We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but no WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Ranked #97 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed 14 November 2009

I was lucky to find a special internet offer that included a discounted rate + breakfast + airport pickup. I arrived at the hotel at about 9 in the morning and early check-in was possible. I was asked to wait for 15 minutes, while I received a complimentary welcome drink. Both the room and the bathroom were big enough and the prices from the mini bar were very good. The only downside of this hotel is the lack of Wifi. Internet was available only via LAN cable and the way they were charging for it was completely stupid... 3 hours for RS 200. The thing is that the 3 hours had to be used at a time... not very practical... and annoying if you travel on business.
The location is good, just 2 minutes of walking from Juhu Beach, but very far from other places (eg Gateway of India, Hanging Gardens, Marine Drive etc).
If you find a special promo or something, then it is really worth staying here, disregarding the WiFi problem.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutzanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

Our room was not renovated. We were not given an option to stay in a renovated room. There was mildew or mold on the vents for the fan and all thru the bathroom. The bathroom was very small. You had to step into the shower to close the door. The toilet and sink were only accessible if the bathroom door was closed.
The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear Guest,

We have gone through your Review on Trip Advisor and Apologize that you were allotted an Un-Renovated Room. More than 80% of our Rooms have been Upgraded and Renovated, and the balance are also undergoing Upgradation and Renovation. Please do accept our Apologizes for the Inconvenience caused and wish to assure you that we would take more care whilst allotting Rooms to our Guests in future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Though we arrived late at night, there was a complete staff to help us. The lobby is nothing special, the outside and entrance are not so much either. The bathroom is large, BRIGHT and very clean by Indian standards. The room is comfortable, with a minibar / fridge, and an electric tea kettle. The service at this hotel is the best we found at any of the four hotels we stayed in in 3 cities in India. The service starts at the hotel airport pick-up, and continues through check out. The hallways and lifts are very small, and in need of an update, but this hotel is all about the service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I come to Mumbai regularly and been stayingin different Hotels,. But this hotel is one of the best. I was impressed about the cleanliness of the hotel and how kind was the duty MAnager and the staff. I would recommend this hotel. The hotel s very well located. Beaches shopping centeres etc. Most important is that you can communicate in ENglish with anyone as all the staff undertsand staff and talk n English

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank careemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Not impressed

I stayed at this Hotel to spend nice time with the family.
I felt the hotel was high priced for what they offer. Rooms were small and not impressive.
There are other nicer hotels on the same road. Service was not that great.
I think this hotel is just capitalizing on the Corporate name.
In sort it is overpriced and cramped. Needs lot of renovation.
They could be more customer friendly and provide better service to their clients.
Not impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DipakToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

We thank Mr, Dipak for his valuable feedback of our Hotel, but would like to bring to his kind attention that the Hotel is undergoing Extensive Renovation and Refurbishment. This process has been on the past 2 years and should be completed by end of this year. The Rooms at our Hotel are Standard size as set out by the Department of Tourism in India, We have upgraded about 70% of the Rooms in the Hotel.

We invite Mr. Dipak to stay with us once again on his next trip to India and we are sure that he would have a wonderful Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#71 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
467 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#94 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
852 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#117 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nirvana Residences By 1589 Hotel...
#78 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
32 reviews
Andheri West/Versova
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartments
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#119 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
49 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#83 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu , Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Hotel Best Western Mumbai
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Best Western Hotel Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing