We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITC Sonar - Pleasant & Comfortable stay”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 17 December 2012

ITC Sonar offers pleasant & comfortable stay at reasonable prices - good value for money. Good hospitality, quick check-in and check-out. Services are prompt. Well located adjacent to Rajarhat, the IT hub of the city and also reasonably close to the airport (30 mins).

Room Tip: Pond facing rooms offer a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,051,960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the wonderful note. . For the convenience our guests, we are located 20 minutes from the heart of the city and the airport, which keeps our guests away from the hustle and bustle yet connected to the city. We serve an array of cuisines catering to all taste. Our staff is trained to provide exemplary and personalized service to ensure “Home away from home” experience.

Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,240 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

we came to kolkata after a few days in Jim Corbett. Kolkata is an experience....The hotel was fabulous and a real treat to come home too after the streets of Kolkata. I have nothing but praise for the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and restauarants. I was helped to organise a tour and acar to take me to the sights. As a tall blonde european it was a shock to find I was the sight..I will never take a sly photo of a celebrity again, I cannot count the number of mobile phones positioned at me to 'catch' me in the background. the politeness of some children asking to be clicked with me was cute! I seriously considered a dark wig.
I was surprised at the costliness of the spa. Where it costs less than £20 for a 5 hour trip in a luxury car to find that a massage costs £40 seemed expensive to me, and i didn't try. The building next door justs seems part of the expansion culture and I didn't hear it at all. I would ask for a different view if I'd known but wasn't worth changing and fussing about once installed. Pity the pool was disturbed by the noise.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the pools not the building site, spa expensive and the pool is disturbed by the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francestrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit. Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A modern slightly characterless 5 star hotel that would suit business travellers wanting to be close to the airport. I stayed with some mates for three nights having started at the Taj Bengal for two nights whilst watching a 5 day cricket match at Eden Gardens. The Taj was clearly better for the convenience of the location but we were grateful to be at the ITC at the end when we were planning our escape to the airport - traffic in Kolkata is unpredictable and can be arduous.

Our rooms were modern, comfortable, clean and bigger than the Taj Bengal's standard rooms but be careful to ask for a non-smoking floor in advance if you don't like smoking. We had room 1706 which was a smoking floor and the smell, whilst not overpowering, was noticeable.

Great masala dhosa's for breakfast - sets you up for a day.

Overall: good quality on all levels and worth the price in a city where your creature comforts are especially prized. Not the best location if you plan to be in and out of the downtown area around Park Street all the time.

Room Tip: Avoid 'smoking floors' when booking if smoking is not your bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I were at the hotel where I was the inspirational keynote speaker. From the minute we arrived, out of the chaos of Calcutta, this hotel felt like our cocoon. We met one of the chefs and as my wife is big into food, he gave us ideas of what we must experience. He prepared meals for us that were typically West Bengal. We were there for 5 days and got to know many of the staff. We want to take a few of them home with us. I had some travel issues and the GM along with concierge bent over backward to resolve them for us. We had to travel to another part of India and would be here for Christmas. In Chennai, all the great hotels were booked up already and we had difficulty finding a place. The GM called around to his counterparts there and was able to personally secure us a hotel for Christmas. Their hospitality is incredible. We ate their banquet food and it was just as good as the restaurant. We each had a wonderful massage in the spa too. We cannot wait to return to the Sonar as we feel like its our home in Calcutta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NealPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the wonderful note of appreciation. It is a pleasure that the services rendered by us were up to your expectation. Our staff is trained to provide exemplary and personalized service to ensure “Home away from home” experience. At ITC Sonar, you will be able to experience specialty cuisines ranging from Peshawri offering ‘robust flavours of the North West Frontier’ to Pan Asian savouring the ‘Flavours of East Asia’ to Dum Pukht reliving ‘The Grand Cuisine of India’ and West View, Kolkata’s very own ‘Bar & Grill’.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I was there at Infocom 2012 on 8th December 2012. We were served lunch at "Sunderban" the open air lawn inside, the food served was cold and tasteless, right from the starters to the main course, "Fish in white garlic sauce" tasted like fish curry served in PG/RG Kar Hospital. The desserts were edible as they were readymade. All over very poor food, very disappointing.

Room Tip: The Restaurants are good but beware of banquet food, carry your own food if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank anirban80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted the feedback on your experience during INFOCOMM, 2012 with great concern. Your feedback is important to us and has been considered for evaluation so that we may offer a positive and superior experience to you in the future.
On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,183 reviews
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
553 reviews
5.6 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,337 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,945 reviews
4.8 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $170 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing