We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely magic !”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

naomirush...
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely magic !”
Reviewed 17 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Our family had the absolute pleasure of being welcomed into the Walatta house fold in late July. Wow, it was a truly magical three days, and an absolute sensory extravaganza ! The smells Maduras incredible cooking creations, the sound of the wild stormy waves, the feel of the stone underfoot and soft waters, the view to the Indian ocean and tropical plants that wove within and around the house.... Simply amazing.
I don't know that i have seen our family so relaxed!
Of course the extraordinary attention to our meals was a highlight, Madura would gather us each morning to create the menu for the day, the kids were in heaven! We even got a few tips in the kitchen ... those devilled nuts.
The attention to detail and the great care in truly hosting from Suranga and all the team working tirelessly behind the scenes.
Not to forget Wally the dog who loved to escort us on long beach walks and joined us in the pool too!. And what a pool, best ever.
The gardens are just exquisite and they way nature and house blend is a delight, loved the grass roof and the way the roof lights allow the plants to grow through.
We weathered a moody storm, and lost the power a couple of times, but the generator kicked in within minutes with this pro team.
Not once did we worry for our security, it never entered our head. We decided to continue with our travels to Sri Lanka post the April bombing, after much much careful thought. I can whole heartedly say that it was an incredibly safe experience around the entire country and we have never felt such great care and hosting as by the Sri Lankan people.
Come and experience this magic place !!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for coming and for this very kind and thorough review. I am certain it will be helpful to any future guest. So glad that Madura and his team continue to look after our guests with their very natural hospitality...and that his cooking continues to delight. Please come back soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0voyageur
1 review
“A real vacation for everyone”
Reviewed 1 April 2019 for a stay in March 2019

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful villa. We were 7 family members, our 5 year old son stayed in our room that was the largest and they added one bed for some fee in this room. The villa is beautifully built and is clean and comfortable. The chef/ manager is gifted, the presentation of the food and table setting is beautiful and the staff are friendly and helpful and they make sure you have everything you need.

The ocean is 5 minutes away and suitable for swimming while there is swimming pool with pioneering view towards the ocean.

We requested 2 masseuse to come to the villa. A lady and a gentleman came. I recommend the stone and steam massage with the man. The oil massage with the lady was ordinary.

We all had a great time and highly recommend this place. Thank you Madhura and team

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2019
Thank you very much for your helpful review. I am so glad that Madura and his team continue to delight with the quality of food and presentation and service. Thank you for your feedback re the masseuse - of course the enjoyment of a massage is very subjective and your feedback is helpful.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easternwe...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing place I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 20 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Walatta House is an incredible place, absolutely perfect getaway house for a couple in love.

Once we arrived and saw the place, we decided to not leave the house and just indulge in everything it has to offer. And that's a lot: a beautiful private room with a huge window looking at the pool (+ two more rooms that we didn't use), garden and the ocean below, lush garden with a hammock, super comfortable chill area in the shade, amazing pool, private way to the beach, tasty food served the way you want it, and great staff that provided us with anything we could think of. Couldn't wish for more, really! All we can think about since we left is how to come back once again :D

Simply a paradise! 10/10

Date of stay: March 2019
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted with your 10/10. Thank you. To come back all you need do is make the decision...we will do the rest. Hope to see you both back here soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gadabout...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

This modern luxurious villa on top of a hill, overlooking the ocean, surrounded with palmtrees can only be described as paradise.
With Madura daily cooking delicious meals and two other staff members serving you tea and taking care of everything, there is not really a reason for you to leave the house.
Stroll down to the beautiful beach, cool down in the breathtaking infinity pool or just read a book in the open space lobby, Walatta House is a perfect place to take a break from the world and clear your mind.
Needless to say, the upkeep was perfect and the rooms spaceous with walk-in wardrobes and plant filled open air bathrooms.
The only downside of visiting this place is when you have to leave it behind.
Thanks again to Madura and his staff for taking such great care of us. We had an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really pleased to see that Madura continues to delight with his cooking and that his team are attentive and take good care. Thank you for coming and please come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fergusson...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house, beautiful spot, wonderful people.”
Reviewed 21 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Walatta House exceeded all our expectations. The house and pool were perfect for our family of six and would surely be perfect for other groups. We loved the house and felt that our trip to Sri Lanka was greatly enhanced by both the house's location and Madhura and his team's accommodating nature.
Madhura was an excellent chef and made us delicious meals of various curries and other local dishes, and was extremely efficient in the organisation of trips to temples, whale watching and to Uda Walawe national park. On the morning of our whale watching trip he even made us breakfast before we left at 5am, and he was more than happy to teach the whole family how to make some of our favourites of his dishes as well as to show us the local fruit, vegetable and fish markets.
Siranga and his team kept the house and pool in perfect condition (which isn't easy with four kids around!) and were always charming, kind and friendly to us. There were fresh flowers in the bedrooms which were kept tidy and clean, much like the rest of the house and garden.
We were doubtful, before we arrived, of whether we would be able to swim on the beach below the house, but the beach was safe and perfect on so may levels: it had a tyre swing, great snorkelling and hundreds of hermit crabs, as well the tracks of some extremely elusive turtles.
Wally the dog was also lovely and was always there to greet us when we got out of the van from a day trip or from tuk-tuks on visits to the closer landmarks and attractions near Walatta House. I would definitely recommend staying at Walatta House to anyone visiting Sri Lanka and would love to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2019
Thank you very much for your thorough and kind review. I know all that you say will be really helpful to future guests and I am very grateful to you for it. Thank you.
I really hope that you can come back one day and please please stay with us again.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.