We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
110
60
24
11
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
60
24
11
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes the kitchen the main street stayed days nice balcony breakfast included would stay again hostel ac bocas island chill
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a night there and got bitten so heavily that it is starting to ruin my vacation. Everything is dirty and rundown, no soap in the bathroom and the shower curtain was broken. There is no real common area, just a hallway and a narrow balcony. They left the AC on only during the nights, so during daytime there is no way to spend some time in the hostel. The windows are wooden and can't be properly closed allowing all sorts if insects in.
The location was perfect though.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A pretty average hostel. We paid $30 for a private room with AC with breakfast included (2 pancakes and coffee) which was cheaper than most other hostels in the area. There was nothing special about the hostel but we didnt have any problems while staying there. The room was clean, the AC worked, and the bed was comfortable! The only slightly annoying thing was that we were not allowed access to the AC remote, the person at reception had the remote so if you wanted the temperature changed you had to walk all the way down to the front desk, but it wasnt THAT big of a deal. The hostel does not enforce quite hours after a certain time so we did have a group of people drinking and talking loudly on the balcony late at night. Nice place, would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGA71, Propietario at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

we have a new AC remote for all rooms now, we work everyday for a be better Hostel, thanks for your comments, your comments help us .
We will be pleased to receive youa gain as you deserve,

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The hostel is ideally located, has a nice balcony to chill and small but comfortable dorms with AC during the night.
The staff is friendly but the kitchen is small and generally too dirty.
I guess a good choice in Bocas.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnyoHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGA71, Propietario at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

thanks for your comments, we are working in be better!, we have a new administration now, we are renovating all building.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends had an incident with the management. The owners treated us inpatiently, talked rudely to us and treated us with no respect at all, practically threw us out of the hostel only for us talking with them and trying to talk with logic to them. Not even talking about the room ! Suffocating room, smells like Moll. The toilet is definitely not senitary. STAY AWAY !!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calipsohostelbocas, Proprietario at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hi Lior! First of all you I think you forgot mentioning that you,Shir and Noa, came to check-in , see the room and paid for 4 nights. You used the "not senitary" bathroom, left all your luggage inside the room and hanged up your clothes everywhere. Then you left. You came after one hour telling us that you wanted to check-out and that you wanted you money back. Usually, like everywhere, when you pay and receive the receipt, there's no money devolution. We tried to be polite and explained you that you couldn't be totally refunded, also because, meanwhile you were hanging around Bocas, others people wanted to check-in in the room and we refused them because you already paid. We gave you back all the money except 5$ each, that seems to us reasonable, but for you this wasn't enough. However,thank you for your rapid stay and we hope that our room has been enough comfortable for using it as a luggage storage.
Goodbye
Sofia and Etienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The rooms are gross, the bedsheets is full of stains ,kitchen is full of bags. To say that the owners are rude is an understatement, they are thieves.
I would recommend you to sleep in the street then in calipso hostel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calipsohostelbocas, Proprietario at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi Shir! You can read what I wrote to your friend Lior, so I think that there's nothing else to explain. However,I repeat, before booking for 4 nights, you saw the all hostel,kitchen and rooms...so it's pretty evident that you are writing only lies about us. Fortunately the people that read the reviews aren't so stupid to believe in these things.
Enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews