We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka & it spoilt us. The room was spectacular, set above a paddy field. The wildlife amazing even the 5 bats who were flying around our room one evening! The staff were very attentive & the restaurant was fine dining. Unfortunately due to the rain we couldn't enjoy our plunge pool or the inviting swimming pool but hopefully next time as we would love to return.

Room Tip: All rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are also very proud to have this wonderful environment that we can share with all of our valued guests.

I would like to thank you for your visit and your very kind words, please accept our warmest regards and the best wishes for the New Year 2012; we eagerly await your next visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,205 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

My family and I (husband and two kids ages 2 and 1) stayed at this hotel for two night this November and we absolutely loved it. We booked a Forest Villa which was spacious and beautiful. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful as well as everyone in the restaurant. In our opinion, the surroundings and atmosphere at the Vil Uyana make this more than a hotel. It truly is a piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Request a forest villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Guest,

It was indeed nice to read your review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our hospitality and facilities.

We are overjoyed that the experiences you had at Jetwing Vil Uyana has brought us such a fantastic recommendation. And the kids enjoying our surrounding environment is also great to hear. Though we do not feature facilities specifically for kids, nature tends to be quite an attraction.

Jetwing being one of the leading hospitality companies in Sri Lanka, we are held to impeccable standards and it is truly gratifying that you deem us worthy of such high praise.

Once again we thank you for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we invite you to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Vil Uyana for four nights in August as part of our honeymoon. We had read many fabulous reviews and were wondering if the place could live up to them. Well, what can I say? It was absolutely fabulous. The huge forest dwelling that we had booked was truly stunning with colours and materials that fit right in to the surroundings. The downstairs bathroom had a wonderful stone sunken bath. The water flowed into the bath through the stone like a burbling stream into a pool. We loved it! Our private pool was massive and everything spotlessly clean due to the (at least) twice daily housekeeping visits. Our room boy, Nissanka, created beautiful patterns with flowers and leaves on the bed which were a real treat to return to after dinner.

When we arrived we were offered a selection of welcome drinks, most of which were made from local fruits. It was a lovely start. The quality of the food at the hotel remained high. There is only one restaurant in the centre of the villas, overlooking the pool, although the food was excellent a greater variety may be desired if you are staying for a few days however there are no other eateries around. The evening menu comprised a starter, a soup, a sorbet (often made from local fruits or spices), a main course and a dessert. All the food was fresh and well presented although it seemed quite expensive if you were not on a meal plan – we were staying on a half board basis and I found five courses to be a little too much although my husband was more than satisfied with that quantity!

The hotel complex is located at the end of a very bumpy, rather unprepossessing road. We could not believe the beauty of its surrounding when we arrived. We were absolutely enchanted. The hotel is made up of a number of ‘dwellings’ located throughout a wetland habitat with a lake, pool, restaurant, bar, library and reception area at its centre. The dwellings are made from natural materials and blend in to the surroundings beautifully. The place is full of birds, lizards, butterflies and other wildlife such as chipmunks, monkeys and a crocodile! We wandered around the place for hours taking photographs of all the wildlife we saw. We also spent many a happy hour sitting in the ‘library’ with a beer, watching the kingfishers feed over the lake. It was the ultimate in relaxation, absolute bliss.

The staff at Vil Uyana were also superb. We had faced numerous mistakes (double booking etc.) on our honeymoon prior to our stay at Vil Uyana so we fully expected something to go wrong! When we realised one day that we had no water and it was in fact pouring from a pipe out of the side of our dwelling we thought that this must be it! We were expecting to have to move rooms. We spoke to the people on the reception desk about the leak before we went out and they were very apologetic. By the time we returned, just before lunch, the water was back on and the side of the dwelling had been replastered! We couldn’t believe it! As I have already mentioned the housekeeping staff were wonderful too, as was the hotel’s naturalist, Chaminder, who took us on an elephant safari to Minneriya National Park. The only area in which the service could have been better is in the restaurant, it’s a minor point but it seemed to take quite a long time to receive drinks that had been ordered during mealtimes (perhaps because they came from the bar downstairs?).

