We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITC Sonar
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$71
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$62
Swissotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jameson Inn Shiraz(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$118
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vedic Village Spa Resort(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ethnotel(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,278)
Filter reviews
3,278 results
Traveller rating
2,683
408
106
40
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,683
408
106
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden paviliondum pukhtlilly pondpan asianguest relation executivean amazing propertywater bodiesspecial mention to msbusiness tripfront officespecial thankscoffee shopsecond homescience cityexcellent hospitalityhome away from homehis team
Filter
Updating list...
2,873 - 2,878 of 3,278 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

we came to kolkata after a few days in Jim Corbett. Kolkata is an experience....The hotel was fabulous and a real treat to come home too after the streets of Kolkata. I have nothing but praise for the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and restauarants. I was helped to organise a tour and acar to take me to the sights. As a tall blonde european it was a shock to find I was the sight..I will never take a sly photo of a celebrity again, I cannot count the number of mobile phones positioned at me to 'catch' me in the background. the politeness of some children asking to be clicked with me was cute! I seriously considered a dark wig.
I was surprised at the costliness of the spa. Where it costs less than £20 for a 5 hour trip in a luxury car to find that a massage costs £40 seemed expensive to me, and i didn't try. The building next door justs seems part of the expansion culture and I didn't hear it at all. I would ask for a different view if I'd known but wasn't worth changing and fussing about once installed. Pity the pool was disturbed by the noise.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the pools not the building site, spa expensive and the pool is disturbed by the building next door.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francestrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit. Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A modern slightly characterless 5 star hotel that would suit business travellers wanting to be close to the airport. I stayed with some mates for three nights having started at the Taj Bengal for two nights whilst watching a 5 day cricket match at Eden Gardens. The Taj was clearly better for the convenience of the location but we were grateful to be at the ITC at the end when we were planning our escape to the airport - traffic in Kolkata is unpredictable and can be arduous.

Our rooms were modern, comfortable, clean and bigger than the Taj Bengal's standard rooms but be careful to ask for a non-smoking floor in advance if you don't like smoking. We had room 1706 which was a smoking floor and the smell, whilst not overpowering, was noticeable.

Great masala dhosa's for breakfast - sets you up for a day.

Overall: good quality on all levels and worth the price in a city where your creature comforts are especially prized. Not the best location if you plan to be in and out of the downtown area around Park Street all the time.

Room Tip: Avoid 'smoking floors' when booking if smoking is not your bag.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I were at the hotel where I was the inspirational keynote speaker. From the minute we arrived, out of the chaos of Calcutta, this hotel felt like our cocoon. We met one of the chefs and as my wife is big into food, he gave us ideas of what we must experience. He prepared meals for us that were typically West Bengal. We were there for 5 days and got to know many of the staff. We want to take a few of them home with us. I had some travel issues and the GM along with concierge bent over backward to resolve them for us. We had to travel to another part of India and would be here for Christmas. In Chennai, all the great hotels were booked up already and we had difficulty finding a place. The GM called around to his counterparts there and was able to personally secure us a hotel for Christmas. Their hospitality is incredible. We ate their banquet food and it was just as good as the restaurant. We each had a wonderful massage in the spa too. We cannot wait to return to the Sonar as we feel like its our home in Calcutta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NealPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the wonderful note of appreciation. It is a pleasure that the services rendered by us were up to your expectation. Our staff is trained to provide exemplary and personalized service to ensure “Home away from home” experience. At ITC Sonar, you will be able to experience specialty cuisines ranging from Peshawri offering ‘robust flavours of the North West Frontier’ to Pan Asian savouring the ‘Flavours of East Asia’ to Dum Pukht reliving ‘The Grand Cuisine of India’ and West View, Kolkata’s very own ‘Bar & Grill’.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I was there at Infocom 2012 on 8th December 2012. We were served lunch at "Sunderban" the open air lawn inside, the food served was cold and tasteless, right from the starters to the main course, "Fish in white garlic sauce" tasted like fish curry served in PG/RG Kar Hospital. The desserts were edible as they were readymade. All over very poor food, very disappointing.

Room Tip: The Restaurants are good but beware of banquet food, carry your own food if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank anirban80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted the feedback on your experience during INFOCOMM, 2012 with great concern. Your feedback is important to us and has been considered for evaluation so that we may offer a positive and superior experience to you in the future.
On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Well worth staying at this hotel. Nice spacious rooms, separate show cubicle and decent size bath. Clean and well appointed you will have a comfortable stay at this hotel. There are a number of different restaurants and the outside buffet is very good. Service in the 24 hr restaurant is a little tardy so don't forget to keep the pressure up with the waiters! All in all a good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terenceandwendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, hotelmanage at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the warm feedback. ITC Sonar offers an exceptional selection of luxuriously appointed premium accommodation rated among the best in Kolkata. Set amid sprawling stretches of green that are artfully interspersed with beautiful water bodies, each room affords a stunning view of the estate.
At ITC Sonar, expect an unsurpassable experience of luxury and warmth, in the gentle embrace of nature.

Look forward to your next stay.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews