We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I stayed there long time ago with my friends. Very reasonable considering pretty descent sized rooms and good food. Their suit is on the top floor with a unhindered view of the mountains. Location is 10 minutes climb up to the mall road.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank vivekindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

I've been here with my friends in june , hotel people are very courteous and are ready to help at any given point of time, beautiful tibeten decoration in rooms, the best thing about hotel is there food, they have class taste and we booked the hotel on MAP plan and guess what a lovely dialogue took our heart, (sir jitna khana h kha lijiye baki chord dijiye) just like our mom say to us at our home, will definitely recommend this hotel , the only bad thing is WiFi, I expect WiFi but even restaurant have the bad WiFi ..it should b there.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Manish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We stayed at Hotel Seven Seventeen for 6 nights before and after our trek. The rooms are basic but comfortable as half of the rooms offer a fantastic view over Darjeeling and the surrounding mountains.

The breakfast at the hotel restaurant is very good as we ate dinner there on a few occasions as the quality and choice is as good as mainly of the nearby restaurants. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and the owners especially went out of there way to ensure all guests were comfortable and happy. The rooms were a little loud at times due to thin walls but we still slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust21222015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The hotel gives you a very Tibetan ethnic place look, with all the decoration , interior designing done very well and maintained. The rooms were clean and gave you a royal feeling. We had the suite booked and i tell you it will give you the feeling of a king and queen from the Tibetan Era. The room had beautiful painting and the colour of the walls was so enchanting. I would highly recommend you to book the suite. I was there with family and had a great stay.

Food served was in good taste and room service was also up to the mark.


PROS: Very near to the mall road and shopping place.
CONS: The road towards the hotel is very small and the car parking makes it difficult to walk

Room Tip: Suite - its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Born_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Impressed by the series of good reviews, I had booked hotel 717 for our family trip to Darjeeling (March 28 -31, 2015). We were simply over whelmed by the hospitality shown by the hotel owner. I must admit that Mrs Bhutia is so caring and concerned about all the boarders, it is unlikely to be experienced in any other hotel. A devout Budhdhist, her philosophical understanding and ideas about life makes her company memorable to anyone who spends time with her. I must appreciate the colourful Tibetan decor which speaks high of the aesthetic sense of the owners. The boutique shop she runs has a beautiful collection of gift items and the things are priced very reasonably. Food at the restaurant is also quite good. We stayed at Room No 301& 302. The rooms are very cozy and offers a wonderful view of Kanchenjungha, provided the sky is clear. The Singalila range borders the view across the window. Locationally, it just a 5 min walk up to Mall and few steps down to Chowk Bazar. We had a wonderful stay at 717 thanks to all the staff of the hotel, particularly madam. Last but not the least our driver Lama da ( Hari Lama) added to the pleasure of our trip. We would love to come and stay at 717 every time we visit the Queen of Hills.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank mou17sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 100 in Darjeeling
663 reviews
0.1 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
3.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
#26 of 100 in Darjeeling
202 reviews
0.6 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $25 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing