We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, neighbourhood so so, tour operator slimeball”
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #33 of 778 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

hotel ok, reasonably clean on a street that is mud and under constant construction, seemed safe if scruffy and busy - heyho its delhi! ever present tour tout in lobby a right spiv and trust him if you dare, wave goodbye to your cash and temper

bedrooms clean ,water hot constantly, food below average, housekeeping non existant.

Number 1 on trip advisor, I am absolutely astonished

I fear staff and friends may be influencing recommendations on here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pmm24589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 988 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

absurd that this hotel is mentioned in the same breath as Radisson or Hilton.

it is a small guest house on a dark street, nothing special.

5 different prepaid taxi booths at the airport never heard of the #1 hotel and within 200 metres of the place, nobody ever heard of it..

how is it possible that the #1 hotel has no internet in the rooms?

why would they install live electrical switches / sockets that are effectively inside the shower (have a photo) that just just splashes all over the bathroom floor.

ask the owner a question and rather than answer you, they will ask you 5 questions. When you insist they answer your question they act like you were dumb for not knowing, totally smug clowns that know their own city, big deal.

the basment / reception check-in had about as much ambience as a Wal-mart or Tesco eatery and the stairs were blocked everytime I went to use them by one of the managers sitting playing with his mobile phone.

at breakfast I had an omelette that had onions in it, guess the cook figured every body likes them, I found it inedible.

if you will be in New Delhi, go to a real hotel, this place was a joke and no deal

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank numberoneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Firstly, let me start by thanking Rajesh, Mr. Singh, Santosh and Javed ( and the quite third partner of yours.. sorry, forgotten his name ). The kind of service I received during my stay was just unbelievable. The hotel is clean ( like a real castle once you enter from the narrow streets of Delhi ) staff are courteous and are more than willing to help. And Rajesh, Mr Singh, and Lalit , thanks for the fantastic party you hosted in our honour. I will cherish that for life.

Guys, believe me, these people are very generous and they don't look at this like a commercial venture.. it's more of a family atmosphere and guests can live the way they want to. My son fell sick during our stay and Rajesh and Santosh offered us to cook the kind of meals we wanted ( non-spicy, non-oily ) and only a family business does this.

Aloo parathas for breakfast was fantastic !! Still remember those.. Two of them kept me full for the whole day..

When I wanted to explore a local restaurant, these guys were on hand and advised on the kind of cuisine I wanted to eat.. Suruchi seves Rajastani, Punjabi, Gujrati and South Indian thali buffet and it is very close by.. 10 mins by peddle rickshaw. @ Rs 300 PP, it's a treat and you must visit..

I will definitely visit this place next time I am in Delhi and I highly recommend the hotel to every one of you.. You won't be disappointed... and Rajesh, thanks very much for the hospitality

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gankamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Wood Castle is a fantastic hotel. It is small and very personal and provides fantastic value. The rooms are clean, well furnished, and at a significantly better price than anything I found in Delhi. Beyond all of this, the staff are the highlight. They are incredibly helpful. friendly, and trustworthy. I have already returned once and plan to do so on my next trip through Delhi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrishrtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I loved staying at Wood Castle:
1. clean choice of accommodation
2. friendly staff
3. free BOOZE!
4. and the place itself was really awesome to begin with.
5. the food i had there was awesome

If i had a greater budget i would have stayed longer. Hope to see you all again! Tc!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick_vinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 778 in New Delhi
1,252 reviews
Wood Castle Grand
#21 of 778 in New Delhi
231 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 778 in New Delhi
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#43 of 778 in New Delhi
977 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#42 of 778 in New Delhi
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: S$49 - S$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing