We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El mejor en e la isla / The best one in the island ”
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed 10 days in bocas del toro and i slept in 4 different hostel . Calipso is absolutely the best . Big rooms , super clean , the kitchen fully furnished and the have a really good breakfast included . The Italian owners are always helpfully and friendly , they know everything about the islands . I ll be back for sure . The location it's perfect ( they are in the main street )



Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a night there and got bitten so heavily that it is starting to ruin my vacation. Everything is dirty and rundown, no soap in the bathroom and the shower curtain was broken. There is no real common area, just a hallway and a narrow balcony. They left the AC on only during the nights, so during daytime there is no way to spend some time in the hostel. The windows are wooden and can't be properly closed allowing all sorts if insects in.
The location was perfect though.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A pretty average hostel. We paid $30 for a private room with AC with breakfast included (2 pancakes and coffee) which was cheaper than most other hostels in the area. There was nothing special about the hostel but we didnt have any problems while staying there. The room was clean, the AC worked, and the bed was comfortable! The only slightly annoying thing was that we were not allowed access to the AC remote, the person at reception had the remote so if you wanted the temperature changed you had to walk all the way down to the front desk, but it wasnt THAT big of a deal. The hostel does not enforce quite hours after a certain time so we did have a group of people drinking and talking loudly on the balcony late at night. Nice place, would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The hostel is ideally located, has a nice balcony to chill and small but comfortable dorms with AC during the night.
The staff is friendly but the kitchen is small and generally too dirty.
I guess a good choice in Bocas.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnyoHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends had an incident with the management. The owners treated us inpatiently, talked rudely to us and treated us with no respect at all, practically threw us out of the hostel only for us talking with them and trying to talk with logic to them. Not even talking about the room ! Suffocating room, smells like Moll. The toilet is definitely not senitary. STAY AWAY !!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calipsohostelbocas, Proprietario at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Lior! First of all you I think you forgot mentioning that you,Shir and Noa, came to check-in , see the room and paid for 4 nights. You used the "not senitary" bathroom, left all your luggage inside the room and hanged up your clothes everywhere. Then you left. You came after one hour telling us that you wanted to check-out and that you wanted you money back. Usually, like everywhere, when you pay and receive the receipt, there's no money devolution. We tried to be polite and explained you that you couldn't be totally refunded, also because, meanwhile you were hanging around Bocas, others people wanted to check-in in the room and we refused them because you already paid. We gave you back all the money except 5$ each, that seems to us reasonable, but for you this wasn't enough. However,thank you for your rapid stay and we hope that our room has been enough comfortable for using it as a luggage storage.
Goodbye
Sofia and Etienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 km away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Coconut Hostel
Coconut Hostel
#15 of 45 in Bocas Town
171 reviews
6.8 km away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 53 in Isla Colon
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 45 in Bocas Town
249 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.3 km away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#9 of 45 in Bocas Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: $17 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calipso Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing