We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient budget hotel”
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #21 of 721 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

There were 3 things we were looking for in a hotel to stay in Delhi:

• Central location
• Close to a Metro
• Within our budget - Maximum of Rs.2500/night
• Clean and comfortable (No frills expected)
And wood castle satisfied all our requirements well.

Duration of Stay: Mar 24, 2012 – March 26, 2012 (2 nights)
Location: Very convenient. It was a 10 min walk from the Karol Bagh metro station. If you're planning to go around Delhi on your own which is what we did, this is very useful as Karol Bagh is well connected.

Rooms and Service: Good. We checked in after a 20 hour flight from Isle of Man. As you can expect we were battered. The guy in the reception was really courteous in offering us some hot tea when we arrived. They showed us our room and tea was brought to our room in 5 mins. The room itself was small but was very well structured. It had a comfortable double bed, LCD TV, fridge, wardrobe, A/c, table and chair. We booked a deluxe double room

There were 3 problems we had with the room.
1. There was no window in the room (room no 201 or 210 I think). On check out we were told that the super deluxe rooms had a window.
2. The wash basin tap in the bathroom was horrid - it was so high up that every time I opened it, water sprayed on me.
3. The hot & cold water dint quite mix well in the wash basin tap and I ended up burning myself a bit (literally not burning, but it was really hot and my hands were burning for sometime)

Breakfast & Morning Tea: Excellent. We tried their Indian breakfast (Aloo Parathas with curd &pickle) on day one and absolutely loved it. We ordered morning tea on all days, even 5:45 am on one day which was promptly delivered in 10 mins

Help with local sightseeing: Poor. On the first day, they offered to book us a car for our trips around Delhi. We told the staff that we were planning to do it by metro and autos if necessary. The staff offered us a map but beyond that they were not very helpful in guiding us on how to go about etc. We asked them a couple of questions on how to get to some of the local attractions using metro and they said they dint have an idea, which was quite weird considering they are in the tourist industry and couldn’t guide us to the touristy attractions. On our last day, we asked them the rate for taxi to the New Delhi train station and it was triple the price of an auto. So in the end we caught an auto near the Karol Bagh station, asked him to wait for 10 mins at the hotel and ended up taking the same auto to the station. The New Delhi station is about 5-6 kms from the hotel and takes about 20-30 mins (depending on traffic of course)

Room Tip: Only super delux rooms have windows, delux ones dont. So if your particular about this, ask the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank capri_kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 748 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

The wood Castle was a great jump off point for the 2 month vacation i was starting. Spent 3 or 4 nights there. From start to finish everything worked out great. They were waiting outside the terminal when i arrived with a sign easy to see. After the ride from the airport by a driver that was very nice, i arrived at the hotel to meet my travel companion. In the morning we had breakfast which was included with our room. we chose the Indian breakfast sense we were in India. it was great and it is also at that moment i feel in love with Marsala tea. They make it the best. they were also very helpful in giving us helpful hints on where to go and things to avoid including scams. We got a cab a few times through wood castle and they were always right on time and with a smiling face. Everyone at the hotel was happy to help or even sit in the restaurant/ lobby and just chat. The hotel seems to be out of the tourist area a little but with the metro very close and things within walking distance. (a little but of a walk but gives you a chance to see the city). All and all i would recommend this place for someone who is visiting Delhi. book in advance as it sometimes gets full and i do also recommend having them pick you up. it can sometimes be hard to find for other drivers. at least have their cell number so you can have the driver call if he needs to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Wood Castle in Dec 2011 and were very comfortable there. It was our first hotel in India and we were happy to pay that little bit extra for the cleanliness and the arranged transfers etc. However, with internet only available in reception and basic amenities, we believe the rooms are over-priced. The staff were helpful without being pushy and offered advice when we needed it. The area, Karol Bagh, is a much better option than Pahar Ganj in my opinion. By metro you can get to the station in 15mins for 16rps, the metro is very clean, modern and safe. Eat at "Suruchi" Restaurant which is nearby, excellent! A much tastier and authentic option when compared to Tempting Restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in Wood Castle for the first 3 nights of our trip India and we loved it there. Fantastic hospitality, helped us out with all our enquiries - and the food was incredible! Some of the most delicious we had in India. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and would definitely recommend it. The location is great too - walking distance to the metro where there was easy access to the rest of Delhi. The rooms were spotless, beds big and very comfy, the room was a great temperature and the shower - huge, powerful and warm.

The only reason for the 4*s instead of 5* is because our room didn't have a window although this didn't effect our stay.

Book this hotel for your stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This facility has just about all you can ask for regarding service, cleanliness, location, price and staff. Additionally, you meet multiple people staying in this facility from many countries so you get all the scoop on what to do in Delhi outside of the usual tourist spots.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 721 in New Delhi
771 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#48 of 721 in New Delhi
1,156 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 721 in New Delhi
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Star
#28 of 721 in New Delhi
1,358 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#11 of 721 in New Delhi
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $52 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing