We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best.”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely large room with separate bathroom and a both a settee area and a writing desk. Free daily newspaper, TV, great views over Shimla. Excellent food, reasonable choice of food, service above average though not excellent.Very friendly helpful staff.Very close to the Mall of Shimla. Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shimla and graced our hotel with your presence.
We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us.
I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Myself and my wife and our two children stayed for three nights at Clarke's Hotel in April. We wanted somewhere with some character and history as opposed to an expensive plastic palace . Clarke's was exactly that. The lovely smell of jasmine filled this old hotel.

The staff were all excellent and friendly. The service was excellent. We ate for dinner for each of our three nights as the food was very good and the advice and service was wonderful: we wanted to eat Indian and local food, and the staff advised us on the menu. Our rooms were very spacious and clean with big beds.

The hotel is well placed at the end of the mall. This was Mr. Oberoi's first hotel and apparently he holds affection for it. We thought the hotel offered good value for money: you can pay a lot more in Shimla and you can pay a lot less, but if you want somewhere with some style, that is comfortable and with some character and history, Clarke's is a good hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohanPendarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shimla and graced our hotel with your presence.
We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us.
I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Clarks and really enjoyed walking around the town. The hotel building looks its age which we thought added to the charm, it felt like walking into a 1930s English house with very few alterations. Staff were excellent, rooms were of very good size, breakfast was as per our choice and the location is perfect. Although it was still winter time we felt cozy enough however we wondered if there would be enough heat if it were December and snowing. The one opportunity was the internet connectivity which was down for our 4 night stay due to a mixture of weather and lack of technical knowledge, more the latter we felt.
By way of caution, be careful should you decide to walk to the Jokhar temple which is the home to a tribe of monkeys that are very aggresive, they will approach you and will take things from your pockets or glasses from your face.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shimla and graced our hotel with your presence.
We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us.
I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

When I saw the hotel's age, I can't imagine how it will look and smell like. But to my surprise, even though it was old, it was cleaner than the new hotels we've been to. It was cozy and everyone was just nice! This place didn't have any elevator but they will carry your luggage for you. Our package included all our meals, and even though we left at 2am, they asked us in advance and packed our breakfast for us! What I also liked about this place is when I asked them to make my room for me, there was a person assigned to make your bed and get you clean towels and there was another one to collect your trash and another one to clean your bathroom! Just to show how particular they are with hygiene! Plus, this hotel is just along Mall road, so it was really convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunnyb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shimla and graced our hotel with your presence.
We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us.
I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had traveled from Delhi to Shimla by road, reaching Shimla was a breeze and the best part was that we got a snowy welcome (The first snowfall of the season) as soon as we entered Shimla.
Our hotel was on the mall road and the rooms had a great view of the hill side. We stayed there from the 6th to the 8th of Feb. All though a heritage property since 1898, this hotel is well maintained and the staff are very professional in their approach.
During check in we were welcomed by Mr.Maninder Singh (Not the famous spin baller) and his colleague at the front office. We had occupied nos: 44 and 48. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy. Bathrooms were clean with all the required amenities, the only thing missing was a bidet/health faucet.
The tariff was inclusive of a complimentary breakfast. The buffet breakfast had the right balance of vegetarian and non-vegetarian items. We were well attended by Mr.George and Mr.Subash at the restaurant.
There was a good selection of drinks at the bar, to warm it up before we hit the Mall in the cold weather, to sum it up we had a great time at this place especially when we we got a snowy welcome in Shimla and a warm welcome at the Clarkes hotel in Shimla.
Hope they keep up the good work and look forward to coming back once more.

Room Tip: Try and choose rooms facing the Mall road, rather than the High court side. Smoking is not permitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunilsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. I am personally very glad that you enjoyed the snowfall here at Shimla and graced our hotel with your presence.

We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us. I will definately extend your praises to these staff members for an exceptional job done.

I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
2.0 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
1.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 115 in Shimla
1,081 reviews
0.3 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 115 in Shimla
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#19 of 115 in Shimla
500 reviews
2.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#15 of 115 in Shimla
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: $160 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing