We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Getaway to Malaysia World Heritage Site’s Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have a short break away to Melaka. Melaka was declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO with Penang.

Here is my review on Hotel Equatorial Melaka: -

Hotel Environment: The hotel are little old but still classy. I am staying at their deluxe room with 2 single bed even I ask for a double bed but I believe it is first come first serve basis. Atleast I have a non-smoking room. The view of the room is facing Ujong Pasir and we order an American breakfast which is quite normal but still acceptable.

Around the hotel: There are many shopping center near the hotel like Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade. So you don’t have to worry about boring and also there are many fast food and restaurant around the shopping center. Most of the attractions are walking distance as well like A’famosa, St Paul hill and Jonker street.

Hotel Service & Staff: Staff and services are pretty normal and I didn’t found anything interesting and maybe because we are Malaysian and we are at home.

Room Comfort: Room are normal and the bed is acceptable as well as we have a good sleep through the night.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Ujong Pasir and I believe the room facing A'famosa or Mahkota parade would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,103 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Nice hotel to stay in and is located near several place of interest as well as shopping malls. Room was clean and the breakfast was good though it was not provided in our hotel bookings. However, the free WIFI signal was weak in our room but was ok at the lobby. There are ample parking lots underground and we feel that our car is safe to park within the hotel.

Room Tip: If you drive to Melaka, this is the place. Malls are within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The only plus point about this hotel is the location. The mall (Dataran Palawan and Mahkota Parade) is just right next to this hotel. They also provide shuttle to close by attraction such as the Jonker Street area. Hotel rooms and breakfast is fine. The hotel staff are poorly train and service is bad. They should benchmark their competitor (Holiday Inn) in terms of staff friendliness and hospitality. Internet is really slow. Will really think twice in staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firesurfer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay which is the 3rd occasion we have stayed here. Altough we had no problems whilst we were there, the hotel generally needs an upgrade with a good coat of paint and new carpets. Our room had a few things which needed fixing, (e.g.hook on back of bathroom door, door handle loose). Once behind the lovely entrance/reception areas, the hotel generally is looking very tired which is a pity as it is in one of the best locations in Malacca. Swimming pool and gardens had had a facelift and were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Good views from all the rooms we have stayed in. Rear problems getter at the moment because of buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the city district. 2 minutes walk across the hotel is the Melaka Megamall where you can shop, dine and even go for a movie if you want to. On the right side of the hotel is the road going to St John's Fort. Going up to the hill you will find some old tombs and inside of the church is the tomb where St Francis Xavier was laid. Going down from the hill you reach Christ Church Melaka, the anglican denomination church which was founded on 1753. Within the area there's a lot of point of interest you will discover, the clock tower, the church of St Francis Xavier and the newly improved and developed river. You can just walk along in this vicinity and no need to hire a cab. At night a wide array of native foods and souveigner items is displayed in Jonker Walks. Try also to visit the Galleon, the 700+ years boat being used for trading in the past.

Room Tip: front view room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,532 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,524 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#20 of 169 in Melaka
918 reviews
1.6 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#12 of 169 in Melaka
611 reviews
1.2 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 169 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $66 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing