We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i felt like home”
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2015

excelent acomodations , best location you can get, and a 5 star service ... all the team make their best to make you feel like home .
i got a private room witch was really confortable , air conditioning and confortable beds.
acces to tours and other activities right on the front desk where you will be taken care by the one and only srcoop.
at night there is a bar with one of the best partys on the island.

Room Tip: private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Orlando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

I would not recommend staying here. The staff is friendly and the hostel is in a good location, but those are the only good things I can say about Tungara. We had to ask for sheets and make our beds ourselves, and myself and 8 other travellers were covered in bug bites when we woke up. We were awoken by mice one night, and did not have our room cleaned at all in 4 days. There were dirty razor blades on the ground of our patio, and it was overall a very dirty place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

What a awesome place!! I felt as it was my home! The rooms are clean and beds are very good, there is big clean bathrooms inside the dorms. Rooms getting cleaned every day. There is aircondicion and free coffee all day long, and do it yourself pancake mix for breakfast. The kitchen is very big and has every imaginable kitchen stuff, the big fridges. And is cleaned many"times daily. The staff is very helpful and made the stay even nicer !!! Thanks guys ❤

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
Thank Milichili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The hostal is in the Center and the pups and restaurant are arount it. the wifi is free and the rooms are clean. They have a nice balcony with fluffy pillows. The staff there are very helpfull and they have also a own bar.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I stayed at Tungara for about a week. It was the cleanest $10 hostel by far, and really welcoming. Great location, had a room that looked out on the balcony and park. Really nice staff as well. My only complaint would have been the lack of hot water, but it was so warm in Bocas anyways that that rarely bothered me :P

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 km away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Coconut Hostel
Coconut Hostel
#15 of 45 in Bocas Town
171 reviews
6.8 km away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#1 of 53 in Isla Colon
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 45 in Bocas Town
249 reviews
0.3 km away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#9 of 45 in Bocas Town
22 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: S$17 - S$19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calipso Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing