We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Mangalam - Great find in Kolkata”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mangalam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mangalam Hotel
Ranked #129 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hotel Mangalam - Great find in Kolkata”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

In September of 2010 I spent 6 nights at Hotel Mangalam on the Sarat Bose Road near the centre of Kolkata. I am a frequent visitor to the city and am always looking for a good but economical hotel. After reading a printed review I decided to give the Mangalam a try and I was pleasantly surprised.
Booking a room was easily accomplished online and I was even able to pay for the room in advance which I found to be a great help in balancing my trip budget,
Check-in was a breeze and I was taken to a room on the top floor which faced the interesting neighborhood directly behind the hotel.
The room was an Executive-type and was spacious. There was a king-sized bed, writing desk and chair, armoir, and a small table and chair with tea maker. A refrigerator was located next to desk and broadband internet was available upon request.
Complimentary breakfast was served every morning at the Radhekrishna Restaurant on the ground floor. The breakfast was always an an excellent buffet which often featured southern Indian dishes. If I was working in my room in the morning and had not yet appeared for breakfast the staff would ring my room to remind me to come downstairs to the restaurant. I found that to be a nice touch.
Room and bathroom were always maintained and well-cleaned. Laundry service was quick and economical.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated near the Laxmi Narayan temple on Sarat Bose Road and good shopping, cinema and Metro station (Rabindra Sadan) are all within walking distance, although taxis are plentiful on this busy street.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Mangalam and look forward to staying there on my next trip to Kolkata.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
2
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

After great struggle found one reasonably good hotel in Kolkatta. Rooms were clean, TV, room service everything fine. Only problem was with breakfast. Very few items served and restaurant also didnt had many varieties for the dinner. Its comfortable to stay but not for food.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweet_Rams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

It was cold and it was almost midnight and I didn't have a place to stay. I was on a scooter, driving, looking for a place to stay. I found this hotel open and asked for a room. The manager was friendly and we negotiated a deal (a bit of a discount over published rate).

The room was clean. I had hot water for a shower. The bathroom was clean and nice. The bed was typical of Kolkata hotel; a bit thin and small. But it wasn't rock hard and it was clean. Room was quiet. Woke up and had breakfast buffet which was good and included in the room price.

Overall, it's a decent value for the mid-priced hotel. There aren't that many mid priced hotels in Calcutta. I tried to stay there for my next visit, but the hotel was completely booked.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usatrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I'm a frequent visitor to India and the only thing that bothers me in the country are the usually overpriced hotels (at least in the major cities). I've stayed in hundreds of hotels in India, so I have a bit of experience in that area. Too many hotels are a letdown.

In April 2010 I ended up at Hotel Mangalam for a 5 day stay, more or less by accident, as I had planned to stay at Hotel Gardenia (due to good internet reviews), but my taxi happened to stop a few meters past Gardenia right in front of Hotel Mangalam. So I thought, why not give it a try.

I'm happy I did give it a try. I took one of the more expensive rooms (2500 Rs. plus 5% tax) and the room was large, very clean and well-equipped, with broadband internet, fridge and TV. Despite being located on a busy road, my room (at the back) was very quiet and I couldn't hear the ubiquitous honking.
Minor quibbles would be that the room could have been a bit brighter (there is only one bed-table lamp instead of two), and the curtains could be thicker and darker, so that early morning light wouldn't wake you up. Breakfast (veg) is included in the price, and though tasty enough, the choice is very limited. Service was unfailingly friendly and polite, when an air conditioner in my room stopped working I was shifted to another room without any fuss.

Bottomline: Compared to all other hotels that I've stayed in in Kolkata, I was quite happy with what I got for my money and on my next trip to Kolkata will definitely stay at Mangalam again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 km away
The Samilton
The Samilton
#78 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
90 reviews
0.4 km away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#36 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
74 reviews
2.6 km away
Shila International Hotel
Shila International Hotel
#118 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Park Palace Hotel
Park Palace Hotel
#148 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
42 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Swagath
Hotel Swagath
#44 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
44 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#106 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangalam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangalam Hotel

Property: Mangalam Hotel
Address: 44 Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price range (per night): $36 - $66
Hotel Class:2 star — Mangalam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city , with the best of the amenities available at your hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangalam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangalam Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing