We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect stay in Sri Lanka”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

wherearet...
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The most perfect stay in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2022

I can't rave about this place more highly. I'm torn between telling everyone about it and keeping it a secret to keep all to myself.

The house itself is gorgeous. A truly unique design which makes you feel as if you are in the most gorgeous James Bond bunker ever. The villa is comfortable and has all the amenities and comforts you could ever need - Wifi, hairdryers, aircon etc.

The pool is huge and perfect, and the short walk down to the beach takes you to your own private beach paradise which comes with rockpools to explore for hours, and a gorgeous little beach bar and swing which you have all to yourself.

The true shining star of this place however is by far the staff who stop at nothing to make your stay perfect. The team go out of their way to make sure they have everything you want - they'll arrange massages, go pick up supplies from stores. They are amazing. The food especially is out of this world - Madhura is a Michelin star worthy chef hiding in a little beach town here. We have 2 small kids who usually live on a diet of nuggets and spaghetti, but with his cooking every single meal came up with empty plates and usually with second plates as well. Every meal was more delicious than the rest.

Thank you Walatta team!

Date of stay: May 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 May 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to host you and we all look forward to the next time.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter K
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 March 2020 for a stay in February 2020

Walatta house was one of our highlights of our architectural travel.
The house and the location were fantastic and all of us were excited.
Also the staff and the food were excellent.
I will be very happy to recommend the Walatta house.
Kind regards
Walter Kläy

Date of stay: February 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Mar 2020
Dear Walter
Thank you for coming and for your kind review.
Hopefully we can welcome you back one day.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baruncell...
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place like a fairy tale :)”
Reviewed 16 February 2020 for a stay in February 2020

Perfect place like a fairy tale :).

First of all, the amazing The Walatta House team. Very nice people who show that they love their work. They do everything they see in your eyes and nothing is a problem.
Madhura is an amazing cook. He would really be a celebrity in Europe, thanks to what he can do. Perfect tastes, all from quality ingredients. His traditional Sri Lankan curry was the best we have ever eaten. At the same time Italian Linguine perfect and absolutely authentic. Finally, the most important thing for me: When I heard my heartburn during my stay… Madhura had no problem to start cooking my diet food .. Steamed rice, steamed vegetables, steamed fish .. everything perfect and tasty. And that saved my stay because unfortunately I suffer from heartburn. When I once wanted the same thing in our country (Czech Republic), it was a big problem to make this diet: D. They looked at me like a fool that I didn't want another fried and spicy food…: D But not here. Madhura was perfect and really did what I wanted. Although my English is at a very poor level. That's why I translated via google translator and I wrote SMS to Madhura :). That was all right for him, too. At the same time, he continued to cook to my boyfriend without diet. so my boyfriend could enjoy all of Madhura's culinary art.

The rest of the Walatta House team made us feel more like a fairy tale. At the same time, they were very unobtrusive so that they would not disturb our rest. At night, the night watchman guarded and in the morning personally set up a room for the day and in the evening they set up mosquito nets. Above all, we got in touch with a very nice person named Surunga. Very cheerful and pleasant person with whom it was a pleasure to communicate with our bad English. Next to him were two other helpers who were helping with everything. At the same time, they were really unobtrusive not to disturb our rest.

Thanks to their care, I felt like a princess. :) Thank you very much again for everything.

My boyfriend went with Madhura to the market to see how Madhura buys fresh ingredienst. Madhura knows how to buy the freshest fish and seafood directly from small fishermen on the coast. He doesn't take anything from the stinking markets, he takes pasta from Italy… he buys vegetables
in organic quality and I have to confirm that I have never eaten such good vegetables. :)

As for the house, it is the perfect house that is in complete symbiosis with nature. Everything looks natural and very comfortable. The pool is beautiful and you will really swim in it and the best is finally, the beach below the house is breathtaking and can swim there beautifully.

Well just great big experience really like a fairy tale .. :)

Thank you very much for everything! :)

Date of stay: February 2020
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for coming to stay and for your kind and thorough review. Madura and the team really enjoyed looking after you. Pleas come back soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui G
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“best beach house i stayed”
Reviewed 9 January 2020 for a stay in December 2019
1
person found this review helpful

It is really amazing - i am used to booked nice houses arround the world but this one is really 5 stars - the house it self .
But also the location, the beach, the staff, the food, the company that takes care of the payments etc - everything is just so professional.
The place is really quiet. You have all this wild birds etc
We are already planing to go back next year !!!
Thank you all

Date of stay: December 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Jan 2020
Hi, wow!....thank you for your kind and generous review. It means a lot to all of the team and we really hope you can come back soon.
Have an amazing 2020
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polepole
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third time visit”
Reviewed 10 October 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

This year we came for the third time within the last four years - and again enjoyed this extraordinary place. Besides the amazing location also the stuff around the cook and property manager Maduro is just wonderful. We have been welcomed warmly like having coming home. At any time they did their best to make our family happy and helped us to have a relaxing and peaceful stay.
We especially like the privacy of Walatta House and the beautyful beach which is directly accessable from the property.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Oct 2019
Thank you so much for returning with us and also for your kind review. We are really lucky to have the team we do led by Madura - we appreciate them - and I am so glad that he continues to host our guests with such natural hospitality and attention. Hopefully we can welcome you back a 4th time.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.