We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Sigiria!”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2010

A great hotel and a great team - well done for three nice nights with you!

We did first check into a forrest dwellling and moved to a water dwelling a) Because a 3 4ft lizard went into the pool just after we got out! b) We are not keen on open air bathrooms. The water dwelling was grea and close to the main building so you do not feel too remote.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,292 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2010

Vil Uyana has to be the best hotel we stayed at during a 25 day visit to Sri Lanka.
The setting and environment was peaceful, relaxing and extremely comfortable. Our "paddy field" accommodation looked out onto vividly green paddy fields - not another villa in sight. It was wonderful to just sit and watch the bird life and the changing light from our private haven. Our villa was spacious, clean, and well designed and more than fulfilled our requirements.
The staff were friendly and helpful but never intrusive.
The breakfasts were delicious and varied as were the dinners - the chef kindly made us a special Sri Lankan dinner on our last evening and took the time and trouble to chat to us about the local cuisine. I think one slight improvement may be to re-locate the bar to a small area in the library (which is open sided with views onto the waterways and furnished with comfy sofas) It would be lovely to enjoy pre-dinner drinks in a room with a view and a comfortable "socialising" area. The current bar is hidden away and lacks atmosphere, the head barman who is both very personable and informative is wasted hidden away from the majority of the guests!
We stayed at Vil Uyana for three nights and wish we had been there for a couple more as most of the time were busy visiting the local sights and time to enjoy the hotel itself was limited

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Stayed 2 nights in late December 2009. Great setting, great villa's, love the plunge pool and bathroom and huge, huge bedroom.

The food was good and the service matched the excellent food.

However the health spa was disorganised and the quality of treatments ordinary and certainly they need to fix the language and treatment skills.

Despite that, would return, just avoid the spa!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADVRIDERAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in August, initially was a little apprehensive as although I like nature am not too keen on sharing my bed with creatures!!!I neednt have worried ,In advance we asked for a room with a mozzie net and a young man came to make up the bed with net prior to it becoming dark.The room was lovely, Food super and having our own plunge pool made it feel like a unique luxury hotel.my Husband took a walk with the naturist and found him interesting and informative.I would definatly recommend this hotel and feel it wqas worth paying a little extra for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This was a beautiful place - we had requested a dwelling in the paddy fields and it was a stunning setting. The interiors are of a very high quality.
We sat in the lounge area of the main block before dinner each evening and watched a breathtaking display of fruit bats flying from their roosts
Food in the restuarant was of a very high standard and staff were very friendly. It was a shame we were the only guests on the first of our nights there but there were another 4 groups of guests on our second night.. It was good to be in a vehicle free area (except for the buggies which transport guests around the place).
The wildlife referred to by other reviewers was absolutely wonderful and the staff were most helpful in both pointing out and identifying the various species of birds.
This hotel deserves all the praise it has been given.
We wished we had booked more time at Vil Uyana.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deejaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
139 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
5.0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $384 - $1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing