We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Sigiriya”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a Paddy Dwelling, which was huge, with a raised bed platform, two balconies, one with a plunge pool. There was also a supertax shower and bathroom. The rooms had UK compliant plugs but others could fit I.e USA.

The restaurant provided a good range of options for dinner and breakfast, good quality and good portion size.

We undertook a night walk with the hotel naturalist but didn't see the Lorises unfortunately. From our balcony though we could see plenty of local bird life.

A good hotel, well catered and friendly staff

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanula72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay and we are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are very much grateful of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. Our fine dishes are made by our well trained experts to make your tastebuds appreciate the fine delicacies.

We will deliver your feedback to our associates as they will be so much happy to hear your feedback on their service.

Ayubowan


Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2016

Lovely property in Sigiriya. Stayed in Villa in paddy fields, lovely spacious room. Ideal for couples , maybe not for sharers who don't know each other so well, due to bathroom arrangements.
The grounds were fab, plenty of wildlife around the saw the resident Croc, each morning.
Fantastic restaurant for great selection of food. Good base to explore elephant park , dambulla caves and Lions rocks.
Make sure u check bill on checkout as they had added a sarong which i hang bought or signed for.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review following your recent stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are glad that your stay has been a memorable experience. Thank you for the wonderful review on our facilities as well as your feedback on our food.

The location does provide many opportunities for nature lovers as we are an eco friendly hotel.

Once again, we thank you for visiting us and we hope you will revisit the next time you come on vacation.

Ayubowan


Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Luxurious hotel set in a stunning natural setting. Crocodiles in the little lake and wildlife all around the place. Very easy access to the world heritage sites of Sigiriya and Dambulla. The individual bungalows have their own little plunge pool so you can have a dip at any time.

Room Tip: All rooms (bungalows) seem to have their little plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LucienS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to review us on your stay. We are pleased to know that your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana has made a great time of wonderful memories and experiences.

We provide you the best eco friendly logging to have a peaceful relaxation. Thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana to spend your holiday.

Ayubowan


Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The resort really does look great, but our arrival was marred by the lack of attention to detail. At the end of a 5 hour road journey the first thing we needed was the bathroom - anyone who drove here from Columbo during the roadworks will know exactly what I mean! Neither the gents nor the ladies' loos in reception had any hand towels and when we mentioned this to the Manager as the reason for declining to shake him by the hand when we emerged he was quite dismissive of the information.
Our lakeside room (138) was lovely with its own pool, outside seating area and ground floor bathroom which we shared with bats, birds and various lizards. The upstairs sleeping area lacked anywhere for clothes, other than leaving them in the suitcase as the hanging space was tiny and not wide enough for a coat hanger. It was also quite dark, but comfortable enough. I startled a frog the size of a man's hand on the balcony: it launched itself off the edge directly into the pool below where I had to rescue it as the steep sides gave it no chance of getting out again!
Food was average and service slow, sometimes needing management intervention to expedite.
On our return from an afternoon excursion we arrived back after sunset to find no one on the main entrance which was in darkness. Our driver - Ananada from Red Dot who was absolutely lovely - called them on his mobile and had to ring once again before the buggy finally arrived. We then had to make our own way across the boardwalk using our phones as torches to get to the buggy. We also understand that unlike some of the other hotels on the tour, this one provides only the most basic accommodation for the tour drivers.
The presence of a crocodile in the lake is gimmicky and we felt sorry for his/her solitary state, not to mention a little nervous that it might take a stroll round the bungalows!
With some serious attention to customer service, staff training, a better reception facility at the main gate, a smoother ride to the main road and an enhanced culinary offering this would be a lovely place to stay. As it was it felt rather mean spirited with the focus entirely on profit.

Room Tip: There does not seem to be any real benefit paying top prices for the so called best rooms in the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 161albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for patronizing Jetwing Vil Uyana and for the review uploaded on Trip Adviser.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for having given you cause to express your disappointment on certain issues. Your comments about the service standards and the outlook of the property have our full attention.

We as a renowned hospitality organization take very serious note of each minor detail when it comes to customer service and standards. We will surely look into each points as mentioned by you as it is truly a very isolated incident.

We do our best to make each guest feel homely and well looked after. We believe in extending exceptional service standards in order to ensure each guest makes the best of his/her vacation with us. However, our intentions were never to make you feel unwanted, you are our guest and we take great pride in doing our best to ensure the comfort of our guests from the moment they walk in the front door.

Once again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and rest assured that all these matters were seriously taken into consideration and shared with the rest of the team in order to rectify them soon.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you our best Jetwing hospitality

Ayubowan,


Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Having arrived in Colombo early in the morning the first stop was the Jetwing in Sigirya that was a 3 hour drive - and this hotel was a little off the beaten track.

However it was worth it as the rooms and property were delightful.

The food in the restaurant was very good (we kept to western fayre) and the service was prompt - a feature that we did not experience everywhere in Sri Lanka.

Our only hiccup was an infestation of 'creatures' in there thousands that appear to come from know where and settle in our room (see picture).The staff dealt with promptly and without fuss and this was not their fault but a fact of nature.

I have added a photo of the bathroom we had that is one of the most stunning and different that I have had as an en-suite anywhere.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,709 reviews
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
138 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,669 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
5.0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $384 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing