We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, poor food and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent service, poor food and accomodation”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Service is superb, the staff actually anticipate you needs however the accommodation is poor with televisions20 to30 years old, dodgy heating and too much dust.

The food is poor, we wondered if it is too much to bring food up the mountains so local sparse fare is presented, ask for bacon at breakfast and you will receive one strip at about 1cm wide. Not a five star hotel I am afraid

Room Tip: Stay elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your review of your hotel on TripAdvisor.

Following your observation regarding the sparse fare, we have increased the local fare on our dinner buffets and included cooked bacon and chicken sausages on our breakfast buffet. I assure you that comfort and satisfaction of our guest is foremost in our operative guidelines.

Feedback from our guests helps us in improving our product and services. I look forward tothe pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    238
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
497
635
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

As part of our tour of India we travelled by train to Shimla for 5 days. We stayed at the OBEROI CECIL. We had a wonderful time with excellent views from our balcony. The service and food was excellent and I cannot recommend too highly. The only negative point is that there are no outside sitting areas to enjoy to February sunshine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation is generous and motivating. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is elegant and comfortable in "the old style". Service is just amazing. We had a few minor problems with our room and I had hardly replaced the phone after ringing reception when 3 staff members arrived at the door - one for each little problem. That's service! Rooms are large and comfortable with amazing views on the higher floors. Food is excellent and after a day's sightseeing what better place to relax than in the pool and spa?

Room Tip: obviously the ground floor rooms at the front don't have the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that my team reacted quickly to rectify the issues faced by you and that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you bck.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toulouse
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wow wow wow!!!

Amazing hotel in a magical location.

Stayed here for two days and yes it is expensive but it is wonderful. The rooms on all floors surround the bar area and the hotels design is quite beautiful.

Restaurant both for the buffet and the a la carte was excellent.

Swimming pool and gym very good.

Just a shame that we only discovered the kids games room half an hour before we left!

Room Tip: I dont think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toulousebrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have noted that you were not aware of the Children's Activity Centre till thelast day. I will try and include it in the initial welcoming process. Your feedback is motivating and allows us to constantly improve our processes.

We look forward to welcoming you bck.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a very expensive place but worth every penny. It is not a very large property, but has a very attentive and friendly staff with most amenities. You can spend time in the pool while admiring the beauty of the Himalayas as your kids spend time at the kids' area assured that there is always someone to take care of them. Our kids, 7 and 2, were welcomed to the hotel with cookies with their names written in chocolate on them - best way to make parents delighted is to win over the heart of the kids! Rooms are good, the breakfast is fabulous what with the great views (see the photograph)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with value for the money paid. Your appreciation of the staff and facilities is generous and we accept it in humility.

We thank you for sparing time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
2.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 113 in Shimla
1,070 reviews
8.9 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
2.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 113 in Shimla
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
2.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 113 in Shimla
799 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 113 in Shimla
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): $287 - $763
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing