We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VERY BEST PLACE TO STAY IN DELHI!!!”
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanti Home
Ranked #5 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Shanti home after flying 16 hours from New York City and were greeted by the lovely staff and shown to our perfect room! The hotel is such an oasis in the craziness of Delhi!!! I just love this hotel because of the amazing staff and beautiful rooms. The restaurant on the roof was perfect! It actually had some of the best food in all of India! I will always come back to the Shanti Home whenever I am traveling to India! I will never forget this lovely hotel and all of the wonderful people who work there!! My husband and I travel all over the world and this hotel will go down on our list of FAVORITES!!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jenniferperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 669 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews.

We were a bit taken aback by the location when we arrived. And as with all hotels in India (sadly) we were wary on arrival.

But it was wonderful!! we stayed for 4 days and then returned for a further three days at the end of our holiday. And at the end of both stays we didnt want to leave! The level of service was second to none in all departments.

The hotel organised a taxi city tour for us which was fantastic taking in everything we wanted to see and included some things that they recommended.

The rooftop restaurant was magical and one of the highlights of our holiday. We stayed in some top class hotels in India but this compact boutique hotel would be somewhere we would definately return.

Above all you this is a hotel where you can really trust the staff and in India that counts for a lot.

In summary the location isnt great but the staff make up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toulousebrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Wash room stinky due to sewage back up.
No safety excape routes, conjusted in locality.
Higer charges of four star rates in bad locality.
Robbed us on dollar conversion, pay us 10% less than rate.

Room Tip: Go for hotels which are in good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank npcanada_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We found the Shanti to be comfortable with truly excellent staff. When reading through the reviews its the staff that are given a lot of recognition and we agree with that 100%. The location is good with access to a metro line and of course theres always the taxi. We did have some difficulty finding the place, taxi driver had no idea where it was nor did local tuk tuk drivers so perhaps an opportunity to place a larger sign. The room we had was small though adequate and we found it to be noisy, being close to a major road there was noise until after midnight and again early the next morning. Breakfast was simple but well prepared.
We felt the value was OK but not good, if it were a $100 option it would be good value however that was not the case. Again a good option for a none hotel type accomodation, cozy with great staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our first stay in Delhi and we did find this a haven and have returned since. The staff were extremely helpful, with good english, prompt reply on the e-mail at booking and with queries. They could not have done more throughout our stay.

We stayed in rooms called Bollywood and Bombay talkies, the rooms were clean and well appointed but a little dingy and the bathroom could have done with upgrading. The bed was large, the sheets clean and we had a comfortable nights sleep.

The rooftop restaurant was a real find, with good food, prompt helpful service and fun watching the tandoori chef in action. The concise menu meant that everything was done well and ensured freshness. The alcohol is expensive though.

Whilst it is not the fault of the hotel, the location is rather choice! Do not attempt to walk to the metro alone the first time, the market will literally hit you in the face - every sense is tested - be warned. Previous reports of the walk through the street market are true - every word of them. Please do accept the offer of the escort to the metro station on day one!

There is free Wifi throughout and access to a printer. Staff were very kind in helping us with onward bookings, taxi collections and drop-offs.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to western travellers looking for a clean, well-maintained, friendly small hotel in Delhi.

Room Tip: We were upgraded without request to Bollywood and Bombay talkies, they were both good - no complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamWiseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
9.6 km away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
378 reviews
12.8 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,916 reviews
5.1 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#13 of 715 in New Delhi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
1,137 reviews
20.8 km away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,830 reviews
15.5 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A - 1/300 | Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $128 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing