We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best staying ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travel House Sigiriya
Ranked #38 of 115 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2015

the place is simple but the room are wide and there is everything you need. the structure is surrounded by vegetation and you feel at home thanks to the wonderful service, the guys who rule the place are kind, always attentive to your needs, the food is fantastic and their smile even more. once you are there just enjoy nature and forget you come from the western world.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dproberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Great stay at Travel House. Nice room with little veranda, beautiful surroundings (in the forest, so quite cool). Owner, and his brother who was running the place, are nice guys. Meals are good, one of the better curries we had in Sri Lanka and a full breakfast.
We arranged a trip to Minneriya through Travel House (10.000rps) and some bikes.
There is internet, but don't expect speed.

A general remark: in the main street of Sigiriya you can ride an elephant. Please don't. There is no sense in putting an elephant in chains so that tourists can be paraded through the street. It's downright animal abuse.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SvenBS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Would happily recommend this place accommodation!
Small place, maybe 6 rooms only. Well cared for grounds, the owners take a lot of pride in the place. Very friendly young Sri Lankan couple run this place, their new baby is very cute!
We stayed for 3 nights, LOVED the food from their kitchen, made by a local who lives next door. The meals were cheap, plentiful, varied and served with a smile.
The hammocks were a great touch. Rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jHopoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This property is a little gem and in a fabulous location being very close to the Sigiriya Rock. Our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable with fabulous meals. The gardens are just alive with birds and wildlife. Didn't take us long to make friends with the family dogs who are so well looked after. We loved the fact that it was off the main road and so beautiful and peaceful. Great hospitality received from the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndiaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This hotel was recommended to us by our driver, and it was where we stayed our first night in Sri Lanka. We arrived in the evening in the midst of a torrential rainstorm, so we did not explore the grounds much, but it is quite secluded in the jungle, lots of trees. Reasonable prices for dinner, I believe we paid around 700 for a rice and curry that we split, and that was plenty of food for us. The room is very basic, but does have mosquito net and AC. No shampoo or conditioner, so bring your own. Breakfast was quite nice, with coconut roti, toast, banana pancakes (crepes), and fruit. This hotel is down a small dirt road, so make sure your driver knows the way. There is definitely nothing within walking distance of it. Wifi signal was very weak, but we eventually were able to connect with some help from the proprietor, who reset the router for us. Pleasant stay overall!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,779 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
0 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,124 reviews
0 km away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 21 in Sigiriya
281 reviews
0 km away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel House Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel House Sigiriya

Address: Ehelagala Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing