We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real vacation for everyone”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

0voyageur
1 review
“A real vacation for everyone”
Reviewed 1 April 2019 for a stay in March 2019

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful villa. We were 7 family members, our 5 year old son stayed in our room that was the largest and they added one bed for some fee in this room. The villa is beautifully built and is clean and comfortable. The chef/ manager is gifted, the presentation of the food and table setting is beautiful and the staff are friendly and helpful and they make sure you have everything you need.

The ocean is 5 minutes away and suitable for swimming while there is swimming pool with pioneering view towards the ocean.

We requested 2 masseuse to come to the villa. A lady and a gentleman came. I recommend the stone and steam massage with the man. The oil massage with the lady was ordinary.

We all had a great time and highly recommend this place. Thank you Madhura and team

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2019
Thank you very much for your helpful review. I am so glad that Madura and his team continue to delight with the quality of food and presentation and service. Thank you for your feedback re the masseuse - of course the enjoyment of a massage is very subjective and your feedback is helpful.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easternwe...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing place I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 20 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Walatta House is an incredible place, absolutely perfect getaway house for a couple in love.

Once we arrived and saw the place, we decided to not leave the house and just indulge in everything it has to offer. And that's a lot: a beautiful private room with a huge window looking at the pool (+ two more rooms that we didn't use), garden and the ocean below, lush garden with a hammock, super comfortable chill area in the shade, amazing pool, private way to the beach, tasty food served the way you want it, and great staff that provided us with anything we could think of. Couldn't wish for more, really! All we can think about since we left is how to come back once again :D

Simply a paradise! 10/10

Date of stay: March 2019
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted with your 10/10. Thank you. To come back all you need do is make the decision...we will do the rest. Hope to see you both back here soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gadabout...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

This modern luxurious villa on top of a hill, overlooking the ocean, surrounded with palmtrees can only be described as paradise.
With Madura daily cooking delicious meals and two other staff members serving you tea and taking care of everything, there is not really a reason for you to leave the house.
Stroll down to the beautiful beach, cool down in the breathtaking infinity pool or just read a book in the open space lobby, Walatta House is a perfect place to take a break from the world and clear your mind.
Needless to say, the upkeep was perfect and the rooms spaceous with walk-in wardrobes and plant filled open air bathrooms.
The only downside of visiting this place is when you have to leave it behind.
Thanks again to Madura and his staff for taking such great care of us. We had an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really pleased to see that Madura continues to delight with his cooking and that his team are attentive and take good care. Thank you for coming and please come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fergusson...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, beautiful spot, wonderful people.”
Reviewed 21 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Our stay at Walatta House exceeded all our expectations. The house and pool were perfect for our family of six and would surely be perfect for other groups. We loved the house and felt that our trip to Sri Lanka was greatly enhanced by both the house's location and Madhura and his team's accommodating nature.
Madhura was an excellent chef and made us delicious meals of various curries and other local dishes, and was extremely efficient in the organisation of trips to temples, whale watching and to Uda Walawe national park. On the morning of our whale watching trip he even made us breakfast before we left at 5am, and he was more than happy to teach the whole family how to make some of our favourites of his dishes as well as to show us the local fruit, vegetable and fish markets.
Siranga and his team kept the house and pool in perfect condition (which isn't easy with four kids around!) and were always charming, kind and friendly to us. There were fresh flowers in the bedrooms which were kept tidy and clean, much like the rest of the house and garden.
We were doubtful, before we arrived, of whether we would be able to swim on the beach below the house, but the beach was safe and perfect on so may levels: it had a tyre swing, great snorkelling and hundreds of hermit crabs, as well the tracks of some extremely elusive turtles.
Wally the dog was also lovely and was always there to greet us when we got out of the van from a day trip or from tuk-tuks on visits to the closer landmarks and attractions near Walatta House. I would definitely recommend staying at Walatta House to anyone visiting Sri Lanka and would love to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2019
Thank you very much for your thorough and kind review. I know all that you say will be really helpful to future guests and I am very grateful to you for it. Thank you.
I really hope that you can come back one day and please please stay with us again.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Someonein...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impossible to describe in one sentence how lovely this place is!”
Reviewed 11 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Everything about this place is perfect. The architectural design is breathtaking - blending seamlessly into the tropical landscape. The house (if that's what you can call it) is so comfortable - we loved lounging on next to the pool and on the day bed overlooking the ocean. The bedrooms and bathrooms were gorgeously appointed, spacious and comfortable.

As you can tell from all the previous reviews, the absolute highlight was the service we received from Madhura, Suranga and team. Attentive, kind, discrete, and the most delicious food ever, it was like dining in a michelin star restaurant every night! I am counting down the days until we can go back and visit again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really delighted that the team at Walatta House continue to provide an excellent service. Madura will be really thrilled that you enjoyed his cooking so much. Please do come back soon...it will be a pleasure to host you again.
Thank you
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.