Both my husband and I absolutely fell for this place. Having the freedom to walk around a beautiful location without people trying to be ‘your guide’ or sell you something was fabulous. We were able to experience a great variety of Sri Lankan wildlife at our own pace, it felt a million miles from the bustle of Kandy (where we started our Sri Lankan holiday) and was the ultimate in tranquillity. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Forest dwellings are absolutely huge - two storey with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your incredibly detailed review of Jetwing Vil Uyana, which you took the time to post on Trip Advisor. We feel that you have gone in depth in regards to our beautiful property and truly experienced everything that it has to offer and what is integral to its personality. We are always honoured when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and we are truly grateful to be part of such precious memories.

We are so happy to hear that our team has delivered to your expectations in such a way that you feel you will return. We hope that you will visit us in the future for an anniversary. Please contact us for any assistance with regards to any hotel reservations.

We wish you all the happiness in the world as you take your first steps as husband and wife and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

we stayed for one night in water dwelling Full board. very peaceful and quite holiday it was. Location is perfect. Staff was quite friendly and supportive. food was served at the restaurant. It was the only restaurant in the hotel. Food selection was bit limited i would say. I would prefer a buffet rather than that quite limited a la carte. so i think its better if u pay for BB and then order and pay for the meals. Other than that everything else was perfect. and one more thing. There was no private pool in the water dwelling :(. that was so upsetting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that both of you enjoyed your honeymoon at Jetwing Vil Uyana. It is always a truly touching occasion when a couple choose us for their honeymoon and we are honoured to be part of such precious memories.

We believe in personalized service to all our guests and we offer a fine dining restaurant experience to our guests as well. Therefore the restaurant serves a set menu or an à la carte menu where you will receive a freshly cooked meal to your table.

Water Dwelling is one of our most demanded rooms as it stands on the water, even though it does not have a plunge pool. However our Forest, Paddy and Marsh Dwellings have plunge pools and you should definitely book one of them for your anniversary or when you visit us next.

It was pleasure having you and we would like to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 days at Vil Uyana and loved it. We rented the room with a private pool which was nice. The resort is extremely quiet and peaceful which we greatly appreciated. There isn't much to do apart from enjoy the good food and contemplate nature so bring a good book. The hotel staff were all very friendly and accommodating.
The food at the restaurant was great but unfortunately there is only one restaurant which gets boring after a few meals.
We do not recommend the spa as it was disappointing and not to international standards. Do not expect to be treated like you would at a spa in a 5 star resort in Thailand.
You should be warned that the resort is a 3-4 hour drive from Colombo airport and it's an ugly bumpy drive. (you must go by car as there is no other way currently) If your flight is a long one, i suggest you stay one night in colombo and make your way to Sigiriya the following day. If you get motion sickness, then take medication before you start the journey. We booked our transportation thru the hotel but they charge much more than if you book a private chauffeur on your own. There are many chauffeur services in Sri Lanka that do tours for tourists and we recommend you hire one of those instead. All the chauffeurs/tour guides will likely speak English well.

The main attraction in SIgiriya is the Fortress which is only a 10 mins drive from the hotel and a must see.
This resort is not kid friendly although we did see many families with kids.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms ontop of the rice fields. Do not get confused between the rooms with the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadsinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana, Sigiriya. On behalf of the entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana I would like to thank you for your visit and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I highly appreciate your message to the world. A peaceful sanctuary is a very accurate explanation of Jetwing Vil Uyana. And more importantly we are a peaceful sanctuary in a peaceful country.

Though it is a 4 hour drive from Colombo, now air transfers from Colombo are widely available right up to the hotel, if not to the Sigiriya Air Force base. Which is a great alternative for anyone who does not want to take the road trip up to Sigiriya.

We are glad that you have witnessed the wonder of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,782 reviews
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
164 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,758 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
442 reviews
5 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $484 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing