We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eco delight”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location of this hotel is stunning and unless you have detailed prior knowledge about this site it will truly surprise and amaze. After probably a long and chaotic car journey most travellers will, like us be almost overwhelmed by arriving at this lovely place. We had a paddy 'room' which was very well designed and maintained. The impact of the environment on our stay was breathtaking. Just walking across the lit boardwalks to dinner and listening to the bull frogs was unforgettable. The wildlife is diverse and makes for brilliant photographs. It is an excellent place to visit the rock at Sigiriya, Polonnuruwa, Anuradhapura as well as some villages and doing some cycling, although not from the hotel. The food was good and the staff very courteous.

Room Tip: The paddy rooms were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,

It was indeed nice to hear from you and we are extremely happy to note that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor and we greatly appreciate your recommendations and feedback on our products and services.

We are blessed with a beautiful natural environment around the hotel and as an eco hotel our priorities are always directed to customer satisfaction as well as protecting the gifted environment. Therefore we always believe in conservation of energy, water, natural habitat and focusing on environmentally friendly purchasing and environmentally friendly solid waste management.

If you log on to our website and search for the Green Directory you would be surprised to see how much we have done to the nature as part of our responsibilities towards the nature and Jetwing Vil Uyana plays a bigger role in going green as a hospitality company.

It is true that your experience by patronizing Jetwing Vil Uyana is unforgettable and you will be more delighted on your next visit by looking at the progress and the development of our natural habitat.

We would like to have the chance of welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,155 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has extensive and attractive grounds, dotted with attractive "Dwellings" of various types. It is in a lovely peaceful location.

We booked one of the 3 Water Dwellings, assuming that it would have a good view over the lake. Although it was on the edge of the lake, bizarrely the main floor to ceiling window (and the terrace outside it with the sunloungers) looked onto the neighbouring dwelling, with only a 2nd terrace (with a table and 2 small stools) overlooking the lake - badly designed by the architect.

Our dwelling had several steep stairs (with no banister) up fom the entrance to the sleeping area, so it would not be suitable for those with limited mobility. The bath was also on a raised platform (and in the same room, which my wife hates). There was nowhere comfortable to sit - only a platform with a cushion on it.

Fortunately our dwelling (115) was only a short walk from the Reception and Restaurant, so we avoided having to call for the golf buggy. The paths were well surfaced and lit.

The Restaurant is well designed and open on 3 sides, so benefits from a refreshing breeze. Avoid the tables near the sofas, as smokers sometimes sit there and puff away. The a la carte menu provided plenty of choice and the food was as good as the service - charming, friendly and attentive.

A good location for touring the Sigiriya area, but if I were staying there again I would not choose a Water Dwelling.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to post your review on Trip Advisor. It was indeed our pleasure to have you at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the service provided during your stay as most of our guests strongly believe in the Jetwing hospitality. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words.

However, we are disappointed to hear that you have not really enjoyed the Water Dwelling provided during your stay, let me say however that as far as I know Dwelling 115 stands on the water and overlooks the lake, unless there are changes in the water level.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our unique design, and the different categories of dwellings, such as Water, Forest, Mash and Paddy. Most of our guests are very excited with this beautiful property as you have mentioned in your review.

Please let us know if you need any assistance with regards to Jetwing products and services in the future. And we hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We know that this beautiful place not need our review but in any case i like to say that we really enjoy in the villa, full relax in the swimming pool surranded by the green and the birds.
It was our third time there!!

Room Tip: Forest Villa n. 140
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cottilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you have patronized Jetwing Vil Uyana 3 times and that you still love visiting our beautiful property.

However we always believe that we learn and develop ourselves through your feedback and we as a company firmly grounded in hospitality take every comment in a constructive form.

We further trust that the reason for your continuous patronage could be nothing but the renowned Jetwing hospitality. Thus we hope to see you again on your 4th visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Well situated only 15 mins from amazing Sigiriya (well worth climbing to the top), and an hour from Polonnaruwa. Luxurious villas in interesting locations around the extensive grounds, which were full of wildlife.
Our only slight complaint was the fact that they charged by the hour for the use of the hotel bikes.When you are paying a lot of money to stay at such a lovely hotel, it really is a bit annoying to have to pay for silly little extras.They could learn from Ellertons (a marvellous place near Kandy)where we stayed later in our holiday, where everything was included, including some good quality mountain bikes.It leaves a much nicer feeling if you don't think that the hotel is always after more money.
We enjoyed cycling to The Elephant Corridor Hotel nearby, which looked fine, but we were glad that we were staying at Vil Ulyana.
One good point about Vil Uyana is that if you don't feel like the full dinner, they keep serving from their snack menu into the evening, unlike many hotels that only offer the dinner menu after 6.00pm.Something I feel that many hotels could learn from.
Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we appreciate your review on Trip Advisor.

Our team was glad to see your comments and we will share all these points so that we can constructively learn through them. You are absolutely correct that we could be the best accommodation which is closest to the Lion’s Rock Fortress of Sigiriya and is actually situated within the Cultural Triangle itself. We appreciate your recommendation and it will go long way in motivating the team.

In regards to the bicycle charge, you will be pleased to know that we are no longer charging for its use. And that guests can freely avail themselves of the facility whenever they please. On your next visit you will be able experience this yourself. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your constructive feedback.

Please do contact us for any future assistance at Jetwing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I loved their Rooms!(aka villas) One of the best hotel experiences ever.Only problem was that food was bad! And vil uyana's lake creates too much wind! Many other reviews say that the food is good,but in my experience it was bad. On the first night it was bad by morning the breakfast was good!! So was lunch.And so was second days dinner! Was the first night ment to make us think the hotel was bad?It's up to you to decide. I did like their Golf cart ride which went through the lake on the return trip.Overall though the journey was a bit too long it was worth the luxury of a private swimming pool and a whole house to your self!!!
(One reason for reducing one star is that I have to mention one of the hotel boys posted us a letter and asked for 1000 rupees as he said we ordered a drink and didn't take it! What does that mean?)

Room Tip: Go for the Forest villa, they are they are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thisath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and we are glad to have had you here at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities, we were disappointed to hear that our food standards did not reach your expectations. As you have mentioned, most of our feedback is greatly positive about our food, however our team takes all your comments constructively and will improve the areas you have mentioned.

Furthermore, to the alarming comment made about the letter, we were unaware of its existence and did not approve such a letter to be posted to you and we are trying to track down the source and will let you know the progress as soon as possible.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we would like to have the chance of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,713 reviews
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
139 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
5.0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $376 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing