We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house, beautiful spot, wonderful people.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

fergusson...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, beautiful spot, wonderful people.”
Reviewed 21 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Our stay at Walatta House exceeded all our expectations. The house and pool were perfect for our family of six and would surely be perfect for other groups. We loved the house and felt that our trip to Sri Lanka was greatly enhanced by both the house's location and Madhura and his team's accommodating nature.
Madhura was an excellent chef and made us delicious meals of various curries and other local dishes, and was extremely efficient in the organisation of trips to temples, whale watching and to Uda Walawe national park. On the morning of our whale watching trip he even made us breakfast before we left at 5am, and he was more than happy to teach the whole family how to make some of our favourites of his dishes as well as to show us the local fruit, vegetable and fish markets.
Siranga and his team kept the house and pool in perfect condition (which isn't easy with four kids around!) and were always charming, kind and friendly to us. There were fresh flowers in the bedrooms which were kept tidy and clean, much like the rest of the house and garden.
We were doubtful, before we arrived, of whether we would be able to swim on the beach below the house, but the beach was safe and perfect on so may levels: it had a tyre swing, great snorkelling and hundreds of hermit crabs, as well the tracks of some extremely elusive turtles.
Wally the dog was also lovely and was always there to greet us when we got out of the van from a day trip or from tuk-tuks on visits to the closer landmarks and attractions near Walatta House. I would definitely recommend staying at Walatta House to anyone visiting Sri Lanka and would love to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2019
Thank you very much for your thorough and kind review. I know all that you say will be really helpful to future guests and I am very grateful to you for it. Thank you.
I really hope that you can come back one day and please please stay with us again.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Someonein...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impossible to describe in one sentence how lovely this place is!”
Reviewed 11 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Everything about this place is perfect. The architectural design is breathtaking - blending seamlessly into the tropical landscape. The house (if that's what you can call it) is so comfortable - we loved lounging on next to the pool and on the day bed overlooking the ocean. The bedrooms and bathrooms were gorgeously appointed, spacious and comfortable.

As you can tell from all the previous reviews, the absolute highlight was the service we received from Madhura, Suranga and team. Attentive, kind, discrete, and the most delicious food ever, it was like dining in a michelin star restaurant every night! I am counting down the days until we can go back and visit again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really delighted that the team at Walatta House continue to provide an excellent service. Madura will be really thrilled that you enjoyed his cooking so much. Please do come back soon...it will be a pleasure to host you again.
Thank you
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominic j
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fanatastic location, great family stay, great food.”
Reviewed 9 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

We stayed at the Walatta House with my three children for eight nights from the 26th December to the 4th January. We've been to Sri Lanka before so we were less interested in sightseeing and more in relaxing and enjoying the setting as well as the weather. Walatta did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home by Madura and his team who had made the most fantastic Sri Lankan curry for our arrival. The accommodation is just wonderful as is the setting. The morning bird song, with the sound of the sea in the background, was just so relaxing and exactly what we were looking for. Madura's cooking was something we looked forward to every evening and it was just lovely to relax after diner with the family together. I can't recommend it too highly. I'd also like to thank all the guys at Walatta for the fantastic new years eve celebration that they put on for us. It was great to have you there with us and we look forward to coming back one day.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annagau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 21 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Walatta House towards the end of our Sri Lankan trip.

The house exceeded our expectations - we loved the architecture. We were taken great care off by the team who organised the best Yoga, surfing and massages. But the real star was Madura, the chef and manager, by far the best food we’ve had on the trip. Be sure to ask for a cooking lesson!

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangostic...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with wonderful hospitality team”
Reviewed 23 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Our family stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderfully relaxing time in this beautiful house. The architecture is amazing, the open plan living area is airy and spacious. The owner clearly had good attention to detail when they designed the building. The pool is great. Deep on one end and long enough for laps.
The beach nearby is accessible via a steep-ish roughly paved path. This was fine even for my (able bodied) grandparents who were both in their 80s, although we didn't let them attempt going down when the grass was wet with rain.
At low tide you can explore the rock pools and watch the sunset on the beach. There is a beach bar on the left side.
The house is securely guarded with a gate and a guard on duty so we felt safe.
The team are available to meet all your needs - madhura's cooking is spectacular and diverse, and you can tell everyone else felt the same way from the guest book. He is a highly trained chef who has worked in Dubai, maldives...Don't bother with eating out. Unfortunately we only discover on the last night that he is a trained sushi chef! Otherwise we would have requested sashimi. We went to the market with him to buy ingredients and had a cooking lesson on the last night.
The rest of the team are lovely and very professional and discreet, making sure you are comfortable and having fun. They will do your laundry and bring you snacks/drinks back from the supermarket if you ask.
Wally is the villa dog. She is very cuddly and will walk on the beach with you. We did meet a few other dogs on the beach - very friendly, but they tend to follow you back and refuse to leave. Not a problem for us as we love dogs, but might not be good to encourage this behaviour with the local dogs as other guests might not like it.
We wish we booked longer here and are already planning our next trip back. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2018
Thank you for your kind, thoughtful and informative review. I am certain it will be enormously helpful to anyone who is thinking of staying with us. Thank you also for mentioning Madura's ability with sushi....I'll be sure to put that on the menu.
Please do come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.