We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee!”
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were sorry to only have one night in this delightful hotel. Conveniently located, clean and welcoming, this hotel had all the modern conveniences with plenty of old world charm. We were particularly grateful to Indu Singh who went beyond the call of duty to help us with our travel plans, but all of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Another plus was the excellent coffee, which generally seems hard to get hold of in India.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meghniwas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 344 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

I travelled with two friends, just staying in Jaipur for one night. We had originally tried to book Jasvilas but as it was full they recommended Meghniwas (next door, same family) and we were delighted with it. Yes, it's not a 5* with all the associated trappings but we actually preferred it in many ways to the 3 5*s that we stayed in...

The airport pick-up was fine but don't be alarmed if they put your cases on the roof - this seems normal there. First impression: the gardens are beautiful, lots of lovely seating around the pool and a very welcome tea in a beautiful silver pot/coffee (proper stuff in a cafetiere!) was served whilst we waited for our room (we arrived early).

They gave us the suite as we were 3 sharing which was lovely (2 sofas, desk, chairs, dressing table etc.). Lots of cool marble and nice but subtle locally-inspired decor. Bathroom was large and shower was very good. Beds were comfortable (v large double + extra good-size bed which was fine for an adult), everything was clean, and the character and garden views make up for the odd scuff mark/faded patch.

We had lunch in the restaurant before heading out. There was some good veggie options and the samosas were particularly nice. It wasn't anything to write home about but it was flavoursome and excellent value.

Mrs Singh made the place very special with her warm, relaxed and helpful nature. She arranged a car to take us around the sights of Jaipur and a driver to take us to Agra upon departure, both of which were reasonably priced. She also helped us to get a rickshaw in the evening and went to lots of effort to ensure we were comfortable. The location was great for us, just 10 minutes to the centre/old city but far enough out to be really quiet and away from the hussle and bustle of the centre.

A few little niggles (there are always some with me) but these are just suggestions for improvement/expectation-managers rather than anything that should put you off:

The room was a little chilly, we were staying in their winter and the electric heater did the job (I understand that some of the rooms have AC units which also provide heating) but do take some good pyjamas if staying there in winter (although I bet it would be beautifully cool in the summer); would have been nice to have some conditioner in the bathroom; the dog was beautiful but barked a lot whilst we were sitting outside; breakfast buffet was good but not the best and there wasn't much choice for my vegan friend.

Overall, we were delighed with this find, and with the price. We were sad to only have one night there and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an AC heater if you stay in the winter. Room 210 was large and very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We loved our stay at Meghniwas in 2007 so when we were back in Rajasthan it was an obvious choice for our re-visit to Jaipur. A telephone ahead from Jaisalmer secured a room at a very good rate & we were not disappointed when we arrived. It was early and Mrs Singh was very helpful in letting us check in early & honouring the rate given to me over the phone!

The room at the rear of the hotel was exceptionally clean with TV, ensuite facilities, a small fridge, tea & coffee making facilities & quiet air-conditioning. It also had a nice balcony overlooking the pool.

We found the owners & the staff to be very helpful & obliging. Instead of the full buffet breakfast we were able to go a la carte which suited us fine. Both the indoor restaurant & the tables outside by the pool were delightful. The garden was lovely for afternoon tea or a beer and if you were lucky you got to spot monkeys playing on neighbouring roofs!

The clean pool was a haven from the heat and there was always a stack of pool towels for guests to use. We used it each day.

While there were not many taxis outside the hotel there were always autos [tuk tuks] but you need to knock down the price they initially quote. If they declined to play ball a simple walk down the road would attract others who would meet your price!

There were no restaurants within walking distance of the hotel but the autos were always available for a ride into the city centre which did not take long. Likewise there was always transport available for the return journey. A very short ride from the Meghniwas is the expensive Royal Orchid Hotel which had 2 excellent restaurants: a rooftop Chinese one & an Indian one on the first floor. Both were affordable with excellent food & service

An added bonus was a large supermarket just a short stroll from the hotel which was well stocked with most items anybody would need & it was open to around 10pm every day. As the hotel room had a small fridge we were able to buy our sodas, juices, etc here and serve them up ice cold when we needed them! There were a few ATMs also within easy walking distance of the hotel. For the more adventurous a stroll down the local roads would lead to finds of an inexpensive laundry service, other small grocery stores, internet shops.

I hate to recommed this hotel so highly as it means that when I next want to stay there it will either be full, or its popularity will have led to increased room rates!! My daugther on a visit to Jaipur a month later was equally impressed by the hotel, its owners, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear can be quieter. Check out for one with a balcony Ask to see a few before decidin...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel Meghniwas
After Arriving in India for the first time and braving the chaos of Delhi with its hotel room with no window, we wondered what we had come to. Had we really made the right decision on this kind of adventure? Was India going to be too much for us? The culture and poverty was a huge shock . We had seen it on TV but we still did not expect what reality brought us.
Then we arrived in Jaiphur, we couldn’t believe this little piece of paradise. It was an Oasis of Indian charm. The large detached private house is set back from the main road and is situated in its own lush grounds. It has been converted into a beautiful hotel, run by Colonel Singh and his wife. Away from the hustle and bustle, this hotel was just what we wanted. The pool was very clean and well kept, making it a cool welcome after a day of hot dusty sightseeing. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, well prepared, fresh and very good value. The whole ambiance of the place was very relaxing and friendly, allowing us to wind down and enjoy our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were always on hand with good help and advice. They were always immaculately dressed and polite.
I was also fascinated by the artwork being undertaken while we were staying at the hotel. Traditional hand painted boarders, cornices and walls had painstakingly been done with the most beautiful precision
Transport was easily arranged as taxi and tut tut drivers were always waiting at the bottom of the driveway to show us round Jaipur for a small fee. Fees are to be negotiated before the journey with the driver
This had to be our favorite hotel during out trip to India in 2008 and we have just booked to return this year with our daughter.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the pool was quiet and had a lovely view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GThistlethwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December, location is ok, rooms are big ,the facilities and toiletry do not commensurate with the rent charged , which is on the higher side .Not a value for money as per Jaipur standards.

Road facing rooms are noisy, although there was lot of sun in the lawn in december. Food is ok, a bit bland for Indians, ok for foriegners.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms to be selected
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rastyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.5 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
4.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
694 reviews
9.9 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 383 in Jaipur
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
846 reviews
1.8 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,586 reviews
0.3 km away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 383 in Jaipur
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: $75 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing