We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & top notch food”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stay here often when I am in Kolkata.
advantages
1 - feels like you are out of the city completely with its lovely greenery.
2 - Food at the restaurants is great - especially Peshawari
3 - Breakfast has one of the best breakfast spreads in the country. I could get skimmed yoghurt as well and a great variety of low carb options.
4 - Hotel kindly upgraded me as i am Gold SPG member.

Disadvantages -
1 - Location is a bit out of town. This is compounded by the fact that Kolkata, like almost all Indian cities, suffers from bad traffic conditions.
2 - Lots of work going on around the hotel as well as on the roads just outside the hotel which again spoils the trip to & from the hotel

Room Tip: take rooms not facing the construction of the new hotel wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your appreciative feedback. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest Business resort in the country - the ideal setting for business, and at the same time a haven that promises to rejuvenate your body, mind and soul

We have noted with concern your feedback and with regard to the construction work near the hotel. This is a temporary phase and believe this is a signal of progressive urban development. Soon access around the area will be swifter and smoother. In the meantime, we have endeavoured to insulate our rooms to the extent possible from normal construction noise and this should not be an impediment in the future.

We truly value your patronage and shall endeavour to ensure a seamless experience to you on each of your future visits.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,319 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Everything was ok until I filled up bath tub with hot water and saw a layer of brownish sediment at the bed of bathtub! After that everything became a suspect. Another negative was the service at Breakfast. The staff seemed to be untrained and had difficulty to serve seamlessly. But on the plus side, a banquet staff acceded to our request for boardroom usage free of charge for a short meeting. She went an extra mile to seek approvals and check availability despite a busy day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback with great concern and steps have been taken to ensure that there is no recurrence of the same.

We regret your experience as reported in your review and assure you that the services experienced by you are not representative of our standards.

We truly value your patronage, and would request you to give us an opportunity to reinstate our credibility.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was a amazing hotel with sprawling gardens, beautiful rooms and bathrooms, however, I failed to understand why a costly hotel like this didn't have a health-wash or hair-dryer in the bathroom. One more thing, do come prepared for disturbed sleep as the nearby construction of flyover, bypass, metro-line nearby will keep you company day and night. It is huge and green and full of pathways. You can spend hours walking the pathways, enjoying the greenery, the lotus ponds with fishes. This hotel also has a amazing spa (Kaya Kalp) and I must admit that the relaxing spa that I took here was one of the best I ever received! It also offers complimentary yoga classes in early morning, gymn, sauna baht, jacuzzi, steam bath, etc. However, the food here is crazily costly, even for a 5-star hotel the food and beverages cost insanely!They have buffet breakfast and the spread is ok, nothing amazing or exceptional. So, overall, the hotel is good.

Room Tip: Try for higher floors. At least that way the nearby construction wont irritate you much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mbshrma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm appreciation of ITC Sonar, known as the finest business resort in the country. Kaya Kalp – The Spa at ITC Sonar has recently been awarded Best Luxury Day Spa by World Luxury Spa Awards, 2012 and our signature restaurants serving award winning branded cuisine have consistently won gourmet appreciation.

We have noted with concern that you were unable to locate the hair dryer. It is placed in the drawer alongside the wash basin, further, we are in the process of installing hygiene faucets in our washrooms in a phased manner. With regard to the construction work near the hotel, this is a signal of progressive urban development. This is a temporary phase and soon access around the area will be swifter and smoother. We have endeavoured to insulate our rooms to the extent possible from normal construction noise and this should not be an impediment in the future. We regret your reported experience, should any irregular noise have disturbed your sleep on this occasion.

We truly value your patronage and shall endeavour to ensure a seamless experience to you on each of your future visits.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel is conveniently located with city centre and airport close by. Rooms are nice and comfortable and are reasonably priced compared to other 5 star hotels. Staff is generally efficient but there is scope for improvement in services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gk1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We thank you for your kind words. The story behind ITC Sonar is very compelling – Bengal is the inspiration & ITC Sonar is ITC’s tribute to the City of Joy. Designed by awarded Architects Kerry Hill of Singapore, ITC Sonar is a business destination with a difference. ITC Hotels’ ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil“ yet dynamic in form and philosophy is woven into the décor of the hotel.It draws inspiration from the Pala dynasty, an empire which united Bengal and promoted art and culture. The greatest luxury for discerning guests like you is time and our service design has been innovatively worked out accordingly.
ITC Sonar showcases a plethora of Food & Beverage offerings as well as Kaya Kalp- The Spa, spread over 15000 sq feet and offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world.

Look forward to your next stay with us!

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Astonishing interiors, plush lobby, gourmet breakfast, Dublin-the most happening disc, courteous staff and service to kill for. Try gym and spa unmatched service.

Amazing experience, stay there next time u r in kolkatta.

Room Tip: Lake facing room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. We at ITC, strive to achieve customer expectations, by imparting training to our associates so that the services are rendered with warmth. Its great to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We are delighted to offer the Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service Initiative, wherein your preferences are noted in an endeavor to personalize your stay.

Look forward to your next stay with us!

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
556 reviews
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,190 reviews
5.6 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,342 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,951 reviews
4.8 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $170 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing