We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lal Homestay(Sigiriya)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sigiriya(Sigiriya)
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sigiri Lion Lodge(Sigiriya)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
US$226
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
1,298
268
59
21
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,298
268
59
21
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldson stiltssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaslender lorisopen planeco hotelnature reservegolf buggynight walkstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,264 - 1,269 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has extensive and attractive grounds, dotted with attractive "Dwellings" of various types. It is in a lovely peaceful location.

We booked one of the 3 Water Dwellings, assuming that it would have a good view over the lake. Although it was on the edge of the lake, bizarrely the main floor to ceiling window (and the terrace outside it with the sunloungers) looked onto the neighbouring dwelling, with only a 2nd terrace (with a table and 2 small stools) overlooking the lake - badly designed by the architect.

Our dwelling had several steep stairs (with no banister) up fom the entrance to the sleeping area, so it would not be suitable for those with limited mobility. The bath was also on a raised platform (and in the same room, which my wife hates). There was nowhere comfortable to sit - only a platform with a cushion on it.

Fortunately our dwelling (115) was only a short walk from the Reception and Restaurant, so we avoided having to call for the golf buggy. The paths were well surfaced and lit.

The Restaurant is well designed and open on 3 sides, so benefits from a refreshing breeze. Avoid the tables near the sofas, as smokers sometimes sit there and puff away. The a la carte menu provided plenty of choice and the food was as good as the service - charming, friendly and attentive.

A good location for touring the Sigiriya area, but if I were staying there again I would not choose a Water Dwelling.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 115
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to post your review on Trip Advisor. It was indeed our pleasure to have you at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the service provided during your stay as most of our guests strongly believe in the Jetwing hospitality. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words.

However, we are disappointed to hear that you have not really enjoyed the Water Dwelling provided during your stay, let me say however that as far as I know Dwelling 115 stands on the water and overlooks the lake, unless there are changes in the water level.

One of the unique features of the hotel is our unique design, and the different categories of dwellings, such as Water, Forest, Mash and Paddy. Most of our guests are very excited with this beautiful property as you have mentioned in your review.

Please let us know if you need any assistance with regards to Jetwing products and services in the future. And we hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We know that this beautiful place not need our review but in any case i like to say that we really enjoy in the villa, full relax in the swimming pool surranded by the green and the birds.
It was our third time there!!

Room Tip: Forest Villa n. 140
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cottilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you have patronized Jetwing Vil Uyana 3 times and that you still love visiting our beautiful property.

However we always believe that we learn and develop ourselves through your feedback and we as a company firmly grounded in hospitality take every comment in a constructive form.

We further trust that the reason for your continuous patronage could be nothing but the renowned Jetwing hospitality. Thus we hope to see you again on your 4th visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Well situated only 15 mins from amazing Sigiriya (well worth climbing to the top), and an hour from Polonnaruwa. Luxurious villas in interesting locations around the extensive grounds, which were full of wildlife.
Our only slight complaint was the fact that they charged by the hour for the use of the hotel bikes.When you are paying a lot of money to stay at such a lovely hotel, it really is a bit annoying to have to pay for silly little extras.They could learn from Ellertons (a marvellous place near Kandy)where we stayed later in our holiday, where everything was included, including some good quality mountain bikes.It leaves a much nicer feeling if you don't think that the hotel is always after more money.
We enjoyed cycling to The Elephant Corridor Hotel nearby, which looked fine, but we were glad that we were staying at Vil Ulyana.
One good point about Vil Uyana is that if you don't feel like the full dinner, they keep serving from their snack menu into the evening, unlike many hotels that only offer the dinner menu after 6.00pm.Something I feel that many hotels could learn from.
Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana and we appreciate your review on Trip Advisor.

Our team was glad to see your comments and we will share all these points so that we can constructively learn through them. You are absolutely correct that we could be the best accommodation which is closest to the Lion’s Rock Fortress of Sigiriya and is actually situated within the Cultural Triangle itself. We appreciate your recommendation and it will go long way in motivating the team.

In regards to the bicycle charge, you will be pleased to know that we are no longer charging for its use. And that guests can freely avail themselves of the facility whenever they please. On your next visit you will be able experience this yourself. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your constructive feedback.

Please do contact us for any future assistance at Jetwing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenayake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I loved their Rooms!(aka villas) One of the best hotel experiences ever.Only problem was that food was bad! And vil uyana's lake creates too much wind! Many other reviews say that the food is good,but in my experience it was bad. On the first night it was bad by morning the breakfast was good!! So was lunch.And so was second days dinner! Was the first night ment to make us think the hotel was bad?It's up to you to decide. I did like their Golf cart ride which went through the lake on the return trip.Overall though the journey was a bit too long it was worth the luxury of a private swimming pool and a whole house to your self!!!
(One reason for reducing one star is that I have to mention one of the hotel boys posted us a letter and asked for 1000 rupees as he said we ordered a drink and didn't take it! What does that mean?)

Room Tip: Go for the Forest villa, they are they are the best!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thisath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and we are glad to have had you here at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities, we were disappointed to hear that our food standards did not reach your expectations. As you have mentioned, most of our feedback is greatly positive about our food, however our team takes all your comments constructively and will improve the areas you have mentioned.

Furthermore, to the alarming comment made about the letter, we were unaware of its existence and did not approve such a letter to be posted to you and we are trying to track down the source and will let you know the progress as soon as possible.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we would like to have the chance of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 days of our honeymoon on our way to the Maldives. After such a hectic few months in the lead up to our wedding, we wanted to start our married life with a few days to totally spoil ourselves and relax. We were not disappointed!

It is a shame that it is a 3.5 hour drive from the airport after such a long flight however it is a great way to see Sri Lankan life as you pass by. Take a bottle of water for the journey. Warning, the local driving habits mean this trip is not for those of a nervous nature but for the more adventurous, it's the best ride in the park!


We booked a Forest Dwelling with a private swimming pool and it was bliss. The rooms are a little basic if you like the typical 5* American brands but had a rustic charm and did not spoil our stay. The double sunken bath with candles was magical. Breakfast on our own terrace on our last morning being watched from the bushes by a VERY large lizard was a personal highlight.

As the hotel is in a secluded location we booked full board however in hindsight I would not recommend this. The food was excellent but as every meal consists of several courses, we had to skip a meal on each day. Half board or B&B would have been plenty. Be aware after rain the insects flock to the lights in the open plan restaurant which is just a local hazard and the staff do all that they can to sit you away from them but that means sitting towards the middle of the restaurant which is rather warm.

This is such a peacful location with wild monkeys in the trees, peacocks walking the grounds and fireflies amongst the trees in the evenings. The staff could not do enough to help especially at reception and the restaurant manager.

A trip to the rock is worthwhile but we spent the rest of our time eating and lazing in this serene location. I think a week might have been too long but 5 days would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freckles1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We were happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we as a Jetwing property are always willing to improve our products and standards and strongly believe in your comments and consider them affirmation to the work we put in.

As a property located in a wetland eco-reserve, you may feel it to be a form of rustic luxury that blends in with nature and needs to be experienced. Our food and service add a great value to our customer satisfaction and the restaurant experience that we offer is also different to a usual hotel in a completely different backdrop of an open air set up. However, we base our image on hospitality with the environment playing a major role as it is our mission is to conserve the Earth's living heritage and our global bio diversity.

I do agree, if you are staying with us it needs to be more than three days to explore the Cultural Triangle of Sri Lanka while you are relaxing at the hotel.

We would like to have the chance of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana and please feel free to contact us for any future assistance that you may need.


Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews