We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #43 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We have stayed at the Taj in Mumbai, and, knowing the brand (or so we thought), excitedly made a reservation and the Vivanta by Taj. Expecting a biggish, luxury hotel, we were a little disappointed upon arrival by the rather shabby appearance. Part of this is due to the dirty outsides of the building (which may be expected in the polluted Delhi air!), but the shabbiness extended to the interior. Even the pictures on the wall were too small for the spaces they were to adorn.

On the plus side, they upgraded our room, and it had plenty of space! The staff was extremely nice and attentive, if a little uninformed. Most of the time I went to the lobby, there was no concierge. When we did speak to one late our first night, they could only suggest that we went to their big sister hotel for dinner. I guess that's the moral of the story. If you are looking to save some money by staying at this less expensive of hotels, so be it. It is plenty nice enough. But if you are looking for grandness and luxury, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi!

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused to you on account of the service lapses as indicated. I have addressed the matter with the concerned departments and have taken all corrective measures to obviate reoccurrence.

Do kindly treat this as a one-off aberration on our part and not a mark of the hospitality that we are known for. Trust these incidents in no way would dilute your otherwise favorable opinion of Taj.

Further to your comment regarding 'upkeep' has been noted. I hope you will not hold this against us and give us another opportunity to serve you again.

I do look forward to meeting you on your next visit and we will make sure you carry back better memories of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Beautiful heritage building with very comfortable and spacious rooms with a terrific big balcony that just invited you to sit and enjoy a cup of tea. The staff was courteous and resourceful and went out of their way to be of help, be it the front desk, room service, transport services, breakfast buffet or the restaurant - The Yellow Brick Road. Great food.
An enjoyable stay.
Location is great as it is very close to both New Delhi CBD (Connaught Place, Khan Market) and South Delhi.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are good. You could either have a view of Delhi roads or not, but they are all ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking out time to share the valuable feedback of your stay at the Vivanta by Taj –Ambassador, New Delhi.

I am delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. It is so inspiring for us to see that our guests have had an enjoyable stay which in itself is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. I have shared your wonderful feedback with the whole team.

The team looks forward to your return soon again to what we hope is now your home in New Delhi.

Kind regard,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

From the moment I checked in, everything was seamless and professional. I asked for a quiet room and received one at the back with no traffic noise. You didn't know you were in Delhi.
A huge bathroom, a living room and bedroom with twin beds that were so comfortable I had the best nights sleep I've had in 2 months in India. There is also a balcony.
The coffee shop does a good, European style cappuccino, strong & frothy.
Breakfast on the terrace was lovely with lots of fresh fruit, and again, good coffee.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The housekeeper saw me trying to carry my bags downstairs (My Swedish independence stopped me ringing for the bellboy) and he dropped what he was doing to carry them for me.
Checkout was fast and efficient. The hotel taxi driver told me he'd worked at the Ambassador for 30 years.
This is an old hotel with old hotel charm and very large rooms with high ceilings.
Only minus was the small elevator.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. It will always be my hotel in Delhi from now on.
Thank you staff at the Ambassador for making my stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, Rooms at the front are more picturesque overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TigerLillyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking out time to share the valuable feedback of your stay at the Vivanta by Taj –Ambassador, New Delhi.

I am delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. It is so inspiring for us to see that our guests have had an enjoyable stay which in itself is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. I have shared your wonderful feedback with the whole team.

The team looks forward to your return soon again to what we hope is now your home in New Delhi.

Kind regard,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

A comfy, well furnished hotel, full of character and characters. Manphool, Swati, the folks at the door all worked hard to make sure every need was met and thought anticipated. Walking distance to the Lodi Gardens and a stone's throw from the Khan Market. A happy place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017


Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking out time to share the valuable feedback of your stay at the Vivanta by Taj –Ambassador, New Delhi.

I am delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. It is so inspiring for us to see that our guests have had an enjoyable stay which in itself is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. I have shared your wonderful feedback with the whole team and in particular with Manphool who made such a positive difference to your experience.

The team looks forward to your return soon again to what we hope is now your home in New Delhi.

Kind regard,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and location is good.
service is very good and helpful.
i love the hotel and staffs also.
Hotel arrange cab for me for good price..........
i suugest some of my friends about the hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank surabhisa1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi!

Thank you for taking out time to share the valuable feedback of your stay at the Vivanta by Taj –Ambassador, New Delhi.

I am delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. It is so inspiring for us to see that our guests have had an enjoyable stay which in itself is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. I have shared your wonderful feedback with the whole team.

The team looks forward to your return soon again to what we hope is now your home in New Delhi.

Kind regard,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Claridges New Delhi
#39 of 779 in New Delhi
2,330 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 779 in New Delhi
3,125 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#12 of 779 in New Delhi
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,318 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $188 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing