We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$50
US$49
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$64
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$57
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$41
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$51
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,760)
Filter reviews
1,760 results
Traveller rating
404
913
303
90
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
913
303
90
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomequator clubpremier roomseri nyonyarest houseday bedjonker streetwithin walking distanceshopping mallnonya restaurantswimming poolhigh floorcoffee housedataran pahlawanhistorical sitesconnecting roomsbaby cot
Filter
Updating list...
1,170 - 1,175 of 1,760 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Nice hotel to stay in and is located near several place of interest as well as shopping malls. Room was clean and the breakfast was good though it was not provided in our hotel bookings. However, the free WIFI signal was weak in our room but was ok at the lobby. There are ample parking lots underground and we feel that our car is safe to park within the hotel.

Room Tip: If you drive to Melaka, this is the place. Malls are within walking distance.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The only plus point about this hotel is the location. The mall (Dataran Palawan and Mahkota Parade) is just right next to this hotel. They also provide shuttle to close by attraction such as the Jonker Street area. Hotel rooms and breakfast is fine. The hotel staff are poorly train and service is bad. They should benchmark their competitor (Holiday Inn) in terms of staff friendliness and hospitality. Internet is really slow. Will really think twice in staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firesurfer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay which is the 3rd occasion we have stayed here. Altough we had no problems whilst we were there, the hotel generally needs an upgrade with a good coat of paint and new carpets. Our room had a few things which needed fixing, (e.g.hook on back of bathroom door, door handle loose). Once behind the lovely entrance/reception areas, the hotel generally is looking very tired which is a pity as it is in one of the best locations in Malacca. Swimming pool and gardens had had a facelift and were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Good views from all the rooms we have stayed in. Rear problems getter at the moment because of building work on building opposite
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the city district. 2 minutes walk across the hotel is the Melaka Megamall where you can shop, dine and even go for a movie if you want to. On the right side of the hotel is the road going to St John's Fort. Going up to the hill you will find some old tombs and inside of the church is the tomb where St Francis Xavier was laid. Going down from the hill you reach Christ Church Melaka, the anglican denomination church which was founded on 1753. Within the area there's a lot of point of interest you will discover, the clock tower, the church of St Francis Xavier and the newly improved and developed river. You can just walk along in this vicinity and no need to hire a cab. At night a wide array of native foods and souveigner items is displayed in Jonker Walks. Try also to visit the Galleon, the 700+ years boat being used for trading in the past.

Room Tip: front view room are good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I've been returning to Hotel Equatorial every time I go to Malacca because of its location.

My coach from Singapore (Luxury Tours) drops me off right at the door step of Hotel Equatorial.

Location:
Hotel Equatorial is convenient because it is right beside Datawan Palawan, a shopping mall. Datawan Palawan is also opposite Makotha Parade, another shopping mall (which was recently renovated if I am not wrong.) WHile the malls are nothing great to shout about, it is convenient and has many restaurants that one may be familiar with.

A short walk from the hotel brings you to Restoran Nonya Makko, my favourite Perankan restaurant in Malacca. It is also walkable to Jonker Street. (Just cut through the car park beside the hotel) and cross the road from the christ church melaka to Jonker. But there's something really weird with the roads in Malacca. The roads are mainly one-way (hello, can someone do something about the urban planning and traffic management in Malacca?)

Rooms:
I have no problems with the rooms as I will always request for non-smoking rooms. The room is always clean and the beds cosy. Found the pillows a little too soft for my liking. The bathtub is also a little too high for the elderly. My grandmother has some difficulty getting into and out of the bathtub. It will help if they offer anti-slip mats too.

I was upgraded to a connecting and premier room for my last trip - so I do appreciate that. The rooms were newly renovated though the toilet felt a little aged and dated.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was all right - i like the nasi lemak best (only on Sundays, i think). The choices are mainly local food with the choice of salads, yoghurt and cereals too. There is also a big spread of danish pastries, muffins, cakes and bread basket.

Room Tip: Always make sure u inform the hotel of your requirements, i.e non-smoking or twin-bed etc when booking your room (whether thru a travel agent or travel sites). The hotel staff are very helpful and will do their best to help.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reneyapbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews