We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm.”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have never stayed at this hotel but over the past 5 years I have used it on dozens of occasion for meetings, parties and hosting both formal and informal lunches and dinners. On several other occasions I have recommended the hotel to our visiting guests as this is conveniently located near to our offices. Very satisfied and no major complains.

The food and service at the hotel is top class. The grand old colonial atmosphere, the surrounding greenery, spacious grounds, lovely pool, huge old trees, peacocks wandering around...all of that is a fantastic advantage in otherwise crowded and congested Delhi.

Convenient location...The Civil Lines Metro Station is about 200 mts away (5 min walk) and trains take you to Connaught Place (city centre) in about 15 mins. The road outside the hotel has wide pavements and less traffic than usual Delhi roads....that means you can enjoy a stroll early in the mornings.

All of that comes at a very reasonable price...less than 4/5 Star prices as compared to what other Delhi hotels charge.

On the negative side... the large high ceilinged Banquet Hall (which can double as a Ball Room) has terrible acoustics. The furniture and upholstery all thru the public spaces looks tired. Maybe a bit of refurbishment is in order.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience about Maidens Hotel on Trip Advisor and liking of the Old Colonial charm of the Hotel.
Your comments will definitely inspire us to take our service to a higher lavel and achieve total guest satisfaction.

Look forward to your stay at Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 964 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

We had to find hotel quickly for two nights in New Delhi on the way to Kolkata. Even though it seems there are so many choices in New Delhi but I was having a hard time finding anything nice within our budget. You would think you could get a very nice something for around $200 but not in New Delhi, everything is either too fancy and expensive or too far away from everything like Gurgaon. We just needed a base to go sightseeing and try and see as much as we could in two days. Hotel is beautiful building, colonial architecture, but it really needs to be remodeled. All the furniture in the lobby is old and not very clean. Inside the room furniture looks like it was imported from USSR in 70s, all particle board and plastiky looking. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and they have a pool that was not heated and cold. My kids went swimming anyway. Restaurant is very small, but cozy, we had breakfast there one morning and they have nice little patio with wrought iron furniture right off the restaurant, would be pleasant if it was warm that day. I tried booking the room on Expedia and other sites but it would not let me when I put in two adults and two kids. Normally it is not a problem for most of the hotels we ever stayed unless the rooms were tiny. I called the hotel directly and they were adamant that there is no room and they have to set up one extra bed, but no more. Plus on top of already steep price ($175) they were going to charge extra for the kids. I refused. They called back within day and offered discounted rate (tiny discount) and kids stay free. So imagine my surprise when we got there and our room was not just huge it was gigantic. I can’t say how many square feet, but they could have easily put in ten queen beds and there would have been space left. Plus it was a suite with another bedroom, much smaller one. Very tall ceilings, old furniture, not very clean or maybe just old, large bathroom but did not feel like using the bath, again did not feel very clean. And dark, There is a little window in the other room but it was painted out, so you could not see outside. Room faces the hallway and hallway had nice row of windows (some of those were painted out as well). Kids ran up and down the staircases and long hallways and went out on a little balcony above main entrance. At one point there were filming the movie there with dancing and singing, so we had a great time watching that for a while. Friendly staff. Overall it was okay, but I don’t think we would go there again especially at that price. I hope there will remodel, but then we will not be able to afford it at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Maidens Hotel.We consider the guest comments gives us invaluable opportunity to learn about our short comings and take measures to upgrade our services and product to the guest satisfaction.
We have carefully gone through the comments and taken note of the points and discussed with team members to improve on those areas.
Your kind words for the staff members has been shared with all and surely this will motivate them keep up the good work.
We look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We liked this hotel for its colonial feel, good service and quiet surroundings. It is a bit out of the way but you can't really walk to anything in Delhi so that didn't really matter. We had a suite - don't know if all the rooms are suites. Fairly large sitting room, bedroom, walk in dressing room/closet and good bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilaryBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Maidens Hotel for your saty in Delhi and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you liked colonial character of the hotel , room and enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation about the services will serve as motivation to further improve and take it to a higher lavel.
Look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

we had a deluxe room . Large rooms but very dowdy and in need of update . Great location with easy access to Metro into centre of Delhi. Staff outstandingly attentive and main area attractive.
Small informal dining area for breakfast but disappointing choice on offer. Lovely pool area with bar service and a good place to unwind at the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Maidens Hotel.
Guest comment gives us very valuable inputs to improve our product and services.
Your comments about room and choice of breakfast have been shared with the concerned team members and surely we will take necessary steps to improve on these fronts.

We look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Review - Room 216
Sleep quality - Good, quiet room with no traffic noise at all and no other noise intrusion. 2 x single beds pushed together, fairly comfortable.Temperature control through air con.

Location: To me, so-so. Not in the main area, about 15 minutes taxi ride to get to the main attractions. There is very little else along the road of interest.

Facilities: Swimming pool (quite big and deep), internet (only one computer, charged for), restaurant (closed on my visit) and garden room/restaurant. This serves breakfast (OK, needs just a bit mnore variety on the buffet) Also serves all day food, western and Indian. I always found the quality and service good. Room service, which I did not try. Room has mini bar, free water, (good), TV (an oldish style, small, and the remote did not always work)

Room size is very large. High room height, and one of the largest "standard" rooms that I have seen. Bathroom size was also much bigger than normal (from the hotel floor plan, it seems that the rooms on the 2nd floor alternate with very large double size bathrooms, and smaller ones - maybe ask for one of the bigger ones!)

Public areas are nice - oldish, traditional style, good character. The bar - feels just like a chapel (maybe it used to be), strange atmosphere, in that it feels very sterile and church-like. The outdoor area is pleasant, nice garden, nice sitting area (it needs a few more lights at night, to illumite onto the tables away from the building)

Overall, nice "Indian" style, old fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments and photographs on Trip Advisor, exposing the heritage character of the hotel.
We value the guest comments as it provides us the opportunity to improve and be able to serve to our guest to their satisfaction.

Look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
11.1 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,076 reviews
6.2 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 779 in New Delhi
3,113 reviews
16.8 km away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
547 reviews
4.8 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,307 reviews
8.3 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 779 in New Delhi
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $143 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Maiden Hotel
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Hotel Maidens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing