We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, newly renovated room with sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I have stayed in this hotel with my partner for one night and we were very satisfied with the location, room size and facilities. The hotel is walking distance to the historical sites and there is a big mall next to the hotel. The check-in time was 2pm but we have arrived at 1pm and they allow us to check-in. We were given a newly renovated room with seaview. The room was roomy and modern. However, there is a paint stench in the room due to renovation. Another downside is that the TV reception for most of the channels are not good. All I can see are snowflakes on the TV. I have patronized the Peranakan restaurant in the hotel and the decorations, furnitures in the restaurant is very Peranakan and we liked the design very much. The size of the dishes in the menu are either medium or large size and the waitress said that since there are only the both of us, they will customize the dishes which cater for 2 person. That's thoughtful of them. This is my first time been to Malacca and I will stay in this hotel again if I ever visit Malacca again.

Recommendation: Jonker Walk, Chicken rice ball and Peranakan food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sincerereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,321 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

I booked this as part of my F&E tour package, and it turned out to be much better than I thought. The location is ideal compared to other hotels. We were on the deluxe room at the 12th floor and the view was spectacular, especially at sunset. I'm not sure if my room has been renovated (probably not yet), but it was spacious, with comfortable beds and more importantly clean. Unlike the previous reviews, I was notified of the renovation going on a few floors below from 9 - 5pm but we weren't affected. We were in the room some time during the period but did not hear anything (quite fortunately). Breakfast provided had a good variety and service was very friendly. The only downside is there isn't any free Wi-fi provided, but for compensation, they have cable TV :) It's also within walking distance to A'Famosa and other attractions and a short walk away to Jonker Street for good food - remember to try the Chendol and Nyonya pineapple tarts. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyPotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were surprised to find that the first few floors had retained an original old building. The hotel is undergoing some upgrading and we were disrupted due to this during the day, with alarms going off, lack of cold water and noise.

We had a club room which was on the corner of the building and had windows on both sides and two balconies. The room was spacious and pleasant.

The service was good and the club lounge served very good food.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and the dessert selection better than most hotels.

The location was very good being right next to a large mall and near the historical sites.

The price for room service and the mini bar was reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed for a night here. The minute we got into the room, the racket of the renovation went on and on. We checked in with the intention of a restful day. However, with the noise, my toddler was unable to rest. Albeit the location is great, paying for a room to hear a man hammering away on your wall is not something I would call restful.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ekmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I thought the Equatorial was a good base for a stay in Malacca. It was within walking distance of everything. We had a premier room which had a sea view and a day bed replacing what used to be a balcony. These rooms have recently been refurbished and were very tasteful. The staff were great as were all the people in the service industry that we met in Malaysia.
The pool area was lovely but the number of beds and sitting places seemed insufficient for a hotel of this size.
I thought that the breakfast in this hotel was the best of all the four hotels that we stayed in during our three week tour. I loved the chicken curry and the nasi lemak for breakfast and the array of fresh fruits.
There are a number of eating establishments within the hotel to suit all tastes and budgets. I must admit though that the Geographers cafe in Jonkers Street was my favourite place to eat and drink. Well placed for shopping and sightseeing I would stay here again if I returned to Malcca.
A previous revieiwer has mentioned the traffic and difficulty crossing some of the roads. This was a problem in KL as well. Not enough traffic lights, drivers don't stop at crossing places and pavements are very high in places. Everyone in Malaysia must have a car as traffic is constant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 168 in Melaka
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,455 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
852 reviews
0.3 km away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $68 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing