We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay there again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dauphin Island Harbor House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The owners Carol and George are engaging, warm, caring and helpful. They shared tips/info about the island and made sure to make my brother and I feel very welcome.

Our stay did not start smoothly - their staff forgot to clean the room my brother and I had reserved, so we were switched to a different room. Soon after, the bathroom ceiling started leaking due to the huge flash flood storm going on, and it shorted out the bathroom light. It was cold and we could not figure out how to turn the heat on. The pillows were flatter than I prefer. But, the mattress was a good balance of soft/firm and the comforter kept us warm enough. In the morning when we told them about all this (we had gotten there around 8-9pm), they apologized profusely and went out of their way to make it up to us. Breakfast was quite delicious. They seemed genuinely upset that our experience had not been better. P.s. Unlike BGHL3, we did not see any roaches.

Overall, the dining room and sitting room are absolutely beautiful and well-taken care of, but the bedroom units themselves could use some renovation. All in all though, if we are ever able to return to Dauphin Island I WOULD STAY WITH THEM AGAIN. You don't find such incredibly genuine people around much anymore!!! Also, the location is perfect, and although the price may seem steep considering the character of the rooms, it is a deal compared to the options/prices elsewhere on this island.

By the way, they are hoping to retire soon, so you could contact them if you are interested in running a Bed & Breakfast :)

Room Tip: The room with the balcony and a view is the best, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Do yourself a favor - stay anywhere else unless you like staying in unfinished rooms, enjoy eating burned breakfasts and don't mind sharing your room with roaches - yes roaches. The owners mean well but are entirely out of their depth when it comes to running a b & b. The walls in the room are cracked, unpainted and have gaps at the floor where the roaches get in. We woke to our cat digging at the covers because a 2 inch long roach was in bed with us. After my wife chased it down and crushed the life out of it a 3:30 am and tossed it's carcass out the broken door to our room, sleep was pretty much out of the question since we kept the lights on to keep any other invaders away. The door was broke because a push button dead bolt that was out of use, but not removed from the door, magically activated and locked us out of our room necessitating the use of a pry bar to gain entry. Onto the bedding and towels: Old, dirty and musty after what I can only guess is decades of neglect. We have stayed in other b & bs at beaches and were appalled by the lack of customer service and value - Dauphin House had no beach parking passes, no beach chairs and no beach towels. At all other beach places we've stayed at these were always provided, but here you are on your own, except for the aforementioned roaches. If you are considering Dauphin Island stay somewhere else, like a nice b & b or hotel in Pensacola, Florida. Pensacola has so much more to do. If you go to Dauphin Island, avoid this dung heap of a inn (and for the cat in the gift shop in town, take it from me, it bites).

Room Tip: Don't even consider wasting your money - go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BGHL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were looking for some place to spend the weekend, other than a busy and noisy hotel room.We chose Dauphin House after reading what it had to offer. The moment we stepped into the quaint, inviting living area, we knew it was for us. George and Carol have been the owners for 22 years, their warm and friendly welcome, and their ability to make you feel as if you have known them longer than it took for them to register you, has to be part of their success. Our room had a view of the water and access to the balcony, that we took advantage of, as well as the chairs on the dock. Our room was also not the typical hotel room. It had a little rust on the door handle from the salt water air, which only added to its charm. The bed was comfortable, and the room neat and clean. The next morning our breakfast consisted of bacon, sausage, eggs(cooked to your liking), grits, biscuits, coffee, juice, and yogurt, cooked and served straight from the kitchen by George and Carol. We will definitely be returning. If you are looking for a quiet get away, in a friendly neighborhood, then this is the place. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then the city is for you.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, ask for a room on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and would have rated place much higher than this recent visit... Place NOT worth price with all that's wrong:
really very outdated, rusty doors, rotten wood everywhere, many fixtures broken, exhaust fan and one of light fixtures in bathroom not working ....broken A/C (glad it was cool weather).
Not everything was bad: nice view of water from balcony, very quiet, Mr. George very nice and friendly and breakfast was decent.
This place could be really nice but needs tons of renovations

Room Tip: Quiet but needs help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dbh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had stayed at this B & B before and again it was awesome experience;)))
everything was excellent !. The owners went beyond our expectations!!
They are so welcoming, the room was very clean and the breakfast just delicious.
We felt as family members.
The island is the perfect place to relax!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dauphin Island Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphin Island Harbor House

Address: 730 Cadillac Ave, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4402
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dauphin Island
Price Range: $115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Dauphin House Bed And Breakfast
Dauphin House Hotel Dauphin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing