paid around 700 for a rice and curry that we split, and that was plenty of food for us. The room is very basic, but does have mosquito net and AC. No shampoo or conditioner, so bring your own. Breakfast was quite nice, with coconut roti, toast, banana pancakes (crepes), and fruit. This hotel is down a small dirt road, so make sure your driver knows the way. There is definitely nothing within walking distance of it. Wifi signal was very weak, but we eventually were able to connect with some help from the proprietor, who reset the router for us. Pleasant stay overall!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed here for one night. It is well off the beaten track and our driver struggled to locate it, so take their phone number with you. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is a jungle location, so there are some bugs but there are mosquito nets and we didn't find them to be a problem. The breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews