We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Nearby Hotels
US$74
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
RC Hotel(Melaka)
US$57
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunflower Hotel Malacca(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$178
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$41
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,717)
Filter reviews
1,717 results
Traveller rating
393
894
293
87
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
894
293
87
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomequator clubpremier roomseri nyonyarest houseday bedjonker streetwithin walking distanceshopping mallnonya restaurantswimming poolhigh floorcoffee housedataran pahlawanhistorical sitesbaby cotconnecting rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,409 - 1,414 of 1,717 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This hotel was just fantastic. Go for the 'Club' rooms, worth the extra. The staff were wonderful, respectful and friendly. The pool was incredible. Our room was great and we had a good view over Malacca. Breakfast was really good and there was a lot to choose from. The hotel was very central to everything, especially to the shopping centre Carrefour, which was just across the road and had everything you would need. We loved Malacca and came by bus company 'Luxury coaches'. Allow about 4 hours by the time you get through customs (twice). We were picked up in Singapore from our hotel by a representative from the bus company, taken to the bus depot and boarded our coach and were dropped off at The Equatorial Hotel at the front door. The bus Company was great very clean and comfortable seats with TV’s. They were a bit more expensive than other companies but worth every cent. We also had a tour guide on the bus and she told us a lot about the history of Malacca and places to visit. The Equatorial Hotel was the icing on the cake for us. Close to the River and the World heritage area. All of the staff were excellent at this hotel. Jonker Street was a great experience at night and the ride home in the rickshaw covered in flashing lights and flowers was just fantastic and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The Club Room is fantastically huge! The bathroom is very spacious! Hotel Equatorial Melaka has the biggest and cosiest club room in all of Malaysia, Singapore, and Indonesia!

The staff at Club Lounge is super friendly and professional. Always very warm, personal, and efficient!

Do not try the Deluxe Room nor the Premier Room! Try the Club Room!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Actuarial_Math
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My friend and I stayed at Equatorial for one night as part of a bus trip package (Five Stars tour operator out of Singapore). I had read all the reviews on TripAdvisor before going, and must agree with them all. This was such a nice hotel. One reviewer had mentioned the great pastries. Yes, the desserts in Etc coffee shop were delicious, and the croissants on the breakfast buffet were as light as air! The pillows were super soft. And my favourite part.....the window seat! I've never stayed in a hotel that has a window seat, so this was a special treat; it allowed my friend and I to relax while watching the sun set over the Straits of Malacca. We noticed that not all rooms are equipped with window seats, so you must ask upon check-in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrawitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Booked this hotel the night before we left for Melaka. Really wasn't expecting the level of service or luxury that we experienced. Upon arrival we upgraded to one of the newly renovated rooms. This was a cost of about $12 US dollars. The room cost about $112 US dollars. Having just left Singapore we figured in Singapore the room would have cost $600 at a rack rate and in the US about $400+.The room was huge with an additonal alcove area, flat screen tv and all the amenities. We enjoyed swimming in the large attractive pool and had drinks in the lounge downstairs where we were serenaded by the band. The staff was polite and pleasant. Never had a chance to hit the lovely gym.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmymdnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Equatorial is no more than two hours drive from KL (Straight down the E1 Highway towards Johor Bahru). The hotel is situated pretty central to Malacca town and is next to Carrefour supermarket. It has an outdoor restaurant attached outside called K5 where the food is very good (eat Al Fresco). You can take breakfast here if it is not included with your room. There are plenty attractions here to see from fortresses to ships and museums. Tri Shaw's are plentiful and are lit up at night playig music as they take tourists around. At night (Friday and Saturday) head for the famous Jonker Street where the road is closed to traffic and stalls appear selling food and all types of goods, many of which come from Indonesia, so barter on price. On Saturday nights be sure to walk to the far end of Jonker street where you will come across a Karaoke stage where people (mainly Chinese) get up to sing and dance. Chairs are provided to sit and watch (what a fantastic atmosphere). Sit and have a beer or tea /coffee whilst watching. Upon leaving Malacca, if you are driving a car then head up the coastal road to Port Dickson where you will pass through kampungs and see life as it is. This road will then take you to Sepang (Formula F1 Racing) and then back to KL.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavefunMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews