We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class, comfort & contemporary; swissotel has it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #6 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Class, comfort & contemporary; swissotel has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Finding a hotel with such international standards in Kolkota came to me as a pleasant surprise.
Swissotel gives run to some of the best 5 star hotel in the larger metros. It shares ts wall with one of the most popular malls in Kolkota. So location wise its happening & very close to the airport.
Its has a very classy & cosmopolitan feel to it. The interiors are very tastefully done & the service is highly impressiive.
Room was large & restroom was one the the best that i have seen in any 5 star hotels.
The open air 24 by 7 cafe is beautiful.
Excellent service at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyoti g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review us in Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our rooms, restaurants and service. Swissotel Kolkata is for both the discerning business and leisure traveller who requires accommodation within a gateway destination and is part of, Swissôtel Hotels & Resorts, a group of deluxe hotels that provide Swiss-inspired contemporary hospitality that is exceptionally well-designed and has a stylish and warm ambience.

We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again, and soon!

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    382
    74
    21
    27
See reviews for
205
168
111
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the swissotel for 4nights in november. It was my first time to Kolkata, and I'm glad to say that I was happy with the hotel choice I made, which was inspired on the other reviews here. Some things were flawed, but in general the stay was excellent and any feedback on their services appreciated.

The bad:
- Jacuzzi room had non-working jacuzzi. After complaining a few times, the tech guys insisted it was fine but noone could get it to work. Management then gave me a surprise where i had access to another jacuzzi, with some wine and flowers- perfect for a nice evening.
- Check out forgot to bill us for the ride to the airport, then called the driver to come back while on the way to airport..
- Helpfulness of staff at travel desk and front desk could be improved
- Rooms are pretty small, but having a nice terrace makes up for that
- Menu in the restaurant is a mystery, there waitress suggests things not in there and when you ask for things in there, they're not available.

The good:
Smooth check in, very polite staff. Very nice hotel, although not very showy on the outside.
This is because it's part of a mall, which is a huge bonus: supermarket, pizza hut, McD, local cuisine and some entertainment for when it rains: its all right there without moving from walking distance of your room. The hotel lets out airconditioned vehicles with driver, per 3 hours. Rooms are tidy, although it wouldve been nice to have a tub. The shower is still nice however. I had access to the business lounge for breakfast. Although quite small, you can sit outside there. Breakfast selection was not that good for me, but you don't come to India to eat your local food anyhow.
I'm sure that some of the best hotels in the center of Kolkata could be deserving of their praise, but I was satisfied with what the Swissotel had to offer, and I'd recommend family to go there, especially when they're just there for a few days. It's not really a hotel for a long vacation, nor for couples with kids, but everyone else will love it. While some say it's far out of the way of the center, I went to a lot of places without much trouble with the driver, and Kolkata traffic is always exciting (or scary).
I'll definately go there again whenever I need to pass through Kolkata.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty similar and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceGuyFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

When I returned to stay at the Swissotel Kolkata - after a wonderful but windy time in Patagonia a few weeks back - it was a such a great feeling to be recognised and welcomed - and to be made to feel so special! It was like returning home. A great feeling!

Room Tip: I was happy with the room I had - I am not sure what other options there were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. Home away from home. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Recently I had an opportunity to stay at Swissotel Kolkata. The Hotel is within Citi centre 2, its a great place to stay, just about 15 min from the Airport. The Hotel is undoubtedly very good, the rooms are spacious, good wifi inside the rooms and the food is good. The best part is its located in a Mall, so one can have great time shopping and if you wish to eat different cuisines, you have variety of options available in the Mall.

Room Tip: If you wish you stay close to the Airport, its the best option available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajayprawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel, six months apart. It was a wonderful experience! These guys really know how to host a guest.

My room was superb. The bed so comfortable. The housekeeping excellent. The staff are ALL happy, friendly, and so obliging. They eagerly serve, and they ask for your feedback and enthusiastically write down what you say in a little notebook they carry in their pockets. Yet they are not intrusive or in your way.

The food quality and variety in the Swiss Cafe is first class. The head chef, Nitin, is fantastic and has a wonderful servant attitude. After two days he came to my table and said, "I see you're staying for some time (was he told which guests are in for say 3+ days or how did he know?) so if you want something that's not on the menu, please just tell me and I would love to prepare it for you." He was right. Hotel menus do get tired very quickly, so the next evening I asked for one of my favourite meals and he delivered a superb dish! Then on the 4th day, when I told him how much I'd appreciated his talent and service and that I was leaving the next day, he said there would be a personal gift from him waiting for me at breakfast. Sure enough, there was a lovely little gift box with handmade chocolates, with my name on it.

The conference venue and staff were excellent too and couldn't have been more helpful and respectful. They too were happy, helpful staff. Clearly the management, the staff selection and preparation, and the created culture in this hotel are exceedingly good.

I highly recommend the Swissotel Kolkata, India. This was a better experience than even the Four Seasons Hotel in Paris or Claridges in Mayfair, London because while the property isn't quite as hot, the service is five star plus. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
12.0 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
12.2 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
4.9 km away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#7 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
15.2 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
7.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Property: Swissotel Kolkata
Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price range (per night): $133 - $223
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing